Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Downloadable: 9306 (Danielle dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 159 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:NewYorkParisNeedle
photo
About NewYorkParisNeedle
NY USA
Member since: 2/16/12
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:10/26/13 9:50 AM
Last Updated:10/26/13 9:57 AM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Downloadable: 9306 by NewYorkParisNeedle

BurdaStyle Downloadable: 9306 by NewYorkParisNeedle  BurdaStyle Downloadable: 9306 by NewYorkParisNeedle  
Pattern Photo: BurdaStyle Downloadable Pattern Info

More Info provided by NewYorkParisNeedle

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Empire waist dress

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, very
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Beautiful shape and fit
Fabric Used:
Cotton voile
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made elbow-length sleeves so I could wear the dress in the fall. Instead of using the original pattern for the bottom of the sleeves, I just turned them over and inserted elastic.
And when I finished the bodice I found the cut a little low for my work environment so I decided to add lace edging to the neck line. To make the design consistent, I accessorized the hem with black lace edging as well.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Definitely. Yes
Conclusion:
Great design and pattern which I would love to make again. And it's free. What else can one ask for?!
Have you fallen under Danielle's spell too?
Find more info on my blog New York Paris Needle
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Such a fab looking dress on you!
10/26/13 12:58 PM
Anna Marie F. said...
Lovely dress!
10/26/13 4:11 PM
Dee2 said...
Your dress is lovely--the lace is a perfect touch!
10/26/13 6:26 PM
msschiel said...
Very nice! Love the colors and the lace!
10/26/13 6:53 PM
madbadger said...
Beautiful!
10/26/13 10:59 PM
NewYorkParisNeedle said...
Thank you!
10/26/13 11:57 PM
WinterQueen said...
Beautiful! i love the neckline :)x
10/27/13 8:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2596
photo
Review by mastdenman on 4/24/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern
Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern Self Drafted Pattern
photo
Review by Summerlea on 2/22/10
Read Review

McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6947 Pattern
Burda 6947 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us