SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8871 (Misses Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 709 times 
Reviewed by:buckarina
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About buckarinastar
CA USA
Member since: 5/26/11
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/13 1:09 PM
Last Updated:2/7/14 10:28 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8871 by buckarina

Vogue Patterns: 8871 by buckarina  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8871
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Poly-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Very Easy, flared pullover dress with curved seam detailing

Pattern Sizing: Cut the 16, which was a little too big. Next time I will cut the 14 for a closer fit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I changed the sleeves and lowered the neckline, but the curving seams looked just like the drawing on the envelop.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were fine, but I had to post here for advice on how to fit the side front pieces to the front. ArtAttack told me to stretch the side front panel to fit the front, which worked like a charm. Thank you for your wise words, ArtAttack!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Love this pattern! Very easy to make and wear, very flattering. Finished the new sleeves yesterday morning, and wore it to a beautiful 90th Birthday Party at the Bel Air Hotel yesterday afternoon, where my hubby snapped my project photo

Fabric Used: poly-lycra knit print from Gorgeous Fabrics.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made the cap sleeve, as in View A, which I didn't like on my flabby arms. (Cap sleeve version above.)

So I cut a 3/4 length sleeve from Vogue 8817, which worked out perfectly.

I didn't like the neckline, so I lowered it into a sort of scoop. Next time going to lower it even more, or maybe try a V or boat neck. I took in the side front seams between bust and hip about 3/4".

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? , Yes and yes. I made one for my daughter too!

Conclusion: This is going to be the second TNT for my sewing files.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
Nice dress with a very flattering fit!
10/21/13 1:14 PM
Dynamo said...
This is so much nicer than the pattern envelope. You made great changes. Love the brilliant blue also!
10/21/13 3:57 PM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty. I agree that you could probably go down a size. I agree that its much prettier than the envelop, great color. Like the length.
10/21/13 10:45 PM
HeyJane said...
I love your dress! Especially the longer sleeves, very elegant style.
10/22/13 10:24 AM
lynne1nor said...
Love the color and the long sleeves. Now I've added this pattern to my must-try list!
10/22/13 2:02 PM
Danmar said...
I love your fabric and dress. Glad you called my attention to this pattern!
10/23/13 12:12 PM
Sonia D. said...
Buckarina, had to see the posting! Could not wait. My name is in honor of Sonia Delaunay and her poem dresses. The longer sleeves are simply a better proportion for the pattern in mi opinion
10/28/13 12:38 PM
huberhouse1886 said...
You said you had to stretch the side front panel to match the front. Did the diamond marks match? Mine do not and to make everything fit, I will have to totally ignore those little match marks.
2/4/14 11:27 PM
buckarina said...
huberhouse1886: As I recall, I did match the 2 notches that are marked on the pattern. Just had a lot of stretching in between. But knits are so forgiving, it all worked out. I've since made this dress for my daughter in a grey ponte knit, and my 2nd pass on this dress came out nicely. Just added a photo of her dress above.
2/5/14 9:55 AM
huberhouse1886 said...
Thanks so much for your quick answer. I'm sewing today. My fullness is not between the notches, but between the armhole and the 1st notch on the front. I am just going to ignore the notches, because I ckd the pattern and there was the same discrepancy. Hope mine turns out as good as your 2 did. Looks Great!
2/5/14 10:45 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress!
2/5/14 2:08 PM
Quickie said...
lovely splash of colour
2/5/14 2:46 PM
sewtime said...
Very pretty dress!
2/5/14 4:20 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Well done!
2/6/14 2:12 PM
carolynw said...
Two really nice dresses- great work!
2/7/14 11:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2934

photo
by: aleah42

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2011-128

photo
by: Irene Bull...

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now