SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6796 (Misses' Tops)

21 more reviews
Viewed 406 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 228
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/13 1:22 AM
Last Updated:10/11/13 1:29 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Very nice treefrog! I purchased this pattern for the collar too and glad I did, as both your versions look great :)
10/11/13 1:42 AM
leoniep said...
Nice tops. I really like collars like that.
10/11/13 4:51 AM
Quickie said...
Both very nice tops
10/11/13 6:35 AM
Quickie said...
Both very nice tops
10/11/13 6:35 AM
Clareew said...
Great review, thanks for the heads up about the lack of seam binding/facing
10/11/13 8:46 AM
marec said...
Lovely tops treefrog! I especially like the charcoal top. You have pointed out some issues with the pattern which I ignored in my first try on this...I'll add in some sort of facing next time. Thanks for the very helpful tip!
10/11/13 9:35 AM
ArtAttack said...
Cute tops on you! I was looking at this pattern in my stash the other day wondering why I bought it and now you've shown me!
10/11/13 10:03 AM
canei said...
Thanks for the review. I have this on my wish list.
10/11/13 10:24 AM
sunnysewing said...
great tops! I had been looking at this pattern for the collar too :) Thanks for the tips on the SA at the collar. They both look great!
10/11/13 12:01 PM
annakeeton said...
Love these tops!
10/11/13 3:56 PM
CypGrl said...
Glad I picked this one up at the sale. Love them!
10/11/13 9:53 PM
Baja Susana said...
Nice top, I like the collar treatment and the great top looks wonderful.i have been looking at something like this in my Lutterloh book.
10/12/13 2:21 AM
Margaret said...
Both versions look very nice.
10/12/13 3:10 AM
cleverkitty said...
Love both of these tops both fabrics are beautiful :)
10/12/13 9:33 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I think these tops are great! They look comfortable and cute. Well done!
10/12/13 10:10 AM
Levone said...
Great looking tops!
10/13/13 5:51 PM
Ashford said...
Good job on the fitting for a flattering look on you. Many thank you's for those pattern instruction tips. I will put them on a card in my pattern envelope. Collar -You recommend to understitch the seam. I am uncertain which seam. Step 6- Fold collar. Stitch ends. (Understitch seam allowance to the under collar.) -or- Step 9- Stitch collar to neck edge of top. Stitch again 1/4" away. Trim seam. (Since there is no facing, understitch seam allowance to collar or top?)
11/17/13 5:27 AM
treefrog said...
G'day Ashford, step 9 was the one I was thinking of. It needs something to stop the seam allowance from turning up/out and becoming visible where the split in the collar joins the shoulder seam. I ended up slip stitching the collar together for 3/4" along the collar
11/17/13 10:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 1312

photo
by: Graca

Review
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now