Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 600 (Bridal Gown) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 329 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Achallengingsew
photo
About Achallengingsewstar
CT
Member since: 1/11/13
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/13 12:49 PM
Last Updated:10/26/13 12:56 PM
Project Photo:Marfy: 600 by Achallengingsew

Marfy: 600 by Achallengingsew  Marfy: 600 by Achallengingsew  
Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by Achallengingsew

Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Taffeta  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Bridal gown
Pattern Sizing:
44
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
It absolutely did!
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Marfy do not come with instructions
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
It was so beautifully drafted and marked. Everything fitted together perfectly, such a dream to make
Fabric Used:
Dior silk taffeta...heaven!!!
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I changed the hem shape on the the front bodice as the dress was not for a specific event and I wanted to show off my shoes..obvs! and their here some little fitting issues, but overall very little change
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I think this pattern is beautiful. I made a corset because I wanted to learn how, but a great fitting bra would also work well. The arms and neckline would be so flattering to so many body shapes.
Conclusion:
This was a "because I can" dress. I really wanted to learn how and I loved every second of the experience. The pattern is divine, the fabric easy to work with and I love the end result, it almost makes me want to renew my vows its so lovely!

More info at http://achallengingsew.typepad.com/my-blog/2013/10/marfy-fs600-and-2630.html
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
STARG said...
Gorgeous dress! Love the red shoes!
10/26/13 12:57 PM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous dress - love the shoes and love the reason for sewing. Well done. Great review and am sure some MOBs will consider this
10/26/13 1:05 PM
KamiSue2 said...
Wow!!
10/26/13 1:32 PM
Re Becca said...
Gorgeous! You really made this look so fabulous. I would never want to take this off, it would so show up at the grocery store. The fabric is just divine.
10/26/13 5:51 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, is right! This is beautiful!
10/26/13 6:20 PM
RoseE said...
Lovely, indeed!
10/26/13 6:31 PM
Stephanie C. said...
Gorgeous!
10/26/13 6:55 PM
lamstu said...
Amazing! Now that you have this terrific dress, you MUST find somewhere to wear it. So happy to know that I'm not the only one who does interesting projects "just because"
10/26/13 8:34 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I'm amazed at your Marfy expertise. Truly beautiful dress!
10/26/13 11:53 PM
ArtAttack said...
Fabulous! Stunning on you and LOVE the shoes, too!
10/27/13 0:06 AM
margy.64 said...
Stunning dress and a wonderful showcase for your red shoes.
10/27/13 2:23 AM
slmstyle said...
SO beautiful! I love it!
10/27/13 3:51 AM
jlg said...
Oh, wow!
10/27/13 6:36 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Stunning confection of a dress and the shoes are the icing on the cake with it.
10/27/13 7:48 AM
CissieW said...
Absolutely stunning. There are just not enough words to describe how much I love this dress! Serious envy here!
10/27/13 10:16 AM
Sew tell me said...
Beautiful!
10/30/13 7:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6795
photo
Review by avril jane on 8/25/13
Read Review

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4780
photo
Review by angi_nagel on 12/18/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4012 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4012 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us