SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2951 

5 more reviews
Viewed 128 times 
Reviewed by:Judy Kski
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Judy Kskistar
FL USA
Member since: 10/26/08
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/16/13 3:32 PM
Last Updated:2/6/14 5:35 PM
Project Photo:Kwik Sew: 2951 by Judy Kski

Kwik Sew: 2951 by Judy Kski  Kwik Sew: 2951 by Judy Kski  
Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 2951
Kwik Sew Pattern Info

More Info provided by Judy Kski

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
UPDATE 2/6/14 I've added a photo of my great nephew in his new shirt and hat.

Pattern Description: Boys' shirt and hat. Shirt has extended shoulders, double yoke, convertible collar and short sleeves. View A has side hemline slits and pocket. View B has shirt tail hemline and pockets. Double layer hat has crown, side panel and the brim has topstitching detail.

Pattern Sizing: XS (4-5), S (6), M (7-8), L (10), and XL (12-14). I made a Size S for my great nephew (DGN).

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Except for the contrasting color used for the pocket lining, under collar, double yoke, and front facings, it looks a lot like it.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The normal top notch instructions included with every KS pattern.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
LIKES:

- I've made a Hawaiian shirt before, but never used the burrito method for the double yoke. Since I've made lots of pillowcases, it was a breeze.
- I liked the hemline option of either a shirt tail or side slit.
DISLIKES:

- None

Fabric Used: The main fabric is 100% cotton batik w/plaid print in the background. I chose the contrast fabric, 100% cotton broadcloth, in order to bring out the dark orange in the plaid. Both fabrics were purchased at Walmart. Total Cost of Supplies: $18.23; Value of Time Spent Making It: Priceless!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- Used contrasting fabric for the pocket lining, under collar, front facings, and doulbe yoke.
- Changed thread colors as necessary to make sure they matched the color of the fabric. This took lots of extra time, but was well worth it.
- Omitted tab closure

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes to both. I've already got some Hot Wheels fabric standing by for the next shirt!

Conclusion: My DGN, who is 4 1/2 years old, gave a thumbs up to this fabric so I hope he likes what I came up with. I didn't get it done in time for the Ugly Fabric Challenge at our ASG Annual Meeting, but it's now ready to give to him.

I can see myself making this shirt for him again and again as he grows up.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pj3g said...
Nice shirt and I like the contrast fabric you used! Wonderful review too!
10/17/13 10:47 AM
Chempac said...
Good looking shirt!
10/19/13 11:15 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice! Love the color combination.
11/24/13 11:26 AM
Guelphgurl said...
Very cute!
2/6/14 9:53 PM
carolynw said...
Nice shirt and a so very adorable model!
2/7/14 11:19 AM
Hilary said...
You DGN is such a cutie pie! And I love the shirt-really cute fabric!
2/13/14 8:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-18

photo
by: myraminx

Review
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now