SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1363 

2 more reviews
Viewed 624 times 
Reviewed by:Jan Crews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jan Crewsstar
OH United States
Member since: 9/10/02
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/13 5:48 PM
Last Updated:1/11/14 3:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kiawah said...
I took a class last year from Sandra and she brought this pattern and we used stay tape around the neck - Not sure why she would say to stay stitch.
1/12/14 4:10 PM
Elephun said...
You did a nice job- it looks very good! I haven't ventured to make version A yet because of all the tweaks I'll need to do to the contrast bands at the neck to get it to fit correctly. I have made the basic version (B) and really like it. I like the way that Sandra suggests finishing off the neckline in that version. It is simple and elegant when the facing is made from a stretch mesh.
10/21/13 11:41 PM
Jan Crews said...
Thanks, Carolyn. I wore the shirt yesterday, and really want to try it again.
10/8/13 8:32 AM
carolynw said...
All the effort you put in sure paid off - very. very nice top and love your mesh insertion
10/7/13 7:01 PM
Jan Crews said...
I think that's why we're all here, Katy! Thanks.
10/7/13 4:25 PM
kkkkaty said...
Good save! Although I have this pattern, I've been hesitant to use it, since I think the inset could be problematic in the wrong fabric. Which I think you proved... ;) thx for sharing your experience!
10/7/13 1:26 PM
Jan Crews said...
Thanks, Elona. I love how much we learn with every garment we create.
10/6/13 11:23 PM
Elona said...
Thank goodness your experience led you to reconsider the construction details. I particularly detest a blanket recommendation to stqystitch knits.
10/6/13 9:19 PM
Jan Crews said...
Thanks, Changma. I'm thrilled with the fit!
10/6/13 8:15 PM
Changma said...
I agree, your approach to the neckline looks nicer with your fabric. The fit looks good, too.
10/6/13 6:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 8508

photo
by: maria 6705

Review
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now