Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: -- (Insulated Snow Mittens) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 39 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:JOshiro
photo
Friend of PR
About JOshirostar
MN USA
Member since: 5/14/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:10/25/13 1:13 PM
Last Updated:10/25/13 1:17 PM
Project Photo:No Pattern Used: -- by JOshiro

No Pattern Used: -- by JOshiro  No Pattern Used: -- by JOshiro  
Pattern Photo: No Pattern Used Pattern Info

More Info provided by JOshiro

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyurethane Laminate  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
The PR template says "No pattern used" - but that's because this isn't a commercial pattern. Definitely was a pattern used here!

Description from the pattern author, "...waterproof on the outside, cuddly soft on the inside and with a thermal layer in between to really keep out the cold. The trifecta of a great mitten!!"

Pattern Sizing:
One size, "fit approximately ages 2-8yrs."

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes. When I first saw the tutorial, it did not specify the seam allowance. I left a comment, and the author responded very quickly to my question and updated her tutorial.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
GREAT tutorial, and I loved the layers. However, the pattern just DID NOT WORK for me. I don't know where I went wrong, but if the hand parts were all aligned, the thumb parts would NOT go together at all - like they were pointing in different directions. I "fixed" it by just taking massive seam allowances where I could, very much a hack job. I think I'll try this again using a different mitten pattern but following her instructions - especially loved the elastic sewn to the PUL layer and the FOE binding.

Fabric Used:
PUL, Insul-Bright, polyester fleece, FOE. Clips are Pepperell Parachute Bracelet Clips.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added little clips to the side that will keep the mittens together when they are in storage. The tutorial just says to bind the edge with FOE but doesn't say how. I measured the length I needed, sewed it into a circle, quarter marked, and sewed it on.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I would sew mittens again using this tutorial but using a different actual mitten pattern. The tutorial is fantastic.

Conclusion:
Not bad for 4 hours of work. I've learned lots, and my daughter has new mittens!

More pics on my blog!
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
annakeeton said...
These mittens turned out cute.
10/26/13 7:34 AM
Pj3g said...
These are great! Love that tutorial and her fabric suggestions! Yours look great even though you had some problems!
10/26/13 11:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by colormefun on 1/9/11
Read Review

Simplicity 2340 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2340 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3091 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3091 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2780
photo
Review by sailor gir... on 6/23/06
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Perfect Pouches
Perfect Pouches

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us