Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6744 (Grecian Crossover Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 352 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/13 9:31 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6744 by nicegirl

McCall's: 6744 by nicegirl  McCall's: 6744 by nicegirl  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6744
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by nicegirl

Pattern Rating:Mediocre Pattern
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Poly-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Misses' knit dress has elastic waist with crossover, tank, or racerback bodice. Choice of crossover or straight skirt.

I used the crossover bodice and the straight skirt.

Pattern Sizing:
XS-XXL. I cut a S at the shoulders and bust, transitioning to an M at the waist and hips. Fitting is not crucial with this dress as it is fairly voluminous and the elastic waist is adjusted to fit.

Fabric Used:
A polyester knit purchased from Kashi at Metro Textiles in April 2010 for $6/yd.
Total cost, including pattern: about $14.

Time to Make:
This is a pretty quick make, about 5 hours.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the gathered shoulder, it gives nice volume and drape.

I dislike the shallow crossover of the bodice.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope?
Yes, although I used the plain skirt rather than the crossover skirt as illustrated for the crossover bodice.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I did not use them.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
-Many of the previous reviewers noted that the front bodice gapes; almost all of them had to wear a camisole underneath.  So I took a fairly aggressive amount out of the crossover on the front bodice to prevent that--you can see the three tucks I took to shorten the crossover.

While I don't have gaping and don't need a camisole, I ended up with a similar problem as with Vogue 8870 (my high-low hem birthday dress) where the bodice is short at center front and blouses a lot at the side seams.  That goes more with the style of this dress so I'm fine with it, though it benefits greatly from (of course!) a sash.

-This dress's star feature is the shoulder gather.  It gives some shoulder coverage without a sleeve and allows for plenty of volume in the bodice to get the grecian drape.

To make the gather I sewed the shoulder seam with the sewing machine rather than the serger, and then pressed the seam open.  I machine-basted long gathering stitches starting about two inches from the already finished neckline and ending about 1/2 inch from where the sleeve hem would be stitched down.  I pulled the gathering stitches tight, and from the right side stitched in the ditch, catching clear elastic underneath to keep the gathers in place.  Then I removed the gathering stitches and hemmed the sleeve.  The gathers could have ended further from the sleeve hem, as it does pull up a bit.

Conclusion
I think I just don't care for crossover styles where the crossover is shallow, ending just a few inches from center front.  A crossover that goes all the way to the side seam is easier to adjust for a small bust without distortion and more flattering and wearable for me, not to mention more secure.  I'm going to have to stay away from these styles in the future.

That said, I do like this dress despite the weirdness with the crossover bodice.  The pattern also has a plain tank bodice, a racerback tank bodice, and a crossover skirt option, so it's quite versatile.

I timed the sewing of this dress poorly. I wore it on the day the photos were taken, but I won't get to wear it again until late next Spring when it is warm again!  We've had some crisp days in DC though luckily it hasn't gotten truly cold for good yet, but this is just too summery to get away with in mid-October.

All photos are here and the blog post is here.
Buy this pattern for $15.16  List Price: $18.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KensingtonCrab said...
Love the fabric! Great matching fabric to pattern!
10/18/13 10:46 AM
MrsCharisma said...
So cute! But then you always make cute stuff.
10/18/13 11:21 AM
Mufffet said...
LOVELY on you...this is a winner. Lovely fabric that favors your complexion immensely. :) I like this style - I wouldn't have thought I would, but it looks really nice on you. It has some potential for all figure types too I think.
10/18/13 12:04 PM
michellep74 said...
Cute dress! I like the shoulder details. Totally understand your annoyances with the pattern, though.
10/18/13 12:24 PM
SewWil said...
Pretty dress!
10/18/13 3:12 PM
Quickie said...
You gave a good solution for the gaping issue. I like your fabric
10/18/13 4:51 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Love the fabric and you look great!
10/19/13 9:30 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty! Love the fabric!
10/19/13 9:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-121 Jumperdress
photo
Review by Katrin7 on 11/16/07
Read Review

Simplicity 1416 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1416 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Designs 5208 Bianca Sweater
photo
Review by Lori V on 1/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee
Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us