Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Grainline Studio: 31004 (Archer Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 263 times 53 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:wingamajig
photo
Friend of PR
About wingamajigstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/27/11
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:10/17/13 12:02 PM
Last Updated:10/17/13 12:16 PM
Project Photo:Grainline Studio: 31004 by wingamajig

Grainline Studio: 31004 by wingamajig  Grainline Studio: 31004 by wingamajig  
Pattern Photo:Grainline Studio 31004
Grainline Studio Pattern Info

More Info provided by wingamajig

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Flannel  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
The fabulous Grainline Archer button-down shirt. It's not a fitted garment, so no darts but has collar stand, patch pockets, button plackets, yoke, cuffs, and sleeve plackets to contend with. I cut view A.

Pattern Sizing:
I cut a size 12, and graded to a 14 for the hips.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions on the pattern are great, and I also recommend the online sew-along, as there are additional instructions and videos there. I think this would be a great first button-down/collared shirt for someone because of the quality of the instructions.

I don't recommend this pattern for someone who is beginning sewing, because the details like sharp corners, clean straight topstitching, and seam finishing are very important to have down before you start this shirt. However, if you've never done a collar stand before, don't let that stop you.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like how the sleeves are set in before stitching the side seam. I like the collar construction, and yoke instructions (I followed the burrito approach shown in the second sewalong video).

For the bottom hem, I followed the instructions except that I did a machine-rolled hem at 1/4" because I find this gives you a very clean & exact hemline. The difference is that there are 3 rounds of stitching to complete the hem:
1. Sew a guideline at 1/4" on your hem (nothing folded over yet)
2. Trim the edge if needed, fold along the line of stitching and press
3. Stitch the folded seam down at 1/4"
4. Fold up once more, and press.
5. Stitch the final hemline with an edgestitch

I had some difficulty with the cuff construction at the edges on the underside - I think due to sewing with such a lofty fabric. I had to rip out and re-sew parts of both cuffs to get the inner edges caught in my understitching correctly. In the end, I did a wide topstitching, and did stitch-in-the-ditch for a few inches at the outer edges to catch the inside. I still had to hand-sew one of them down, as it had exposed seams. Ordinarily, this would be ok, but on this shirt I'll be wearing the cuffs turned up often, so it needs to look good.

Fabric Used:
I used a thick cotton flannel purchased at The Textile in Greenfield, MA. The colors are great, and it got even softer and thicker after pre-washing the fabric. This is the first garment in flannel I have made that is not pajamas. I don't think it will be the last - it's so comfortable that I didn't want to take it off to finish while trying on during the construction process.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
My only alteration for this first shirt was to increase one size at the hip.

For my next attempt I will make a couple of alterations:
1. Shorten the sleeve by 3/4" (I have monkey arms ladies, so if I'm shortening you should consider it too)
2. Decrease the cuff circumference
3. I may go down a size, I'm not sure.
4. Add 3/4" to the bodice length.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
This shirt seems to be an addiction for all who have sewn it - I'm no different. I already have plans to sew this up in chambray and also silk crepe.

Conclusion:
More photos, construction details on my blog

This is a great shirt, everyone is sewing it, and SO SHOULD YOU!!!
Buy this pattern for $10.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karine said...
Your Grainline Archer shirt is just terrific! I love this shirt in plaid, but have shied away from it due to the matching. After seeing yours, I'm ready to give it a try. Your plaid matching is perfect - thanks for the tips on your blog. This looks like a shirt that you will wear and wear - especially in flannel.
10/16/13 7:23 AM
CypGrl said...
Great shirt! I love the colors and a beautiful job of matching everything up.
10/17/13 7:40 PM
FreyaStark said...
That fabric is great, and your pattern-matching is impressive. Thanks for a useful review.
10/18/13 6:22 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Great review and VERY impressive plaid matching!
10/18/13 6:54 AM
Danmar said...

10/18/13 7:03 AM
Danmar said...
Wow. I love it!
10/18/13 7:03 AM
Rebecca D said...
Plaid matching is outstanding, seriously. Still trying to get over my reluctance to tape that many pieces together. Every new review reduces my trepidation.
10/18/13 7:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8411
photo
Review by edupraz on 2/26/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8767 Vintage Vogue
photo
Review by calypso on 10/17/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us