SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2910 (Women's Faux Wrap Tops)

13 more reviews
Viewed 317 times 
Reviewed by:annem54
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About annem54star
United Kingdom
Member since: 7/10/12
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/13 4:12 PM
Last Updated:10/16/13 5:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
8dove8 said...
This is beautiful...a great choice for you in pattern and color...I am considering making it...I have many years sewing experience, but only recently bought a serger and a separate coverstitch...now I wonder why I waited and was so resistant...I finished hems on knits using a decorative stitch which stretched...I tested ones I liked from the many on my Viking with my knit fabric to see how much stretch they provided...now I have the coverstitch option too...it's very nice but not as distinctive as the decorative stitches are...
12/17/13 7:01 PM
annem54 said...
Thanks, Cleverclogs. Here I used a twin needle but didn't trim next to zig zag as it was already very close. Thank you everyone for your kind comments. BTW I see replies to comments starting 'in reply to ...' But I can't see how to do that. I looked up FAQs but didn't find an answer. Can you help? Thanks.
10/18/13 4:04 AM
cleverclogs said...
Congratulations- it looks terrific. Re hems- it is up to your preferences! If the fabric ravels a lot I use a traditional hem (fold fabric over twice.) If it is a knit, I just fold once, and use a twin needle. I then trim the hem as close as possible to the bobbin thread zig zagging, so it will more or less conceal the edge. If I think I need more weight, I overlock the edge then either straight stitch or twin needle. Just experiment on scraps and see what looks and feels best to you.
10/17/13 5:57 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, well done on your first garment! Keep going, you're gonna be great!
10/16/13 11:37 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, well done on your first garment! Keep going, you're gonna be great!
10/16/13 11:36 PM
IngridTheresa said...
I think you did a lovely job! Looks good on you!
10/16/13 7:15 AM
TJSEWS said...
The top looks great on you. It fits you quite nicely!
10/14/13 9:25 PM
portercs said...
Great job!!!
10/14/13 4:53 PM
NEMDF said...
Congratulations on first garment! It looks great. I don't know much about overlocking and coverstitching, but the top looks very nice! Well done!
10/14/13 4:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Butterick 3197

photo
by: PAMomof3

Review
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now