Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5526 (Misses' Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 266 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/13 4:45 AM
Last Updated:10/28/13 3:27 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 
Project Photo:Butterick: 5526 by FreyaStark

Butterick: 5526 by FreyaStark  Butterick: 5526 by FreyaStark  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5526
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton- Lawn  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern description:
Fitted (or semi-fitted) shirts with collar band, shaped hemline, sleeves pleated and eased into buttoned cuffs, and a narrow hem. I made view B, one of the simplest. Other views are more tailored and/or fitted.

Pattern sizing:
Sizes 6--22. I made my usual size but with extra ease at the side seams of the front.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Pretty much.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I did not need them. They seemed clear enough when I had a quick look at them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The simple, straightforward classic cut with endless potential for variation depending on your fabric. I like the ease in the body and the gently curved hem line.

Fabric used:
A Liberty lawn from my stash, a design called Nina with a dainty rose print. The buttons are creamy faux pearl with shanks (click here for close-up of front).
[Edited four weeks later to add:] I have now made a second version, with no design or fitting changes, in a Japanese lawn from Tessuti (click here).

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added ease equal to another size at the sides of the front and the corresponding side of the sleeve, as suggested by Sandra Betzina (click here).
I added very light interfacing to the front bands to give them a little extra body.
I trimmed shoulder seams down from neck to shoulder by 15mm and scooped out armholes and sleeves by the same amount to compensate for sloping shoulders and a drooping bosom. This subtle change seems to have been useful.
No design changes.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes to both. I can see this pattern becoming a favourite with me, as it has for others.
The sleeves are plenty long enough, but someone above average height might want to add length to the body as this shirt is not excessively long.
There are no darts, and the sleeve has a faced slit, which I always find easier to make than a placket. A shirt could hardly be easier. I recommend view B as a simple, straightforward basic shirt pattern.

Conclusion:
A great pattern for shirt lovers.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
OlindaM said...
Another pretty shirt, thanks for this review, I too like making this style top as the high street shops don't seem to sell them and if they do they are a bit dull.
10/28/13 5:13 AM
cleverclogs said...
This looks lovely- you can't beat liberty lawn for style and comfort in wearing can you?
10/28/13 6:04 AM
marec said...
Thanks for another wonderful shirt review. I am so envious of your beautiful Liberty lawn.
10/28/13 7:16 AM
Mufffet said...
Nice work. Your shirt collection must be enormous and you wear them all so well! Shirts are so comfortable, and one of my favorites as well. And, as Olinda pointed out - very hard to find RTW these days.
10/28/13 10:39 AM
HRigg said...
Thanks for the review. Lovely shirt. I have just recently purchased this pattern after seeing recent reviews and I've got some liberty lawn too so can't wait to get a move on, just busy with other things!
10/28/13 3:48 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
You sew such lovely shirts.
10/28/13 5:56 PM
marthamyers said...
So pretty. Love the soft cotton for a shirt.
10/28/13 6:06 PM
mm said...
Another excellent shirt for your collection.
10/28/13 6:22 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty top, Freya! You have sewn it so nicely, and I love the dainty Liberty fabric you used.
10/29/13 0:37 AM
Margaret said...
You make such nice shirts. Lovely print!
10/30/13 1:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 9782 baby layette
photo
Review by mymehigan on 1/10/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2984 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 2984 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2685 Pattern( Size OneSize )
Simplicity 2685 Pattern( Size OneSize )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2659
photo
Review by josie e on 11/4/09
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us