Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3310 (Jumpsuits and Booties) - Type:Baby clothes    printable version
Viewed 67 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Immelu
photo
Friend of PR
About Immelustar
KS USA
Member since: 5/6/06
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/13 9:34 PM
Last Updated:10/20/13 10:28 PM
Project Photo:Kwik Sew: 3310 by Immelu

Kwik Sew: 3310 by Immelu  Kwik Sew: 3310 by Immelu  
Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 3310
Kwik Sew Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Ponte Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Baby jumpsuit and booties. The jumpsuits have raglan sleeves, a front snap closure, and neckbands, sleeve cuffs and leg cuffs from ribbing. View A has full-length sleeves, a zipper at the inside leg and optional appliqué. View B has short sleeves, snap tape at the inside leg, and pockets with rick rack and optional appliqué. The booties have ribbing cuffs and appliqué.

I made View A with the applique and the booties. This is for my friend's son who lives far away, so sorry I don't have a model!

Pattern Sizing: I made a medium for 3-6 months, length 26.5 and wt 18 lbs.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, I even used the same color scheme!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes...this was a kwik sew and the directions were very clear. One thing that I really like about kwik sew is how they don't just give you a close up view of the step, but they usually include additional detail so that you can be clear what you're doing. I'm not sure if this is done on purpose or not, but I really like it. I noticed this when I was inserting the zipper and wasn't sure if I was working on the right side. I looked and they had positioned the center front reinforcement square in the pic so I knew for sure what I was supposed to be doing.

Snap instructions were not included. This disappointed me, but most likely given the variety of methods you can use they don't include them. I had never done snaps before, so I was quite apprehensive about it. I did some internet research and found all sorts of tutorials and such. Since I didn't have any tools here, I figured I'd just see what tools were at Hancocks and decide then based on the selection. I ended up buying These Dritz #5 Snaps and This Tool for #5 snaps. On the back of the tool package, they had instructions that walked me through it. I did a practice one and it was AWESOME!!!! I am no longer afraid of snaps, and I found the simplicity of this tool nice.

Snaps are not as hard as I thought they'd be. Basically, for anyone who has never done this before, you put down the black part of the tool on a hard surface (I went outside on the cement steps), then put the bottom part of the snap prong through the hole in the fabric, put the top on, place the bottom in the black tool, and use the metal part of the tool with a hammer to hammer the two together. What you're really doing is bending the prong from the bottom to curve around part of the upper snap. The instructions gave a good enough illustration for me to figure it out. I highly recommend doing a sample on a scrap of the fabric with interfacing that you'll be using.

The scary part of snaps is marking the location. In order to apply them, you poke a little hold in your fabric, so there's no going back once you do that. To mark these, I very carefully placed where they would go and drew lines on the fabric with one of my frixion pens. Then, I poked the hole in the top. I poked the pen through the hole in the top and marked the bottom layer. Then I poked the hole in the bottom layer. To poke the hole, I VERY, VERY carefully used my seam ripper. I'm not sure what others use, but I'd be curious to know. I usually keep the layers pinned in one or two places so they don't shift.

Also, to sew the nostrils on the booties you used french knots. The pattern didn't tell me how to do this, but it was easily found on the internet.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? This design is so adorable. And the booties!! Who wouldn't want booties with teeth??!!

There were so many new things in this pattern for me! I like to learn new tricks and this pattern taught me (or gave me reason to learn) applique, french knots, rick rack application and snaps!

The applique directions were very good.

Also, I liked how the instructions included height, weight and months. I don't have any kids, so I was glad that all three were included to help me select.

I was a little disappointed that the instructions didn't tell you to press more. I basically pressed every seam as I sewed and I think it makes a huge difference in the look of the finished garment. When applying the ribbing, it tends to look all wonky because you do stretch it out to stitch it on and it seriously needed ironed. Even the body of the jumpsuit looked better after pressing.

To apply the ribbing, I first sewed on my machine for more control, then serged, then pressed.

Fabric Used: All fabrics are from Needle Nook Fabrics in Wichita, KS. The blue is ponte knit, the green is some sort of very narrow rib know, and the orange is regular rib knit. For the eyes, I cut scraps from two old t shirts that I use for miscellaneous sewing needs.

The snaps, zip, paper backed applique paper, and the tear away paper that goes under the applique all came from hancocks. Someone later said you could use a coffee filter for the tear away paper. Maybe I'll try that next time.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes and yes. I may make another one for my friend's son before I mail this one off. If I do, it will be just be a simple one without the applique. I saw that Needle Nook Fabrics had some really cute kid's knits in when I was there last.

Conclusion: This is an awesome little set and even without the applique, it would still be really cute. This outfit did take some time to make, but it's perfect for a gift.

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelonieLee said...
This is so cute!
10/20/13 9:44 PM
NhiHuynh said...
Great job! The booties are fantastic. What a wonderful gift.
10/20/13 9:45 PM
Guelphgurl said...
Looks like a lot of work, but very cute!
10/20/13 9:50 PM
michellep74 said...
These are so freakin' cute!
10/20/13 10:27 PM
Vandoels said...
Awwwww cute!! What exact fabric did you use? It looks glossy?
10/21/13 1:11 AM
Pj3g said...
This is 100% adorable! You did a fantastic job! And your review is excellent too!
10/21/13 2:09 PM
Patti B said...
I want some booties too! Well, maybe not but my little GS would love some. I'll add this pattern to the list!
10/22/13 9:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 1086 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by ohsewcraft... on 4/26/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 22 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 22 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2608
photo
Review by Steffie on 3/18/11
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us