Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8720 (men's coat and belt) - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in 2013 Lined Jacket Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 170 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Ksaunm
photo
About Ksaunm
Member since: 10/19/12
Reviews written: 15
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/13 8:53 PM
Last Updated:10/31/13 9:12 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8720 by Ksaunm

Vogue Patterns: 8720 by Ksaunm  Vogue Patterns: 8720 by Ksaunm  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8720
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool Coating  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: MEN'S COAT AND BELT: Unlined (I drafted my own lining), double-breasted, below mid-knee length coat has raglan sleeves, welt pockets, collar, collar band, back vent opening, back rain flap, carriers, stitched hems, flat fell seams, topstitch trim, button, hook and eye closing, belt.


Pattern Sizing: size 34

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Mostly. I raised the welt pockets, and added patch pockets with flaps.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It went together well. The illustrations for the welt pocket were very helpful (I'm a visual learner, so I liked that!)

Fabric Used: wool-poly coating blend from fabric.com; a black tweed.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: My now 16 year old son is a huge fan of the new Sherlock Holmes TV series, and he wanted Sherlock's coat http://blueblackinkbooks.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/tumblr_lj9xrtgdsd1qdojd4o1_500.jpg for his birthday this month. It is no longer sold, but cost 3500 when it was! So I googled every view of the coat I could , and adapted the closest men's coat pattern I could find, Vogue 8720. It is out of print, but I found a copy on eBay. The changes I made to make it look like Sherlock's coat were: 1. Raised the welt pocket to chest level. 2. Added patch pockets with flaps below the waist, where the welt pockets originally were. 3. Lengthened the collar so it would extend above the ears. 4. I added cuffs to the sleeves. 5. I re-spaced the buttons. 6. I changed the back significantly, by adding a seam at the waistline, a single pleat above the waist, 3 pleats below the waist, and a short belt attached to the back waist. I omitted the back yoke and the buckled belt in the pattern.

Would you sew it again? Probably not. One men's trench coat is enough for a while! Would you recommend it to others? Yes.

Conclusion: He loves it! I'm so glad! I made it as a surprise, and he truly was. He didn't think one could be found that was affordable. We still haven't told him I made it, out of fear that a teenage boy would not be caught dead in a homemade coat. I even took out a label from one of my T-shirts and sewed it into the coat, so it would look store bought. As soon as he wears it to school (waiting for cold enough weather) and gets the OK from his friends that it's cool, I'll tell him the real story.
Update: He wears it to school occasionally, and for walking the dog daily, but makes sure to wear the coat to all his "important occasions", such as things with his friends or cousins, and math and science meets. (Did you figure we're all a little geeky here?!) We've decided to wait at least a year before we tell him. I did find some grayish blue wool and will make the Sherlock scarf which he asked for as a Christmas gift.

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
madbadger said...
Excellent job! What an impressive accomplishment!
10/31/13 8:57 PM
atymonw said...
What a sharp coat! You have to tell us what happens when he finds out his mom made it:)
10/31/13 9:37 PM
ArtAttack said...
This is great! Awesome coat and I love the story that goes with it...I'd wait till he graduates HS to tell him! Good luck in the contest and thanks for participating!
10/31/13 9:51 PM
Quickie said...
Fantastic job
10/31/13 11:54 PM
grays08 said...
Beautifully done! This is gorgeous. I hope he comes to appreciate that you made it for him when he finds out. Moms are awesome, he'll figure that out, lol!
11/1/13 10:03 AM
marec said...
Wow, this is superb!
11/1/13 11:24 AM
PattyE said...
Well done! Your son is so lucky!
11/1/13 11:39 PM
KarlaB said...
Beautiful coat! Great details!
11/2/13 2:27 PM
ell-in-or said...
Wow, that really looks great. Please do tell us what happens when you tell him the real story.
11/3/13 10:46 PM
petro said...
Brilliant work, so stylish - lucky son!
11/4/13 3:46 AM
Margaret said...
Wow! It definitely looks RTW! Great details!
11/8/13 2:01 PM
JEF said...
What a great story behind this beautiful coat.
11/9/13 8:30 AM
digs57 said...
It's fabulous, and all the the Sherlock-worthy alterations you made are amazing. How on earth did you manage to size it correctly without giving the game away?! I bet when you tell him of its origins he'll be blown away - my teenage son loves every little thing I make for him, as do all the other family members.
12/27/13 9:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 7916 Jacket
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 6/29/05
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-141
photo
Review by Seamingly ... on 8/3/09
Read Review

Vogue 1368 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1368 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us