Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6796 (Misses' Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 396 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 221
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 66 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/13 1:22 AM
Last Updated:10/11/13 1:29 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $14.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $14.36  List Price: $17.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Very nice treefrog! I purchased this pattern for the collar too and glad I did, as both your versions look great :)
10/11/13 1:42 AM
leoniep said...
Nice tops. I really like collars like that.
10/11/13 4:51 AM
Quickie said...
Both very nice tops
10/11/13 6:35 AM
Quickie said...
Both very nice tops
10/11/13 6:35 AM
Clareew said...
Great review, thanks for the heads up about the lack of seam binding/facing
10/11/13 8:46 AM
marec said...
Lovely tops treefrog! I especially like the charcoal top. You have pointed out some issues with the pattern which I ignored in my first try on this...I'll add in some sort of facing next time. Thanks for the very helpful tip!
10/11/13 9:35 AM
ArtAttack said...
Cute tops on you! I was looking at this pattern in my stash the other day wondering why I bought it and now you've shown me!
10/11/13 10:03 AM
canei said...
Thanks for the review. I have this on my wish list.
10/11/13 10:24 AM
sunnysewing said...
great tops! I had been looking at this pattern for the collar too :) Thanks for the tips on the SA at the collar. They both look great!
10/11/13 12:01 PM
annakeeton said...
Love these tops!
10/11/13 3:56 PM
CypGrl said...
Glad I picked this one up at the sale. Love them!
10/11/13 9:53 PM
Baja Susana said...
Nice top, I like the collar treatment and the great top looks wonderful.i have been looking at something like this in my Lutterloh book.
10/12/13 2:21 AM
Margaret said...
Both versions look very nice.
10/12/13 3:10 AM
cleverkitty said...
Love both of these tops both fabrics are beautiful :)
10/12/13 9:33 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I think these tops are great! They look comfortable and cute. Well done!
10/12/13 10:10 AM
Levone said...
Great looking tops!
10/13/13 5:51 PM
Ashford said...
Good job on the fitting for a flattering look on you. Many thank you's for those pattern instruction tips. I will put them on a card in my pattern envelope. Collar -You recommend to understitch the seam. I am uncertain which seam. Step 6- Fold collar. Stitch ends. (Understitch seam allowance to the under collar.) -or- Step 9- Stitch collar to neck edge of top. Stitch again 1/4" away. Trim seam. (Since there is no facing, understitch seam allowance to collar or top?)
11/17/13 5:27 AM
treefrog said...
G'day Ashford, step 9 was the one I was thinking of. It needs something to stop the seam allowance from turning up/out and becoming visible where the split in the collar joins the shoulder seam. I ended up slip stitching the collar together for 3/4" along the collar
11/17/13 10:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1165 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 7/19/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7556 Misses DRESS
photo
Review by lqtang on 12/29/13
Read Review

Butterick 5951 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5951 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us