Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Colette Patterns: 1027 (Zinnia) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 284 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:elationcreation
photo
About elationcreationstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/28/10
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/16/13 4:45 PM
Last Updated:10/16/13 4:51 PM
Project Photo:Colette Patterns: 1027 by elationcreation

Colette Patterns: 1027 by elationcreation  Colette Patterns: 1027 by elationcreation  
Pattern Photo:Colette Patterns 1027
Colette Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by elationcreation

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
  • Tip: "Gutterman" thread #s
  • Current Tags What is a Tag:
    Fabric:Rayon  [See other projects in this fabric]
    Related Links  
    Click on to add a link
    Blog and pictures

    Pattern Description:
    Version 1 is a gathered skirt that falls below the knee, with a button-front placket and patch pockets. Version 2 is pleated, hits above the knee for a shorter length, and includes belt loops and in-seam pockets. Version 3 is also pleated, falls below the knee, and is fully lined so that it can be made in sheer fabrics.


    Pattern Sizing:
    0-18. I cut a size 4 and modified the waist band to a size 5


    Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
    I made version 1 with modifications but it looks exactly like the picture


    Were the instructions easy to follow?
    Yes, very. Colette have beginners in mind so every step in illustrated and sometimes it has links to tutorials for extra perfection. The only bit I was a little confused with was attaching the waistband to the skirt top, but once I started it made sense.


    What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
    I love the variations, the button up front, the ease of sewing up. Basically I love everything and there is nothing to complain about


    Fabric Used:
    A lovely rayon leaf print that cost £12m. The weight is light but substantial enough to create flow and drape. Perfect for this skirt.


    Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
    I made 3 alterations. Firstly I traced of a size 4 talking it up 5 inches using the shorting lines given in the pattern, which meant using 7 buttons rather than 10. Secondly I used in seam pockets rather than patch pockets and thirdly I adjusted my seam allowance on my size 4 waist band to give me a size 5 and 1 inch of ease instead of 1/2


    Would you sew it again?
    Would you recommend it to others?
    Yes and yes. I am already sewing up another version using a polka dot rayon and planning a version 3 with a printed sheer crepe.


    Conclusion:
    This is a perfect wearable addition to all wardrobes. It may look a little boring compared to other colette styles but there really is only so many times I can wear a Ceylon or Macaroon. Zinnia is an every day lovely!


    Blog and pictures
    Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
     
    thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
    Merchants on PR
    Gwyn Hug
    Fabric Shopping Help!
    Deals!
    Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
    Vintage Sewing Patterns
    Deals!
    Style Arc sewing dress patterns
    Patterns That Fit
    Web site
    << Previous      Next >>
    4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
    PammyC said...
    Absolutely adorable skirts
    10/17/13 0:53 AM
    margy.64 said...
    Beautiful skirt.
    10/17/13 5:26 AM
    Deepika said...
    super cute. I love how you styled it too.
    10/17/13 8:06 AM
    AndreaSews said...
    Lovely skirt and fabric.
    10/20/13 11:03 AM
    Login
    Online Sewing Classes
    Altering Jackets
    Fee: $19.99
    (Regular $59.00)
    Altering Jackets

    Online Sewing Classes
    Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
    Fee: $39.99
    (Regular $39.99)
    Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

    Self Drafted Pattern 146547-1000
    photo
    Review by FL Girl on 10/30/10
    Read Review

    You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
    You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

    Details
    Price: $9.05
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
    SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

    Details
    Price: $8.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )
    MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )

    Details
    Price: $9.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
    Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

    Details
    Price: $12.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Kwik Sew 3617
    photo
    Review by Nujoi1908 on 1/31/10
    Read Review

    Simplicity 2058 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
    Simplicity 2058 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

    Details
    Price: $16.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Kwik Sew 3699 Pattern
    Kwik Sew 3699 Pattern

    Details
    Price: $11.49
    Add to Bag Add to Bag


    Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us