Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Darcy Woven Pants (Darcy Woven Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 307 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:dinagideon
photo
About dinagideonstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/23/13
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/13 4:10 PM
Last Updated:10/23/13 4:14 PM
Project Photo:StyleArc: Darcy Woven Pants by dinagideon

StyleArc: Darcy Woven Pants by dinagideon  StyleArc: Darcy Woven Pants by dinagideon  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by dinagideon

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool-Lycra Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: This is a stylish and up to the moment slimline pull-on pant. The interesting hemline sets this apart from the basic elastic waist pant. Make it in washed silk for that special occasion or Rayon for everyday wear. Pattern has optional side pockets.

Pattern Sizing: Aus Sizes 4-30. Single sized in packet, so I chose a 12.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Well, I think so, although I messed something up in the execution. I think if I try again it will look even closer to the project photo.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I guess so, they didn't hold my hand--at all, but I felt like they were worded well, even though they could have been more verbose, in my opinion.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? LOVE the pockets, they are drafted well. I also love the style, very hip and current.

Didn't care for how my pants hem turned out, but I 100% know that it is my fault and not the pattern's. (By the end, I decided to have fun with the hem and added a decorative stitch to it.) I think the weird wool stretchy woven fabric I was using may have been a bit too heavy, and oddly enough, too stretchy for the pattern. (The pattern says to choose fabric that is a bit stretchy by nature, but I think that may have worked against me, especially when cutting the pattern pieces out.)

The left leg, especially, seems kind of wonky and off. The pants keep riding down on my hips (from my waist), so that is why I think the fabric may be too heavy for the waistband. (I also could have been less generous with the elastic, I seem to always give my elastic too many inches, and I end up with a waistband that is too large on me!)

I also can see that the fabric is pooling under the bottom, which never happens to me, so maybe my choice to add a full thigh adjustment (about a half-inch to each pattern piece) may have been in error.

Fabric Used: This is a fabric mart bundle fabric, and after doing the burn test, I determined it must be a stretchy wool twill since the fabric self-extinguished and smelt of hair. I didn't think it felt like wool since it is seems more like cotton twill, but it didn't burn like cotton.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I used my Burda crotch curve to ensure the pattern fit me. It does fit nicely through the rise and I quite like the fit. If only I had properly sized the waistband, of course.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes. I am definitely willing to try it again, maybe with a stretchy, yet more stable lightweight wool or cotton.

I wear these pants, but strictly inside my house, since while they are quite ugly, they are super duper comfortable, almost like non-traditional pajama bottoms.

Conclusion: I loved having just one size in the packet and the fact that the pattern is printed on real paper. I think if you are a Style Arc fan, this particular style will probably be super easy for you to sew up.

I look forward to trying again in a different fabric.

The top is also handmade. I will review it in the future.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
What a fantastic fabric for this nice top....I did not even draw my attention to your very versatile pants
10/23/13 4:24 PM
dinagideon said...
Quickie, lol. Yeah, I am wearing the top all day, but chose to photograph the pants with them. Maybe I chose that for a reason, to distract from the pants a bit. ;) The fabric is a Liberty tana lawn called Tresco floral. I was smitten with it last spring...
10/23/13 4:35 PM
GoSewGirl said...
Thanks for this review. I've been wondering about these pants and now may have to order this pattern for myself!
10/23/13 6:07 PM
Knitz said...
Curious as to the problem you experienced with the hem -- can't really tell from the photo. I also had issues with the hem facing, and ended up facing the hem before sewing side seam.
10/24/13 11:21 PM
dinagideon said...
Hi, Knitz. :) Thanks for the need for extra clarification, I realize now I kind of skimmed over my issues. I like faced hems, a lot, and was stoked to see that this pattern had them for the cute and unusual hem. My problem was that I could have used more hand holding from Style Arc in the instructions to properly place the hem facing and then stitching it. I felt like I had no idea how and where to properly stitch the hem in the end, so I kind of winged it to less than desirable results. I also feel like my poor cutting skills hindered this project...the fabric was very difficult for me to cut properly and I didn't do a great job which led to the facing sitting in the hem improperly. Sigh. Basically it was a mess all around, though the photos definitely look like they are okay. :P I may do what you did, and face the hems FIRST and the sew up the side seam, that seems like a brilliant solution!
10/25/13 3:52 PM
Lynmarie said...
Nice pants, maybe ask SA to add more detail to the constuction sheet, they are very helpful I've found.
10/25/13 10:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-113
photo
Review by ManiMayor on 2/16/13
Read Review

Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6121 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6121 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-30 Long shorts
photo
Review by Sandi S on 1/25/09
Read Review

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us