Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6796 (Misses' Tops) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 392 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:stonecutter17
photo
About stonecutter17star
Member since: 6/30/12
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/13 4:25 PM
Last Updated:11/11/13 11:15 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6796 by stonecutter17

McCall's: 6796 by stonecutter17  McCall's: 6796 by stonecutter17  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6796
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $14.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Sweater Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
This pattern is for a top only, however I had already made one top, so I decided to turn it into a dress.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes. If you had told me a year ago that I could make something that looks just like a sweater I would not have believed it. But it was actually quite easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I already made the pattern once, and I somewhat disliked the split cowl neck. The front looked good, but the back looked and felt a little weird - especially when you try to put a jacket on. So for this version, I chose to make the cowl longer and not split it. I liked this.

I like everything else about the pattern - it fits well and is easy to sew.

Fabric Used:
Sweater knit with ample stretch.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made it into a dress instead of a top by simply drawing it longer. I doubled the "width" of the cowl so that it would drape more and then I sewed it as a circle, not cutting into it. The bottom sides of the dress looked a little boring, so I ruched them.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I think two is the most I can make of this, but I highly recommend it.

Conclusion:
Fun to sew, and a better option, IMHO, than RTW chunky cable knit sweaters that make you look huge. This is warm without adding bulk.

Buy this pattern for $14.36  List Price: $17.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
clcruick said...
Thank you for this review. This pattern is in my queue, having purchased several sweater knits recently!
10/21/13 6:15 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Very cute idea! Thanks for the info on how you did the collar!
10/22/13 10:06 AM
CissieW said...
Great changes you made to this pattern. Now to get some sweater knit!
10/22/13 10:27 AM
BlossomKyle said...
WANT.
10/22/13 7:20 PM
ArtAttack said...
Cute! Like the changes you made.
11/11/13 11:40 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Wouldn't have thought to turn this into a dress. I *love* your version!!!
11/12/13 8:37 AM
Christas said...
I want your dress! Period.
11/12/13 5:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 2250
photo
Review by blugirlami... on 11/9/11
Read Review

Oliver S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2258
photo
Review by EmilyMT on 2/15/12
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2900 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 2900 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us