Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cake patterns: 0369 (Red Velvet Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1041 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/13 4:51 PM
Last Updated:10/23/13 9:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:Cake patterns: 0369 by Debbie Cook

Cake patterns: 0369 by Debbie Cook  Cake patterns: 0369 by Debbie Cook  
Pattern Photo:Cake patterns 0369
Cake patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by Debbie Cook

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $14.06 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
See my blog posts for more photos and details, here, here, here, and here and the vendor's comments here.

UPDATED 10-22-13

This is the remake. Yeah, I know it's hard to tell the difference, but trust me ... this one feels and hangs a lot better, especially after switching out the original doubleknit used for the skirt in favor of a thinner and drapier rayon/Lycra. And, of course, ditching the butt pleat. "Butt pleat" doesn't even *sound* attractive, does it?

I realize it's hard to see any front pleat details at all in the black so I tried to lighten up the pic a bit. Even then, it wasn't very cooperative and the "enhanced" pic above was the best I could do.

The updated photos above were taken after I got home from work and now that I've worn it all day, I don't think I'd change anything else not mentioned in this blog post but I do want to triple emphasize (tripleemphasize-tripleemphasize-tripeemphasize!) interfacing the midriff band. Not only does the midriff hold up the entire full skirt, it also sits where your body naturally bends and scrunches. The interfacing kept the dress' midriff - and mine - neat, supported, and flat all day long. Or in my case, the illusion of flat.

Click the link to my blog in the paragraph above to see how I altered the skirt pattern to remove the back pleat, kicked the neckline facings to the curb, and the other alterations I made before sewing the second version.

Also, if you'd like to read my "Open Letter to Indies," click here.


============Original Review Below==============

1st Try Front View

1st Try Back View

1st Try Alternate Front Vew

Pattern Description: "The Red Velvet Knit Dress features a faced circular neckline with optional petal collar and pleated underbust seam. Choose the origami-style scissor pleated skirt, or reverse it for a flat boxy-pleat effect. A cleverly concealed ticket pocket holds a few coins, cards, or lipstick."

Pattern Sizing: Bodice 30"-59"; Waist 25"-55". (My bust is 44, my waist is 37.)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes and no. The actual skirt section is much fuller than the scissor-pleat view line drawings would lead you to believe.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Easy, yes, but I think there is room for improvement, especially because Cake advertises "Our sewing instructions are different -- focused on providing a clear and stress-free sewing experience with clear diagrams for visual learners. The more experienced sewist will appreciate the easy-to-skim instructions format, including a Construction Overview and technique symbols!"

I *am* an experienced sewist and I thought non-standard symbols to be more cutesy than helpful. There are no alignment notches, so make your own when you're cutting, and if you've got 40+ eyes syndrome, keep the "cheaters" or magnifying glass handy because the illustrations, while good, are tiny. There are also no hip width measurements at all. None. If you've got hips like me or a pronounced hourglass figure, some of that scissor pleat is going to end up as fitting ease.

I also think some of the construction methods, while fast, do not give the best results. Facings on a knit neckline? No, thank you, even if the instructions tell you to use fusible webbing between facing and bodice to prevent rollout. Hemming sleeves before sewing the sideseam? It's really just as easy and a much nicer finish to press the hem first, but leave it unsewn until after the underarm seam is sewn, and then hem in the round. Using the lightning stitch for knits? Hahaha ... experienced sewists know that's an evil trick the manufacturers played on us, especially if you've ever tried to rip it out. In black. At night. A link to an invisible zipper video tute that results in a zipper with visible extra stitches you're told to just rip rip out? Hmmm.

There are also pattern drafting errors. While minor, I do want to mention them so newbies don't wonder if it's them or the pattern. I think there's something off with the midriff pieces - first, in the size range I used (40s) they are off from each other where you'd join them at the sideseam, by 1/4". You will never get perfect sideseam alignment if you don't correct that before you cut fabric. Also, I think the "connect a dot and triangle" method of "custom" sizing the midriff can easily result in a badly shaped pattern piece that won't fit onto the skirt properly, and the piece I created by straight size 40 numbers (IOW, no real customization) didn't match up to the skirt piece by 1/2", which times 2 for the fold cut means it's off by an inch. I didn't need that inch and ended up trimming the join to a normal shape, but maybe you will need it. Who knows.

Fabric Used: ITY knit for the bodice, faux knit-back leather for the midriff, Sophia knit for the skirt. The skirt is much too bulky even though doubleknit is a recommended fabric.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The scissor-pleated skirt is what attracted me. I thought the diagonal lines would be flattering, but I also thought the skirt wouldn't be so voluminous so I've now got mixed feelings about the final result and since my faux leather reached its expiration date and started leaving marks on the white of the bodice, I'm probably going to just cut off the skirt and use the fabric for something else. And, really, now that I've seen it ... who needs a scissor pleat on their backside?

Pattern alterations or any design/construction changes you made: Cake's unique sizing is good in theory. But in practice, I found it really hard to get my head around. In the end, I guessed my best from experience, and created a bodice front that was size 35 in the shoulders/neck, 40 in the width with the C cup (or 45 A, because it's the same width), and 45 for length with an additional 3/8" added.

ETA: This morphing means I had to print and tape together 3 separate bodices for the 3 different sizes. So much for the economical, only print your size, printing mentioned in the instructions. I wish the sizes were nested ... or similar to what I think I see on Cake's blog for the Hummingbird top. Can't tell on that one for sure since I don't have the pattern.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I really don't know if I'll sew this again, but I have invested $15 in the pattern, so I hate to just throw that out the window. Plus I hate to let any pattern get the best of me so chances are I will try it again in a much thinner knit for the skirt with no back pleating. When/if I do, I will update this review. I do think the dress on me has possibilities ...

Conclusion: I applaud Cake for getting out there, but I think there is still refinement needed. I don't mind paying more for good quality independent patterns, but these aren't there yet and I think the premium price point is misleading.

* * * * *

See my blog posts for more photos and details, here, here, here, and here and the vendor's comments here.
Buy this pattern for $14.06     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sideseams said...
Debbie, So good to see your review, your dress fits you to a 't" as usual. Your information is always helpful . Thank you !
10/13/13 5:29 PM
frame said...
I've read your blog and am aware of the problems you had with this pattern, but I gotta say - the dress looks pretty darn attractive on you.
10/13/13 5:33 PM
PammyC said...
The dress is actually very flattering on you, thanks to your expert alterations to the pattern perhaps. The black and white color combo is very fresh looking.
10/13/13 7:21 PM
Adaire said...
This looks really nice on you. I'm sorry it was such a hassle but obviously you are experienced enough to see it through with the needed changes. I haven't had too much trouble with the Indie pattern companies but every once in a while you hit a wonky one which makes me cross. Not that the big 4 don't have more than their share of stinkers but I think we expect more of the Indies. Would be interested in what they have to say if you get back with them on this.
10/13/13 7:23 PM
AnneM said...
I think that dress would be great on you with a slightly narrower waist band. It is a fun style and definitely has potential for you. I confess, I love that little lightening stitch on my machine, as evil as it can be for removal. Patterns should have the pieces line up; that is disappointing. And I agree on the non-standard symbols; why confuse people for no good reason? !! I do like this style, though, and if my printed (vs downloaded) one works for me, I might still pick it up.
10/13/13 7:33 PM
Meredith P said...
I must say, it looks MUCH better on you than Tilly. Glad you persevered. You ended up with something quite wearable.
10/13/13 8:12 PM
mary in FL said...
I think the dress looks great on you! I do not like the lightning stitch, as I've always found it to cut the fabric.
10/13/13 8:16 PM
Mimsy Borogoves said...
thanks for such a helpful review. I like the fit!
10/13/13 8:30 PM
knitsewmuch said...
I think the dress looks great. Thanks for the review.
10/13/13 10:45 PM
cmcarr said...
The dress looks good on you. I have been sewing for over 40 years but I want to be able to fit my clothes like you when I grow up. You have so much knowledge about sewing and you know how to teach. I always use your pants fly tut when making jeans. I can sew just about anything but I just never get the fit that I want.
10/13/13 11:17 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Even with the pattern challenges you made a great looking dress!
10/14/13 5:17 AM
canei said...
Looks great!!!
10/24/13 9:14 AM
Rhoda K said...
I love this dress on you. It fits you so well, your hard work paid off.
10/24/13 12:41 PM
trinicity said...
Very pretty Debbie, great fit and color combo
10/25/13 7:12 AM
ell-in-or said...
Great job on the remake. It looks great on you. Thanks for the great review, and your additional experience with the vendor. Very enlightening!
11/22/13 7:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2011-109
photo
Review by Jali on 12/5/11
Read Review

Simplicity 4040 Pattern (Size 8-10-12)
Simplicity 4040 Pattern (Size 8-10-12)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6794 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6794 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3422 Men Shirts
photo
Review by Ejegmama on 5/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us