SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Indygo Junction> 878 (Circle Scarves)

Viewed 251 times 
Reviewed by:Elizabeth made this
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elizabeth made thisstarstarstar
CO United States
Member since: 8/8/07
Reviews: 131 (patterns: 127)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/13 3:17 PM
Last Updated:4/8/15 2:49 PM
Project Photo:
Indygo Junction: 878 by Elizabeth made this
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Elizabeth made this

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Fabric:Felt - Wool  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: from Indygo Junction: "Two unique scarves. Make-up in wool or polar fleece for a winter warmer or create a chic fashion accessory in cotton batik. Two styles, the pinwheel version with eight circles making up one unit or single circles sewn together to make a lighter weight scarf. The pinwheel scarf can be made mixing patterns/colors or using a single color for each unit. The scarves length is adjustable"

Pattern Sizing:one size, but you can vary the length as you choose by just adding more circles

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?yes. I am not a quilter, so it was not readily apparent to me how the pinwheels were constructed. If you do quilt, I'm sure you wouldn't need the pattern at all as you only cut 3" circles and a plastic wedge template.

The wedge template (I cut mine from plastic embroidery canvas because that's what I had on hand) was a really useful tool. You use it to stitch along, not unlike using a hump jumper for jeans. A piece of cardboard I think would work well also.

The template helped keep the shape of the pinwheel uniform as you're constructing each one. I used a zipper foot which rode along the edge of the template. The zipper foot/template combo also helped my wool from stretching out. If you used polar fleece, I would think even more so it would help you to stitch without distortion.

Also, if you have an Olfa rotary cutter, you'll save yourself a lot of time.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
It's such a distinct scarf. I haven't run across too many distinct scarves of late.

There's 80 seams here. Yes, they're only a couple of inches long, but it's tedious, and it makes for a LOT of thread cutting.

Fabric Used:a nice thick 100% wool from a thrifted sweater that I felted. I cut around the embroidery which was not at all my style and had more than enough fabric. And it cost only $7.

The pattern suggests fat eighths from Weeks Dye Works. While WDW does have lots of coordinating wool felts, the pattern requires 9 fat eighths and each eighth looks to run at about $5 which adds up to an expensive project. If you cut the scarf from 60" wide fabric, you only need 1/3" yd.

You could use polar fleece, but the wool is so much nicer.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:none

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?It's too distinctive to make again as a scarf, but tiny pinwheels would make great decorations. It would take forever to seam it (and be tediously boring to do so), but a garland made out of these pinwheels would be a showstopper.

Conclusion: It seems silly to write a review on a pattern with exactly one pattern piece that you don't even need, but the result is a scarf that is fun to wear. Go felt a sweater.
More on my blog.
Elizabeth Made This: A million little seams
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew fresh said... (4/12/15 9:12 PM) Reply
So cute.
Mel.J said... (4/8/15 6:56 PM) Reply
Gorgeous! And just in time for our winter :). Thanks for reviewing and the tip on felting from the thrift shop.
Lanna said... (10/22/13 6:02 PM) Reply
Looks great !
lca said... (10/22/13 3:59 PM) Reply
Very cute! Love it!
carolynw said... (10/20/13 10:51 AM) Reply
Beautiful scarf - very distinctive - you'll get lots of compliments
Danvillegirl said... (10/20/13 8:46 AM) Reply
You did a great job with this scarf and it was definitely worth reviewing. It certainly caught my attention.
Danmar said... (10/20/13 7:28 AM) Reply
I'm so glad you brought this pattern to my attention. So cute!
Jstarr4250 said... (10/20/13 7:03 AM) Reply
I agree- absolutely lovely and well worth reviewing. Love how the pinwheels mimic the design on the edging of your sweater.
Quickie said... (10/20/13 6:47 AM) Reply
I am the next to really love this very cute scarve. I think it is a lot of work, but really lovely
Baja Susana said... (10/20/13 0:53 AM) Reply
This was a great review. Love the scarf!
RadarRadiance said... (10/19/13 7:11 PM) Reply
Very pretty and delicate on you, glad you waited until you found the perfect mat'l to use. Looks fantastic@
julie w said... (10/19/13 7:08 PM) Reply
Glad you reviewed, cute scary and great repurpose.
KathleenS said... (10/19/13 5:31 PM) Reply
Definitely worth reviewing. Great feature scarf, I'm sure you'll get lots of compliments.
Laurasews said... (10/19/13 3:22 PM) Reply
Not silly at all to do a review for this. I really like your scarf, and that you re-purposed thrifted materials. This would make great Christmas gifts!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Burda 7841

photo
by: trumbelina

Review
Simplicity 2648

photo
by: pt6356

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Pattern Details