SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Darcy Woven Pants (Darcy Woven Pants)

Viewed 346 times 
Reviewed by:dinagideon
photo

 
 
About dinagideonstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/23/13
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/13 4:10 PM
Last Updated:10/23/13 4:14 PM


StyleArc: Darcy Woven Pants by dinagideon  StyleArc: Darcy Woven Pants by dinagideon  
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lynmarie said...
Nice pants, maybe ask SA to add more detail to the constuction sheet, they are very helpful I've found.
10/25/13 10:17 PM
dinagideon said...
Hi, Knitz. :) Thanks for the need for extra clarification, I realize now I kind of skimmed over my issues. I like faced hems, a lot, and was stoked to see that this pattern had them for the cute and unusual hem. My problem was that I could have used more hand holding from Style Arc in the instructions to properly place the hem facing and then stitching it. I felt like I had no idea how and where to properly stitch the hem in the end, so I kind of winged it to less than desirable results. I also feel like my poor cutting skills hindered this project...the fabric was very difficult for me to cut properly and I didn't do a great job which led to the facing sitting in the hem improperly. Sigh. Basically it was a mess all around, though the photos definitely look like they are okay. :P I may do what you did, and face the hems FIRST and the sew up the side seam, that seems like a brilliant solution!
10/25/13 3:52 PM
Knitz said...
Curious as to the problem you experienced with the hem -- can't really tell from the photo. I also had issues with the hem facing, and ended up facing the hem before sewing side seam.
10/24/13 11:21 PM
GoSewGirl said...
Thanks for this review. I've been wondering about these pants and now may have to order this pattern for myself!
10/23/13 6:07 PM
dinagideon said...
Quickie, lol. Yeah, I am wearing the top all day, but chose to photograph the pants with them. Maybe I chose that for a reason, to distract from the pants a bit. ;) The fabric is a Liberty tana lawn called Tresco floral. I was smitten with it last spring...
10/23/13 4:35 PM
Quickie said...
What a fantastic fabric for this nice top....I did not even draw my attention to your very versatile pants
10/23/13 4:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

More Info
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

More Info