Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewaholic Patterns: 1303 (Saltspring Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 154 times 11 more reviews
Reviewed by:ahearta
photo
About aheartastar
WA USA
Member since: 5/27/10
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/25/13 4:00 PM
Last Updated:10/25/13 4:06 PM
Project Photo:Sewaholic Patterns: 1303 by ahearta

Sewaholic Patterns: 1303 by ahearta  
Pattern Photo:Sewaholic Patterns 1303
Sewaholic Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.98 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton- Lawn  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: The very long description from the website - "Here's a breezy, relaxed sundress perfect for hot summer nights and days at the beach! The Saltspring Dress comes in two lengths, a full-length maxi dress and an above-knee length dress. What's neat about this dress is the construction. The bodice lining is cut shorter than the bodice pieces, so you'll never need to re-adjust the blousing at the waistline. You'll always look effortlessly put-together! Inseam pockets make this dress practical as well as stylish. The straps tie in a bow at the shoulders, making it easily adjustable."

Pattern Sizing: 0-16

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes. Tasia likes to focus on line drawings instead of sketches or photos of the finished dress, but I did think it looked like I expected.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes. I was a pattern tester, and I had no trouble making the dress. I can only imagine the instructions have gotten even clearer for the real deal.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I really like the easy fit of the pattern. The elastic waist is comfortable and flattering, and it hides away under the blousing of the bodice.

Fabric Used: I used a cotton lawn for my shorter version and a cotton voile for my maxi version.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: For my shorter version, I made the pattern up exactly as directed for view A. For my maxi version (which I made second), I converted the shoulder ties to single straps for ease of wearing. I also omitted the zipper since I can easily get the dress on and off without it.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes. Having already made it twice, I can imagine making it again and again. I've seen a winterized version out of knit with long sleeves on another blog recently, and I'm tempted to steal the idea!

Conclusion: If you're looking for an easy and comfortable summer dress, I highly recommend this pattern. I'm a big fan of all Sewaholic Patterns though, so take that as you will!

You can see more photos and read more about each garment on my blog, Sew Well. The shorter Liberty Lawn version can be found here, and the cotton voile maxi version can be found here.
Buy this pattern for $17.98     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLibra said...
Both versions look great on you! Nice job.
10/26/13 0:32 AM
Chempac said...
Love them both!
10/26/13 10:30 PM
ahearta said...
Thank you so much!
10/27/13 0:11 AM
margy.64 said...
Very pretty fabric for both versions of this dress. Looks like a great pattern too.
10/27/13 3:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 5941
photo
Review by gotpeace91 on 4/5/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8994 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8994 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3660
photo
Review by catalak on 4/23/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us