SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Cake patterns> 0369 (Red Velvet Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1160 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 194
Favored by: 392 people
patterns reviewed: 181
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/13 4:51 PM
Last Updated:10/23/13 9:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Cake patterns: 0369 by Debbie Cook  Cake patterns: 0369 by Debbie Cook  


Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $14.06 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.06 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ell-in-or said...
Great job on the remake. It looks great on you. Thanks for the great review, and your additional experience with the vendor. Very enlightening!
11/22/13 7:06 PM
trinicity said...
Very pretty Debbie, great fit and color combo
10/25/13 7:12 AM
Rhoda K said...
I love this dress on you. It fits you so well, your hard work paid off.
10/24/13 12:41 PM
canei said...
Looks great!!!
10/24/13 9:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Even with the pattern challenges you made a great looking dress!
10/14/13 5:17 AM
cmcarr said...
The dress looks good on you. I have been sewing for over 40 years but I want to be able to fit my clothes like you when I grow up. You have so much knowledge about sewing and you know how to teach. I always use your pants fly tut when making jeans. I can sew just about anything but I just never get the fit that I want.
10/13/13 11:17 PM
knitsewmuch said...
I think the dress looks great. Thanks for the review.
10/13/13 10:45 PM
Mimsy Borogoves said...
thanks for such a helpful review. I like the fit!
10/13/13 8:30 PM
mary in FL said...
I think the dress looks great on you! I do not like the lightning stitch, as I've always found it to cut the fabric.
10/13/13 8:16 PM
Meredith P said...
I must say, it looks MUCH better on you than Tilly. Glad you persevered. You ended up with something quite wearable.
10/13/13 8:12 PM
AnneM said...
I think that dress would be great on you with a slightly narrower waist band. It is a fun style and definitely has potential for you. I confess, I love that little lightening stitch on my machine, as evil as it can be for removal. Patterns should have the pieces line up; that is disappointing. And I agree on the non-standard symbols; why confuse people for no good reason? !! I do like this style, though, and if my printed (vs downloaded) one works for me, I might still pick it up.
10/13/13 7:33 PM
Adaire said...
This looks really nice on you. I'm sorry it was such a hassle but obviously you are experienced enough to see it through with the needed changes. I haven't had too much trouble with the Indie pattern companies but every once in a while you hit a wonky one which makes me cross. Not that the big 4 don't have more than their share of stinkers but I think we expect more of the Indies. Would be interested in what they have to say if you get back with them on this.
10/13/13 7:23 PM
PammyC said...
The dress is actually very flattering on you, thanks to your expert alterations to the pattern perhaps. The black and white color combo is very fresh looking.
10/13/13 7:21 PM
frame said...
I've read your blog and am aware of the problems you had with this pattern, but I gotta say - the dress looks pretty darn attractive on you.
10/13/13 5:33 PM
sideseams said...
Debbie, So good to see your review, your dress fits you to a 't" as usual. Your information is always helpful . Thank you !
10/13/13 5:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Butterick 5705

photo
by: rooskie

Review
Simplicity 3505

photo
by: valerie se...

Review
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

More Info
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

More Info