Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6044 (MEN'S SHIRTS) thumbsup - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 340 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Christina Tango
photo
Friend of PR
About Christina Tangostar
USA
Member since: 6/21/12
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/13 9:04 PM
Last Updated:10/26/13 2:54 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6044 by Christina Tango

McCall's: 6044 by Christina Tango  McCall's: 6044 by Christina Tango  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6044
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
This is a mens front button shirt with a collar attached on a collar stand and optional front & back yokes.

I found this pattern easy to sew. I just made it more difficult for myself by choosing a fabric with a large, obvious repeat. The fabric is Alexander Henry's "Las Senoritas" and I needed an extra yard to match the repeat on the front sections and pockets. I used a coordinating calico to line the inside of the cuffs, yoke and collar stand.

David, the man I sewed this for, needed a couple of fit alterations. His neck is small and the rest of him is medium. So I cut the neckline areas in the small size and followed the medium size for the body of the shirt. It made it a bit tricky for the armscye because he requested an oversized, roomy fit, and cutting the neck area smaller meant a smaller armhole. So to accommodate a medium sleeve, I lowered the bottom of the armscye the amount taken out at the shoulder seams for the small neck. David is an older man and no longer has the slim, trim boyish waist like the young man modeling on the pattern envelope, I changed the side seams to straight up and down to give him the more ease he asked for and to accommodate the love handles. David also requested a straight hemline instead of the shirt tail style.

Overall I am very happy with how it turned out and anyone with moderate sewing skills could sew this up in a day or two.

http://divinestitches.org/2013/10/23/mexican-calendar-girl-shirt/

Buy this pattern for $15.16  List Price: $18.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LouiseT said...
Wow! This is very very special. I love the print, I love the matching of the print, I love the attitude of the model. Well done all round.
10/23/13 10:30 PM
sunnysewing said...
awesome shirt! I love the print too!
10/23/13 11:15 PM
sunnysewing said...
sorry duplicate
10/23/13 11:16 PM
Sew Good said...
Nice job!!!!
10/23/13 11:36 PM
Mufffet said...
Great fabric, and a great shirt! :)
10/24/13 0:21 AM
Stephanie C. said...
You did an amazing job on matching the print!! He looks really happy with it.
10/24/13 0:42 AM
kushami said...
The shirt looks very stylish. It is great to see "not young" people (I don't want to say old coz he isn't!) wearing interesting outfits.
10/24/13 1:02 AM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
What a beautiful job you did matching the print. It's like an amazing work of art.
10/24/13 1:16 AM
lilikats said...
Totally wild shirt!! :)
10/24/13 6:54 AM
canei said...
TOTALLY AWESOME!!!! Great job. I like it.
10/24/13 9:16 AM
ASiverson said...
Ditto LouseT and another Wow. Love it all! Great job!
10/24/13 9:46 AM
Dagmar O. said...
I love this! Great matching of both fabric images in terms of sewing and fabric to a cool guy that I would want to meet if I wasn't already spoken for!
10/24/13 9:50 AM
marec said...
Love this shirt-the fabric is wonderful and your care and attention to detail make this a stand out shirt for David.
10/24/13 9:53 AM
marec said...
Love this shirt-the fabric is wonderful and your care and attention to detail make this a stand out shirt for David.
10/24/13 9:53 AM
carolynw said...
Great shirt - I think David is getting a fan club going here - he is a great model and looks so cute in his shirt
10/24/13 10:12 AM
KarlaB said...
Wow! What a fabric to match, and you did it perfectly! David looks so happy in his shirt, too. Great job!
10/24/13 12:08 PM
Rhoda K said...
Such a fun shirt! I'm sure he'll get many compliments.
10/24/13 12:43 PM
donna wicks said...
Great looking shirt. You did a fantastic job on the matching designs. Tell the model that he looks very handsome in his new shirt.
10/24/13 3:06 PM
madbadger said...
am in love with this shirt!!! you did an amazing job matching that print up - truly a master!
10/24/13 5:49 PM
HeyJane said...
Cool shirt! Great job on the print matching.
10/24/13 7:51 PM
Irene said...
Spectacular sewing and cool dude!
10/24/13 10:12 PM
Christina Tango said...
I showed David all the great comments! He is wowed by it all. He loves his new "party shirt".
10/25/13 0:21 AM
gabc said...
Wow - what a great job! The fabulous fabric and your wonderful pattern placement and matching make this such a great shirt!
2/4/14 6:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Kwik Sew 2971 Blanket, Bibs
photo
Review by spankachut... on 3/27/11
Read Review

Moss Mini Skirt
Moss Mini Skirt

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6660
photo
Review by Poppycat22... on 1/16/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3664 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3664 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1733 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1733 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us