Online Sewing Class: Create a Jacket Muslin
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2013-119 (Cape)

Viewed 263 times 
Reviewed by:tiadia
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tiadiastar
Member since: 2/21/08
Reviews: 144 (patterns: 142)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/13 3:51 PM
 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
arianamaniacs said... (10/21/13 11:47 AM) Reply
Im so glad to see this reviewed, I've been eyeing it ever since this mag came out. Thanks for the heads up about about the practicality factor. I love your version, I can see why you love wearing so much!
GermanKleinigkeit said... (10/20/13 9:33 AM) Reply
I liked the cape in the magazine and your version even more so! Looks really nice!
lamstu said... (10/20/13 9:21 AM) Reply
A twist on the old cape concept. It looks nice on you despite all of the inconveniences.
QuiltSewSewSue said... (10/20/13 4:51 AM) Reply
Interesting cape and it is also interesting to see that even though you don't love the pattern that it is getting used. Thanks for the review.
sewingcanary said... (10/20/13 1:53 AM) Reply
Interesting! Not overly practical for my neck-of-the-woods (BC); okay for summer, but... SMART lady to do 5 shrinks! !! Bet you learned a lesson or two somewhere in the past. :) A suggestion for the hood: set up a strap and D ring to match the sleeves. Apply it to the back crown of the hood. Good outdoor wear used to have hoods that you could adjust to fit over a hat, scarf, varying weather, etc.. Haven't seen it since clothing manufacture went overseas. It's amazing how much difference a small visor can make if you wear glasses! I'm surprised they didn't have you run a draw-cord around the hood. All-in-all, I think this is likely the designer's fashion statement than a real outdoor garment. It's cool tho. Enjoyed your blog.
mmcp said... (10/19/13 7:06 PM) Reply
Aah yes. The piece you don't like, and then wear every day--I have a couple of those! Anyway, it's very cool looking, and you look great in it, so you seem to have found a way to "make it work" however impractical it seems.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

McCall's 6400

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Apron Chic Express

Islander Sewing Systems Apron Chic Express

Pattern Details
Other Strawberry skirt

photo
by: AZ88

Review