Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2910 (Women's Faux Wrap Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 265 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:annem54
photo
Friend of PR
About annem54star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 7/10/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/13 4:12 PM
Last Updated:10/16/13 5:19 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NEMDF said...
Congratulations on first garment! It looks great. I don't know much about overlocking and coverstitching, but the top looks very nice! Well done!
10/14/13 4:26 PM
portercs said...
Great job!!!
10/14/13 4:53 PM
TJSEWS said...
The top looks great on you. It fits you quite nicely!
10/14/13 9:25 PM
IngridTheresa said...
I think you did a lovely job! Looks good on you!
10/16/13 7:15 AM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, well done on your first garment! Keep going, you're gonna be great!
10/16/13 11:36 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, well done on your first garment! Keep going, you're gonna be great!
10/16/13 11:37 PM
cleverclogs said...
Congratulations- it looks terrific. Re hems- it is up to your preferences! If the fabric ravels a lot I use a traditional hem (fold fabric over twice.) If it is a knit, I just fold once, and use a twin needle. I then trim the hem as close as possible to the bobbin thread zig zagging, so it will more or less conceal the edge. If I think I need more weight, I overlock the edge then either straight stitch or twin needle. Just experiment on scraps and see what looks and feels best to you.
10/17/13 5:57 PM
annem54 said...
Thanks, Cleverclogs. Here I used a twin needle but didn't trim next to zig zag as it was already very close. Thank you everyone for your kind comments. BTW I see replies to comments starting 'in reply to ...' But I can't see how to do that. I looked up FAQs but didn't find an answer. Can you help? Thanks.
10/18/13 4:04 AM
8dove8 said...
This is beautiful...a great choice for you in pattern and color...I am considering making it...I have many years sewing experience, but only recently bought a serger and a separate coverstitch...now I wonder why I waited and was so resistant...I finished hems on knits using a decorative stitch which stretched...I tested ones I liked from the many on my Viking with my knit fabric to see how much stretch they provided...now I have the coverstitch option too...it's very nice but not as distinctive as the decorative stitches are...
12/17/13 7:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

McCall's 6078 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Knitters D... on 1/3/11
Read Review

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maggie
Maggie

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6805 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by michellep7... on 7/11/08
Read Review

Burda 7148 Pattern
Burda 7148 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4213 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 4213 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us