Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3889 (Laptop Computer Bags) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 102 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:akyramoto
photo
About akyramoto
CA USA
Member since: 2/19/09
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/13 5:09 PM
Last Updated:10/23/13 5:11 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 3889 by akyramoto

Pattern Photo:Simplicity 3889
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by akyramoto

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Laptop computer bags
Pattern Sizing:
n/a - I used view b 'sleeve' for laptops 10" x 14"
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yup! I think so

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I honestly didn't use them, I wanted to bind the edges, I think it made the construction process faster

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
nothing
Fabric Used:
I used a cotton print I had in my stash (free from a friend). I think it's pretty but I'm bummed that I can't get my chalk lines to go away 100% from quilting.

Quilted the cotton with some poly batting, used Neon green fleece for the lining. Binding is a wide grosgrain ribbon.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
used binding , no interfacing.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes! I would like to make one for my laptop
Conclusion:
I made this for my sister's birthday, it was an easy sew. Mine took longer because I decided to quilt mine. I like how it turned out aside from the chalk marks (and I missed one quilting line!). All the layers I had added up quite a bit, but I have a walking foot machine I used for the binding (total thickness of layers), I think that helped out alot.


Click Here

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/akyramoto/20131023_092821_zps7bcbfae9.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/akyramoto/20131023_092827_zps61eedaa8.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/akyramoto/20131023_092858_zpsa22ecc0c.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/akyramoto/20131023_092907_zps265d1e84.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/akyramoto/20131023_092955_zps5aa60c23.jpg
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pj3g said...
Love the fabric! Very nice case!
10/24/13 3:09 PM
Handshake said...
It's great! And so good to see a sewing review that isn't a garment. Well done for quilting your own fabric: I was thinking of doing that for a future project. Only one of your photo links is clickable, by the way.
10/24/13 3:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-102
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 6/1/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2674 5 easy pieces
photo
Review by JoleneF on 7/22/04
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6454 Pattern
New Look 6454 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us