SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6796 (Misses' Tops)

33 more reviews
Viewed 432 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 233
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 230
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/13 1:22 AM
Last Updated:10/11/13 1:29 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
treefrog said...
G'day Ashford, step 9 was the one I was thinking of. It needs something to stop the seam allowance from turning up/out and becoming visible where the split in the collar joins the shoulder seam. I ended up slip stitching the collar together for 3/4" along the collar
11/17/13 10:25 PM
Ashford said...
Good job on the fitting for a flattering look on you. Many thank you's for those pattern instruction tips. I will put them on a card in my pattern envelope. Collar -You recommend to understitch the seam. I am uncertain which seam. Step 6- Fold collar. Stitch ends. (Understitch seam allowance to the under collar.) -or- Step 9- Stitch collar to neck edge of top. Stitch again 1/4" away. Trim seam. (Since there is no facing, understitch seam allowance to collar or top?)
11/17/13 5:27 AM
Levone said...
Great looking tops!
10/13/13 5:51 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I think these tops are great! They look comfortable and cute. Well done!
10/12/13 10:10 AM
cleverkitty said...
Love both of these tops both fabrics are beautiful :)
10/12/13 9:33 AM
Margaret said...
Both versions look very nice.
10/12/13 3:10 AM
Baja Susana said...
Nice top, I like the collar treatment and the great top looks wonderful.i have been looking at something like this in my Lutterloh book.
10/12/13 2:21 AM
CypGrl said...
Glad I picked this one up at the sale. Love them!
10/11/13 9:53 PM
annakeeton said...
Love these tops!
10/11/13 3:56 PM
sunnysewing said...
great tops! I had been looking at this pattern for the collar too :) Thanks for the tips on the SA at the collar. They both look great!
10/11/13 12:01 PM
canei said...
Thanks for the review. I have this on my wish list.
10/11/13 10:24 AM
ArtAttack said...
Cute tops on you! I was looking at this pattern in my stash the other day wondering why I bought it and now you've shown me!
10/11/13 10:03 AM
marec said...
Lovely tops treefrog! I especially like the charcoal top. You have pointed out some issues with the pattern which I ignored in my first try on this...I'll add in some sort of facing next time. Thanks for the very helpful tip!
10/11/13 9:35 AM
Clareew said...
Great review, thanks for the heads up about the lack of seam binding/facing
10/11/13 8:46 AM
Quickie said...
Both very nice tops
10/11/13 6:35 AM
Quickie said...
Both very nice tops
10/11/13 6:35 AM
leoniep said...
Nice tops. I really like collars like that.
10/11/13 4:51 AM
Dilliander said...
Very nice treefrog! I purchased this pattern for the collar too and glad I did, as both your versions look great :)
10/11/13 1:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now