Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6796 (Misses' Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 468 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:RachelKennison
photo
Friend of PR
About RachelKennisonstar
Member since: 3/16/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/13 2:31 PM
Last Updated:10/23/13 2:41 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6796 by RachelKennison

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6796
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $14.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:MISSES' TOPS: Close-fitting, pullover tops have collar variations and narrow hem. C and D: button trim.
Designed for medium weight moderate stretch knits.


Pattern Sizing:A5(6-8-10-12-14), E5(14-16-18-20-22) I cut a size 10 and did an FBA.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except cuter. ;)

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes. I just glanced at them, but they seemed pretty straightforward.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The tops are cute and easy to make up. However, I think there is an excess of fabric in the lower back. I added a shaped CB seam for the second shirt.

Fabric Used: A drapey rayon knit.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I did an FBA and added a shaped center back seam.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, it's very cute and easy to make. It's basic but not boring.

Conclusion: Cute and easy. I like that the tops have a nice length and would look cute with leggings, jeans, or tucked into a skirt. I like that the collar on views D and C can be dressed up with interesting buttons. I will sew it again when I'm looking for a quick project. More pics on my blog post!
Buy this pattern for $14.36  List Price: $17.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dee2 said...
Love both tops! Excellent fit & the perfect buttons for this style.
10/23/13 4:00 PM
stonecutter17 said...
Love seeing this in a non-sweater knit!
10/24/13 1:29 AM
lilikats said...
Beautiful tops! I have this pattern and you have inspired me to get busy and sew it
10/24/13 7:01 AM
Danmar said...
Nice tops! Great fit
10/24/13 7:38 AM
canei said...
Nice...I am doing mine this weekend. I love your fabric choice and thanks for the review.
10/24/13 9:18 AM
marec said...
These are so cute!
10/24/13 9:57 AM
Immelu said...
Nice tops! This is a really nice pattern!
10/24/13 7:28 PM
RachelKennison said...
Oh cool! So glad I inspired others to make these tops, they are some of my favorites now! Thanks, everyone! :D
10/30/13 11:19 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 5510 pjs for girls
photo
Review by chunter on 7/20/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Kitchen curtains
photo
Review by sewsunny37 on 9/20/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us