SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Serendipity Studio> 124 (Sally Shirtdress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 243 times 
Reviewed by:STARG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About STARGstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/20/11
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/13 9:02 PM


Serendipity Studio: 124 by STARG  Serendipity Studio: 124 by STARG  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
STARG said...
Afweathergirl - for the main blue and red loopy fabric, it was quilting cotton purchased from Pink Chalk Fabrics online. I bought it awhile ago so I'm not sure if they have it anymore. The red and white polka dot was purchased from a local fabric store - it's quilting cotton as well. I hope that helps!
1/20/14 2:04 PM
afweathergirl said...
Do you remember which fabric you used? Love it!
1/19/14 5:32 PM
Loualibar said...
Yes that is helpful - it sounds like you just adjust the pleats to come up with the amount of fullness that you want.
10/9/13 4:08 PM
STARG said...
Loualibar - to answer your question - the dress without the pleats was about 8 inches too big in the waist. I pin fitted all of the pleats first to see what it would look like. All of my pleats ended up being fairly small and I centered the pleats when top stitching rather than pressing to one side. I think centering them makes a difference as well with the fullness. I hope that answers your question.
10/9/13 3:35 PM
Loualibar said...
That dress looks fabulous. I have been looking for a shirt dress pattern for a while but have not purchased this because I wondered if the pleats on the back would come out looking "Poofy" and make the back too big. Your back looks fine. How did you deal with this?
10/7/13 8:47 PM
Pj3g said...
You make a darn cute June Cleaver! I love it especially with all the tiny polka dot trim and accessories!
10/7/13 1:51 PM
sunnysewing said...
only 4 pieces to this lovely dress?? That is awesome! It looks fabulous on you. I think the fabric print is sweet! Interesting on the waist pleating for fitting. I may have to give it a try. thanks for the great review
10/6/13 10:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

StyleArc Lazy Daisy

photo
by: lyndle

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

More Info