SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5679 (Misses' Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 348 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/13 4:15 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dynamo said...
I like all three, and your hair looks fab too!
10/26/13 5:07 PM
carolynw said...
Like all three and as usual your reviews have fun stuff in them - commented on your jacket before I saw this review
10/26/13 5:42 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
You and Top 3 are GORgeous :D
10/26/13 6:22 PM
atymonw said...
Supercute! I love all of them, but especially that sweater knit. And you do have beautiful hair:)
10/26/13 6:25 PM
Annette1 said...
I cannot tell a lie, that's one of those clip-on ponytail things. It's SO EASY. I've had it FOREVER, and when I got it (on eBay, sight unseen for 30 bucks), I had NO IDEA how HARD it was to get one that actually matches your hair. And this one matched PERFECTLY, and I've had it ever since. THANKS SO MUCH!
10/26/13 6:32 PM
frame said...
Nice.
10/26/13 6:34 PM
Dee2 said...
Love all 3 tops--rib knit chevron is my fave & the necklace is perfect!
10/26/13 6:41 PM
Christas said...
Welp, let's just say that all of these tops (especially numero three) are terrific! I'll have to get this pattern, and it's ALL YOUR FAULT!!! :-)
10/27/13 1:03 AM
wimmie said...
all three are great, but number three is very pretty. love the necklace.
10/27/13 4:56 AM
cleverkitty said...
You got 3 great tops added to your wardrobe love them all!!!!
10/27/13 9:03 AM
Rebecca D said...
Echoing someone else - this is going on my list for the next sale and it's your fault. :) Perfect top for winter weekends, you and your post French dart out and about.
10/27/13 9:35 AM
Barbara V said...
I'm blaming you too!!! Will have to break my pattern buying moratorium. This is just a really great looking top and so nice with the many style options. You not only created three pretty tops, but worked through fitting issues to arrive at a TNT pattern that I bet you will use over and over.
10/27/13 11:03 AM
grey ann said...
1) I do love the hairdo on you! fake or not, looks so cute. 2) The red top - those seams/darts are 'design features.' Very nice save there. 3) The ribbed top is so nice, very flattering, love the jewelry. I also must add a FBA to every top, and have a tummy too. Did you like the 'french dart?' I am trying to decide if they are flattering on an apple shape.
10/27/13 1:30 PM
Annette1 said...
Hi, Grey Ann. Thanks for your nice comments. As for the French dart, I don't think I've ever done one before, but when I pinned in my drag lines, that's kind of what it ended up being. I actually do like it, because it kind of takes in the torso a little bit, too (I THINK) -- ha! It's not good for anything with a pattern to it, though, as it will probably throw that off (something like a plaid). I thought this was a real good tutorial on adding a dart, a regular dart. I can NEVER remember how to do it. I have to look EVERY SINGLE TIME. Anyway, this is the link: http://sew-la-fabric.blogspot.com/2010/04/full-bust-adjustment-aka-fba.html . And then Shams ALWAYS has great advice for making FBAs. These are a couple of her posts that I have bookmarked: http://communingwithfabric.blogspot.com/2012/04/fbas-in-knits-advice-for-uber-busty.html?showComment=1334527688483#c2682517730233860444 . That looks like a strange url! I hope it works. This is the other one: http://communingwithfabric.blogspot.com/2013/10/5-vintage-challenge-channeling-lucy.html .
10/27/13 4:55 PM
Karendee said...
Marked this review very helpful since it's so informative. There is nothing better than a review in PR where you actually learn something. You and Shams have wonderful info for those of us needing a FBA. Lovell the tops, jewelry, hairdo and makeup. You look quite lovely in all!
10/27/13 7:40 PM
marec said...
You look fantabulous! All 3 tops are cute, and #3 is fantastic.
10/27/13 10:26 PM
Margaret said...
Great tops! Looks like a very nice cowl and I'm glad you worked out the fit so well!
10/30/13 3:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

HotPatterns 1137

photo
by: Sharonspil...

Review
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now