SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2013-119 (Cape)

Viewed 245 times 
Reviewed by:tiadia
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tiadiastar
ON CANADA
Member since: 2/21/08
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/13 3:51 PM


BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2013-119 by tiadia  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mmcp said...
Aah yes. The piece you don't like, and then wear every day--I have a couple of those! Anyway, it's very cool looking, and you look great in it, so you seem to have found a way to "make it work" however impractical it seems.
10/19/13 7:06 PM
sewingcanary said...
Interesting! Not overly practical for my neck-of-the-woods (BC); okay for summer, but... SMART lady to do 5 shrinks! !! Bet you learned a lesson or two somewhere in the past. :) A suggestion for the hood: set up a strap and D ring to match the sleeves. Apply it to the back crown of the hood. Good outdoor wear used to have hoods that you could adjust to fit over a hat, scarf, varying weather, etc.. Haven't seen it since clothing manufacture went overseas. It's amazing how much difference a small visor can make if you wear glasses! I'm surprised they didn't have you run a draw-cord around the hood. All-in-all, I think this is likely the designer's fashion statement than a real outdoor garment. It's cool tho. Enjoyed your blog.
10/20/13 1:53 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Interesting cape and it is also interesting to see that even though you don't love the pattern that it is getting used. Thanks for the review.
10/20/13 4:51 AM
lamstu said...
A twist on the old cape concept. It looks nice on you despite all of the inconveniences.
10/20/13 9:21 AM
GermanKleinigkeit said...
I liked the cape in the magazine and your version even more so! Looks really nice!
10/20/13 9:33 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Im so glad to see this reviewed, I've been eyeing it ever since this mag came out. Thanks for the heads up about about the practicality factor. I love your version, I can see why you love wearing so much!
10/21/13 11:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6071

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review