Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5678 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Shirt and Sash) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 203 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:cleverkitty
photo
Friend of PR
About cleverkittystarstarstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/22/07
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/13 5:35 PM
Last Updated:10/24/13 5:53 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5678 by cleverkitty

Butterick: 5678 by cleverkitty  Butterick: 5678 by cleverkitty  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5678
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton-Lycra Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Semi Fitted shirt has princess seams, button tabs, belt carrier. View C has roll up sleeves with button tabs.
A/B C and D cup sizes

Pattern Sizing: 6 to 20 I made size 10 view B

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? very easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the princess seams and belt carriers.
no dislikes

Fabric Used: Cotton stretch from Vogue Fabrics

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I did a narrow shoulder adjustment Click Here and a swayback adjustment
Click Here
I did not sew the carriers to the blouse for versatility (to wear the blouse with or without the sash) I attached them to the sash. If you look close you can tell but I figured the average non sewer would not see this.
I used contrast fabric for the collar stand and under the pocket flaps.

Would you sew it again? yes I got the fit down and would like to make another view
Would you recommend it to others? yes

Conclusion: The fitting book is Fitting Finesse, Nancy Zieman
Over all the blouse turned out better then I anticipated!!!

back view
close up
another view




Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Beautiful work! I'm getting ready to cut this top and also need both narrow shoulder and swayback adjustments.
10/24/13 6:20 PM
carolynw said...
You have a superb shirt which looks like high end RTW. Congratulations on turning out such a perfect blouse - am a little green with envy :)
10/24/13 6:34 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, cute shirt! Love the detailing and the subtle stripe of the fabric. Very nice!
10/24/13 6:36 PM
SewWil said...
Oh wow! I love everything about this blouse. Very polished looking. Great job!!!
10/24/13 7:04 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
CUTE top!! I have this pattern and just have not gotten around to it. I'll know where to look for your adjustments
10/24/13 9:19 PM
nancyc said...
Great idea about the belt carriers! Beautiful shirt!!
10/25/13 6:12 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Very smart!
10/25/13 8:02 AM
wimmie said...
Thanks for this review. I'll have to remember the belt and tab detail when I make this one. really nice workmenship.
10/25/13 8:32 AM
grays08 said...
Such a beautiful, classic top! I love it and had to look at all the photos as I'm green with envy as well! ;> I love Nancy's techniques for adjusting the shoulder and swayback too - I've tried others that I didn't like as well and always go back to the ol' pivot & slide. I just love the details on this and agree with you on keeping it versatile and so clever to put them on the sash. Well done!
10/25/13 9:00 AM
1SewSweet said...
Cute! I have this pattern and will give it a try!
10/27/13 8:55 AM
liliv said...
Pretty sewing! I'm jealous of your patience, I'm not patient enough to sew a lovely well made shirt like this!
10/30/13 11:44 AM
GodsgirlT said...
Oh clever kitty! This is very cute! Impeccable work as usual. Very nice!
10/30/13 6:57 PM
Christas said...
I love this! Your top is so cute and sewn beautifully! Nice work..... as always!
11/11/13 10:11 PM
persevering said...
Fabulous shirt ... thanks for your review! Did you sew the top of the sleeve as the pattern shows or did you make an adjustment? It looks great ... all of it!
11/11/13 10:36 PM
cleverkitty said...
Thank-you everyone I seem to be a little excited about this blouse especially seeing the other reviews coming in. As far as the sleeve preserving I made no adjustment but I did do a narrow shoulder adjustment , my sleeve starts at the top of my shoulder where the prominent bone is. Thanks for asking :)
11/12/13 8:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's M6270
photo
Review by juliesbtw on 6/3/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2795 Hoddie
photo
Review by swirlgurl on 1/4/14
Read Review

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us