SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Serendipity Studio> 124 (Sally Shirtdress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 231 times 
Reviewed by:STARG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About STARGstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/20/11
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/13 9:02 PM


Serendipity Studio: 124 by STARG  Serendipity Studio: 124 by STARG  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sunnysewing said...
only 4 pieces to this lovely dress?? That is awesome! It looks fabulous on you. I think the fabric print is sweet! Interesting on the waist pleating for fitting. I may have to give it a try. thanks for the great review
10/6/13 10:23 PM
Pj3g said...
You make a darn cute June Cleaver! I love it especially with all the tiny polka dot trim and accessories!
10/7/13 1:51 PM
Loualibar said...
That dress looks fabulous. I have been looking for a shirt dress pattern for a while but have not purchased this because I wondered if the pleats on the back would come out looking "Poofy" and make the back too big. Your back looks fine. How did you deal with this?
10/7/13 8:47 PM
STARG said...
Loualibar - to answer your question - the dress without the pleats was about 8 inches too big in the waist. I pin fitted all of the pleats first to see what it would look like. All of my pleats ended up being fairly small and I centered the pleats when top stitching rather than pressing to one side. I think centering them makes a difference as well with the fullness. I hope that answers your question.
10/9/13 3:35 PM
Loualibar said...
Yes that is helpful - it sounds like you just adjust the pleats to come up with the amount of fullness that you want.
10/9/13 4:08 PM
afweathergirl said...
Do you remember which fabric you used? Love it!
1/19/14 5:32 PM
STARG said...
Afweathergirl - for the main blue and red loopy fabric, it was quilting cotton purchased from Pink Chalk Fabrics online. I bought it awhile ago so I'm not sure if they have it anymore. The red and white polka dot was purchased from a local fabric store - it's quilting cotton as well. I hope that helps!
1/20/14 2:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now