Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5791 thumbsup - Type:Baby clothes    printable version
Viewed 87 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Chymaera
photo
About Chymaera
QC CANADA
Member since: 8/19/10
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/13 10:41 AM
Last Updated:10/21/13 10:47 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 5791 by Chymaera

McCall's: 5791 by Chymaera  McCall's: 5791 by Chymaera  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 5791
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
Available for sale on PR: $9.56 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Broadcloth  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Infants' Lined Dresses, Panties and Headband. I did the dress and the headband

Pattern Sizing: S-XL. I sewed the XL for a baby who currently wears 18 to 24 months clothes

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes! Except for the modifications I did.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes they were

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I didn't like the lack the finishing of the armhole, I hand sewed some of the lace over the trimmed seam allowances to finish it properly. I also had to break the basting in 3 for the front skirt. The tread kept breaking every time I tried to gather the front, this might I been because of the extra layer of lace.

Fabric Used: Cotton broadcloth and lace

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I added a layer of lace to the fabric since it was a Christening dress. I did a button closure instead of the zipper and I made a fabric flower on the headband.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yup I would sew it again anytime.

Conclusion: This is a cute dress of any little princess you have in your life!
Buy this pattern for $9.56  List Price: $11.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frame said...
Ha! Before I even read what you wrote, I looked at the picture and thought "what a precious little princess!" I see you think so also. ;)
10/21/13 11:36 AM
Pj3g said...
Beautiful dress and beautiful baby! Making a christening dress is such a gift of love and you did a great job!
10/22/13 12:25 PM
moushka said...
Adorable dress for a darling little girl.
10/22/13 11:53 PM
khurtdvm said...
Very beautiful!
10/23/13 0:04 AM
Janie Viers said...
Perfect garment for a christening!
10/24/13 7:10 PM
newmama said...
What a beautiful dress--you did a great job
10/27/13 8:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Butterick 5526 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Handshake on 1/22/14
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2327
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 10/4/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us