Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 3022 (Yoga pants and shorts) thumbsup - Type:Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 286 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:flyingpenguin
photo
Friend of PR
About flyingpenguin
VT USA
Member since: 8/16/05
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/13 4:32 PM
Last Updated:10/19/13 4:33 PM
Project Photo:Jalie: 3022 by flyingpenguin

Pattern Photo:Jalie 3022
Jalie Pattern Info

More Info provided by flyingpenguin

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Loungewear    Shorts    Activewear    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Yoga pants (A) that are fitted through the hips and thighs and slightly flared from the knee down. The wide faced two-piece waistband allows for fun color blocking. A seam at the back of the leg provides flattering fit and easy adjustment. The shorts (B) are great for the beach or for dance or gym practice.
Pattern Sizing:
Children's through US size 22. I made woman's size S
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Pretty much, although I made a different waistband.

Side View

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Fairly. I don't like that the instructions and pictures are on separate pieces of paper. I also did not refer to them much, and did not follow them for the waistband. For this pattern, someone who has sewn pants before would probably be able to construct them using only the pictures.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The pattern is very easy to sew, and as other reviewers have said, the seam down the back of the legs makes for easy fitting adjustments. I personally made no adjustments, as the fabric I used is super stretchy and forgiving. The pants have a low rise (think American Eagle RTW), which I like. I thought that the seam up the back of the legs would be uncomfortable, but it is not!

Fabric Used:

stretch (very stretchy) Sew Classics Spandex Knits from JoAnns. It is pretty thin, but extremely soft and comfortable.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I changed how I made the waistband. I cut out the lower band and sewed it to the pants. I then used the length of the interfacing to make a wide strip of fabric. I sewed one side to the waistband, then folded it over and sewed the other side to the waistband/ pants seam.
Waistband
Waistband2

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes, and yes! I sewed the first seam using a zigzag stitch on my sewing machine (Elna) with a regular presser foot, but the seam was all wavy. I put the walking foot on and used that with a zigzag stitch, and it worked perfectly! May go over the seams again with a stretch strait stitch as they recommend in the Jalie video

Conclusion:
Quick to sew, flattering, and super comfortable! May sew again using slightly more substantial fabric.
Back
Front

Note: Pants were not hemmed when I took the pictures.

side
Buy this pattern for $12.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
momsurfing said...
i have this pattern but haven't made it yet. i was a little aftaid the rise would be too high. i like how it fits you. i must make it soon.
10/19/13 9:10 PM
SewLibra said...
Wow, the rise is really low on this pattern. You don't have muffin top, though, so they look great on you! Very nice, it looks like the pattern envelope.
10/20/13 0:31 AM
Baja Susana said...
These fit you beautifully!
10/20/13 1:08 AM
flyingpenguin said...
Thank you! You can pretty much adjust the rise by how wide you make the waistbands, and the fabric is so stretchy that I think they would fit me pretty well even if I made the wrong size!
10/20/13 9:07 AM
marec said...
Nice yoga pants, and they are flattering. I'd have to add a bit to the rise :-)
10/20/13 11:11 AM
Patti B said...
Very nice job. I use the older Jalie yoga pant pattern but this one looks enticing.
10/20/13 11:17 AM
cstarks said...
Thanks for the walking foot tip. Worked much better!
3/1/14 10:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5488 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by rosecy on 6/29/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2587 Misses Dress
photo
Review by MissyBelle on 8/27/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us