Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1363 - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 480 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Jan Crews
photo
Friend of PR
About Jan Crewsstar
OH USA
Member since: 9/10/02
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/13 5:48 PM
Last Updated:1/11/14 3:24 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1363 by Jan Crews

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1363
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Edited 1/11/2014 to correct misstatement re FBA vs. dart raising and lowering.

Pattern Description: MISSES' TOP: Loose-fitting, pullover top has narrow hem. A: neck band, sleeve bands and insets.

Pattern Sizing: "Today's Fit" by Sandra Betzina. Combinations: (A-B-C-D-E-F-G-H-I-J) All sizes in one envelope. I cut an E, cutting the shirt hem at the G line (basically adding an inch to the shirt length).

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? No, because of all my modifications.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Fairly easy, but I disagree with some of the methods used (with all due respect to Sandra Betzina, with whom I have studied and whom I admire).

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Likes
  1. I'm busty. FBAs intimidate me. Sandra's explanation was clear and easy and–for once–the bust fit exquisitely. (If you aren't familiar with FBAs, and you make this pattern, pay more attention to the illustration than the text of the FBA instructions. Put your logical-thinking cap on, and you'll be fine.)


  2. 1/11/2014 edit: Linda C. in Phoenix corrected me. This is not an FBA, it's a dart adjustment. See my blog for additional resources from Shams at "Communing with Fabric" re FBAs.


  3. I liked the layered-look design. Had I chosen a different fabric for the inset, the design might have worked for me.


Dislikes
  1. Curved seam application of neck inset and neck band. No, no, no. DO NOT staystitch and clip. This is why we work with knits–they're flexible. And especially if you're working with a stable knit. The stay stitching is an unnecessary step, IMO. The clipping just weakens the seam. And if you're using a mesh fabric, all those clips just give you a hot mess, both in the infrastructure and visually. But, most importantly, it weakens the seam.


  2. Several small pieces had 5/8" seams. I think it would have been easier to work with ¼" seams. Just my opinion. I think a neck binding, seamed at ¼", or even a folded binding–stitched, wrapped, and top-stitched–would have worked much better.


Fabric Used: Missoni-esque ITY knit from Vogue Fabrics for the body, the yummiest uber-soft rayon jersey" from GorgeousFabrics.com for the sleeves, and a black "soft nylon mesh", also from Gorgeous Fabrics, for the inset, but not used.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Picture of neck with inset and band The picture shows the neck with inset. The mesh was used for the inset. The pattern says seam, then serge or finish and trim off 3/8", pressing the seam allowance toward the inset. But if you're using a sheer, you can see that seam allowance. To my eye, this was not pretty. What if the body were solid and the inset was done out of any of these mesh knits Marcy offers or this or this from Ann Steeves' Gorgeous Fabrics? Picture of mesh inset shoulder seam With a mesh like that instead of what I used, you wouldn't see the seam allowance. The issues I had with this neck and sleeve would have gone away. (But look what a beautiful job I did with the insertion!)

On the neck band, I didn't want a super black ring around my neck, so didn't think that wonderful black rayon that I used on the sleeves would work on the band. I tried making the band out of the mesh. #fail. I tried recutting the band to be deeper and cutting the existing inset shorter, so I would have about ½" of mesh showing and about 1½" of rayon knit for the band. #fail. Too much visible seam allowance. (VSA?) Too much messymessymess.

Picture of neck edge with inset cut off Finally, after thinking and cogitating and scratching my head, I cut off the sleeve inset and band, and cut off the neck inset and band. I hemmed the sleeve with ½" turned hem, and left the neckline raw. There are so many topstitch lines and pseudoserger lines, you'll never know it's raw!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I do like the layered look, and will probably try it again, rethinking the neck finish, and absolutely choosing fabrics that are more appropriate. Will make View B for 10yo DGD, who should fit the size A perfectly.

Conclusion: I've been hearing about ITY for nine months and have been curious to try some. Now I have, and highly recommend it. Lovely to sew with.

More pictures on my blog.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Changma said...
I agree, your approach to the neckline looks nicer with your fabric. The fit looks good, too.
10/6/13 6:18 PM
Jan Crews said...
Thanks, Changma. I'm thrilled with the fit!
10/6/13 8:15 PM
Elona said...
Thank goodness your experience led you to reconsider the construction details. I particularly detest a blanket recommendation to stqystitch knits.
10/6/13 9:19 PM
Jan Crews said...
Thanks, Elona. I love how much we learn with every garment we create.
10/6/13 11:23 PM
kkkkaty said...
Good save! Although I have this pattern, I've been hesitant to use it, since I think the inset could be problematic in the wrong fabric. Which I think you proved... ;) thx for sharing your experience!
10/7/13 1:26 PM
Jan Crews said...
I think that's why we're all here, Katy! Thanks.
10/7/13 4:25 PM
carolynw said...
All the effort you put in sure paid off - very. very nice top and love your mesh insertion
10/7/13 7:01 PM
Jan Crews said...
Thanks, Carolyn. I wore the shirt yesterday, and really want to try it again.
10/8/13 8:32 AM
Elephun said...
You did a nice job- it looks very good! I haven't ventured to make version A yet because of all the tweaks I'll need to do to the contrast bands at the neck to get it to fit correctly. I have made the basic version (B) and really like it. I like the way that Sandra suggests finishing off the neckline in that version. It is simple and elegant when the facing is made from a stretch mesh.
10/21/13 11:41 PM
kiawah said...
I took a class last year from Sandra and she brought this pattern and we used stay tape around the neck - Not sure why she would say to stay stitch.
1/12/14 4:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 1756 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by sewmytime on 10/4/13
Read Review

McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3588 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3588 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-120
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 5/11/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Louey Boxers Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Louey Boxers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us