Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8787 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 563 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:stonecutter17
photo
About stonecutter17star
Member since: 6/30/12
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/13 1:02 AM
Last Updated:10/17/13 1:09 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8787 by stonecutter17

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8787
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Misses Dress with asymmetrical neckline

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Exactly!
(This photo however, was taken after a long day of wearing, so it has wrinkles. Pretend they aren't there and that a giant dog isn't blocking the view.)

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes. I was afraid it would be difficult because sometimes Vogues are, but it was clear and easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The fit is fabulous, and the look is different and interesting. I especially like the asymmetrical neckline. It's a nice change.

I didn't like the sleeves, so I just made my own. If you aren't comfortable doing this, I recommend the sleeveless version. The pattern's own cap sleeves are either "modern" or "weird," depending on your perspective. Me? If I am going to have a sleeve, I want an actual sleeve, not some semi-shoulder cap with nothing under it. That's just me though.

Fabric Used:
A stretch denim. This was so fun to work with! It's like regular fabric, but with built-in cheating room!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Made my own sleeves.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
My giant dog joins me in recommending this pattern. It's distinctive looking, so I don't know if I can't make another one, but I would like to!

Conclusion:
Thumbs up!
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hildes said...
Fabulous!
10/17/13 4:24 AM
lamstu said...
Great looking dress - I've thought about the pattern and now I may have to be more serious about it! (I love the dog :))
10/17/13 5:41 AM
BillieJean said...
Great dress, super dog!!!
10/17/13 6:55 AM
Vintagelover said...
the bodice makes this a super looking dress!!!!
10/17/13 8:05 AM
Mrs. Cecil said...
Beautiful dress! Your sleeves are much nicer than the pattern's. Love the dog!!!
10/17/13 8:16 AM
angeleyes88 said...
beautiful dress! though my dog was the only one that liked sneaking into pics! guess not!
10/17/13 9:29 AM
lauraborealis said...
I totally agree about the sleeves. Burda uses those little cap things quit a bit, and I hate them! Your sleeves and your dress look fantastic.
10/17/13 12:28 PM
slmstyle said...
I like your dress and I LOVE your dog! Both are pretty terrific!
10/17/13 1:51 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful dress although it took me awhile to take in all of the details because that gorgeous, gorgeous dog kept demanding my attention.
10/17/13 3:27 PM
sewnotwork said...
Great dress. Put it on my wish list. I would not have taken a second look at the pattern, but yours is better than the model!
10/17/13 8:51 PM
Texahoma said...
This dress is beautiful, but the gorgeousness of your dog is breathtaking, his sly smile is saying " look at me", I just want to hug him! : )
10/17/13 9:12 PM
stonecutter17 said...
Thank you all so much for the sweet comments! My dog, Clyde, is a 6 year old rescue and he wants everyone to know that rescue dogs are the best!
10/17/13 10:26 PM
Baja Susana said...
Wonderful dress, so flattering, and not at all upstaged by your doggie...
10/18/13 2:17 AM
Pam in Amsterdam said...
simply perfect dress on you. And your dog is laughing. Great picture!
10/18/13 2:45 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I am more and more encourage to make this dress, have had the pattern for some time now. I like that you used a stretch denim and the dress fits you so well.
10/18/13 6:45 AM
betty bushwacker said...
You and Clyde make beautiful dresses!
10/18/13 9:48 AM
STARG said...
Great dress!
10/18/13 3:18 PM
SewLibra said...
Great fitting dress but I do believe "someone"...ahem...has stolen your thunder. ;-)
10/18/13 11:51 PM
CissieW said...
Dress fits you beautifully. Am in love with the dog!
10/19/13 8:10 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful dress! Looks great on you. Great fabric choice.
10/20/13 2:40 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
It looks so great on you, that I vote for another!
3/22/14 1:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

McCall's 5459
photo
Review by PNSnNeedle... on 8/2/10
Read Review

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest
photo
Review by nicegirl on 9/30/12
Read Review

New Look 6578 Pattern
New Look 6578 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1402 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1402 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us