Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8871 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 665 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:buckarina
photo
Friend of PR
About buckarinastar
CA USA
Member since: 5/26/11
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/13 1:09 PM
Last Updated:2/7/14 10:28 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8871 by buckarina

Vogue Patterns: 8871 by buckarina  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8871
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Poly-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Very Easy, flared pullover dress with curved seam detailing

Pattern Sizing: Cut the 16, which was a little too big. Next time I will cut the 14 for a closer fit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I changed the sleeves and lowered the neckline, but the curving seams looked just like the drawing on the envelop.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were fine, but I had to post here for advice on how to fit the side front pieces to the front. ArtAttack told me to stretch the side front panel to fit the front, which worked like a charm. Thank you for your wise words, ArtAttack!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Love this pattern! Very easy to make and wear, very flattering. Finished the new sleeves yesterday morning, and wore it to a beautiful 90th Birthday Party at the Bel Air Hotel yesterday afternoon, where my hubby snapped my project photo

Fabric Used: poly-lycra knit print from Gorgeous Fabrics.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made the cap sleeve, as in View A, which I didn't like on my flabby arms. (Cap sleeve version above.)

So I cut a 3/4 length sleeve from Vogue 8817, which worked out perfectly.

I didn't like the neckline, so I lowered it into a sort of scoop. Next time going to lower it even more, or maybe try a V or boat neck. I took in the side front seams between bust and hip about 3/4".

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? , Yes and yes. I made one for my daughter too!

Conclusion: This is going to be the second TNT for my sewing files.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
Nice dress with a very flattering fit!
10/21/13 1:14 PM
Dynamo said...
This is so much nicer than the pattern envelope. You made great changes. Love the brilliant blue also!
10/21/13 3:57 PM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty. I agree that you could probably go down a size. I agree that its much prettier than the envelop, great color. Like the length.
10/21/13 10:45 PM
HeyJane said...
I love your dress! Especially the longer sleeves, very elegant style.
10/22/13 10:24 AM
lynne1nor said...
Love the color and the long sleeves. Now I've added this pattern to my must-try list!
10/22/13 2:02 PM
Danmar said...
I love your fabric and dress. Glad you called my attention to this pattern!
10/23/13 12:12 PM
Sonia D. said...
Buckarina, had to see the posting! Could not wait. My name is in honor of Sonia Delaunay and her poem dresses. The longer sleeves are simply a better proportion for the pattern in mi opinion
10/28/13 12:38 PM
huberhouse1886 said...
You said you had to stretch the side front panel to match the front. Did the diamond marks match? Mine do not and to make everything fit, I will have to totally ignore those little match marks.
2/4/14 11:27 PM
buckarina said...
huberhouse1886: As I recall, I did match the 2 notches that are marked on the pattern. Just had a lot of stretching in between. But knits are so forgiving, it all worked out. I've since made this dress for my daughter in a grey ponte knit, and my 2nd pass on this dress came out nicely. Just added a photo of her dress above.
2/5/14 9:55 AM
huberhouse1886 said...
Thanks so much for your quick answer. I'm sewing today. My fullness is not between the notches, but between the armhole and the 1st notch on the front. I am just going to ignore the notches, because I ckd the pattern and there was the same discrepancy. Hope mine turns out as good as your 2 did. Looks Great!
2/5/14 10:45 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress!
2/5/14 2:08 PM
Quickie said...
lovely splash of colour
2/5/14 2:46 PM
sewtime said...
Very pretty dress!
2/5/14 4:20 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Well done!
2/6/14 2:12 PM
carolynw said...
Two really nice dresses- great work!
2/7/14 11:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Burda 7940
photo
Review by loohoo44 on 9/30/07
Read Review

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern
In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3475
photo
Review by daleygirl on 7/11/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3171 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3171 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9490 Pattern
Burda 9490 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us