SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Serendipity Studio> 124 (Sally Shirtdress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 256 times 
Reviewed by:STARG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About STARGstar
CA United States
Member since: 4/20/11
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/13 9:02 PM


Serendipity Studio: 124 by STARG  Serendipity Studio: 124 by STARG  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
STARG said... (1/20/14 2:04 PM) Reply
Afweathergirl - for the main blue and red loopy fabric, it was quilting cotton purchased from Pink Chalk Fabrics online. I bought it awhile ago so I'm not sure if they have it anymore. The red and white polka dot was purchased from a local fabric store - it's quilting cotton as well. I hope that helps!
afweathergirl said... (1/19/14 5:32 PM) Reply
Do you remember which fabric you used? Love it!
Loualibar said... (10/9/13 4:08 PM) Reply
Yes that is helpful - it sounds like you just adjust the pleats to come up with the amount of fullness that you want.
STARG said... (10/9/13 3:35 PM) Reply
Loualibar - to answer your question - the dress without the pleats was about 8 inches too big in the waist. I pin fitted all of the pleats first to see what it would look like. All of my pleats ended up being fairly small and I centered the pleats when top stitching rather than pressing to one side. I think centering them makes a difference as well with the fullness. I hope that answers your question.
Loualibar said... (10/7/13 8:47 PM) Reply
That dress looks fabulous. I have been looking for a shirt dress pattern for a while but have not purchased this because I wondered if the pleats on the back would come out looking "Poofy" and make the back too big. Your back looks fine. How did you deal with this?
Pj3g said... (10/7/13 1:51 PM) Reply
You make a darn cute June Cleaver! I love it especially with all the tiny polka dot trim and accessories!
sunnysewing said... (10/6/13 10:23 PM) Reply
only 4 pieces to this lovely dress?? That is awesome! It looks fabulous on you. I think the fabric print is sweet! Interesting on the waist pleating for fitting. I may have to give it a try. thanks for the great review
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Class Details

Decades of Style 3009

photo
by: Sew Good

Review
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Other My Childhood Treasures

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review