Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 7932 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 107 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Jemajyng
photo
About Jemajyngstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 12/26/12
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/13 8:51 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 
Project Photo:Simplicity: 7932 by Jemajyng

Simplicity: 7932 by Jemajyng  Simplicity: 7932 by Jemajyng  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Jemajyng

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Crepe  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Misses' sleeveless dress and lined double breasted jacket with self ties or button/loop closure.
High waisted and back zippered dress has lined bodice with bust darts, sweetheart neckline and optional trim, skirt is straight and has back hemline slit.
I chose to make the short dress with more width given to the skirt.

Pattern Sizing:
D(4-6-8), N(10-12-14), U(16-18-20)
I sewed the dress in size 12.
I used size 10 for the armholes and the side seams above the waist.
I widened the skirt on the sides below the waist to flare it.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
The lower portion of the dress does not look like the picture. The straight skirt was replaced by a flared one and a ruffled hem band finished it.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, they were well illustrated.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the upper portion of the dress, but I am not attracted by the straight skirt. It does not seem to give enough ease even if there is a walking slit at the back.

Fabric Used:
Polyester Crepe.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
The dress has an unlined bodice with topstitched neckline and armhole edges. The bust darts were shortened by 3/4".
The skirt has been widened on the sides for a more A-line shape.
It has been shortened by 8" at the lower edge, then finished with a 6" wide hem ruffles.
Comparing to the original pattern measurements, the dress is 2" shorter at hemline and 12" wider above the ruffles.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others
This was not the first time I used the pattern.
I do not plan on making more of this dress, but I might give a try to the double breasted and princess seamed jacket with shawl collar coming with this pattern.

Conclusion:
I am very happy with how my dress turned out.
More pictures

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
This is a really nice shape on you. The neckline in particular is flattering and very well done.
10/18/13 9:47 AM
runmyworld said...
What a beautiful dress. I just love the neckline and the floral print. It looks just lovely on you.
10/18/13 10:28 AM
lynne1nor said...
Love it! You've become the perfect dress model :)
10/18/13 10:47 AM
SewWil said...
Pretty dress. Great neckline. Where do you store all of the pretty dresses you have been making?!!!
10/18/13 6:56 PM
Nicole Bacon said...
Very lovely dress.
10/24/13 8:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sewing Workshop Hibiscus Shirt Hibiscus Shirt
photo
Review by Peggy L on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 6971 Pattern
Burda 6971 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Brussels Skirt
Brussels Skirt

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2187
photo
Review by norie crea... on 4/21/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us