SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5679 (Misses' Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 368 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/13 4:15 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Great tops! Looks like a very nice cowl and I'm glad you worked out the fit so well!
10/30/13 3:07 PM
marec said...
You look fantabulous! All 3 tops are cute, and #3 is fantastic.
10/27/13 10:26 PM
Karendee said...
Marked this review very helpful since it's so informative. There is nothing better than a review in PR where you actually learn something. You and Shams have wonderful info for those of us needing a FBA. Lovell the tops, jewelry, hairdo and makeup. You look quite lovely in all!
10/27/13 7:40 PM
Annette1 said...
Hi, Grey Ann. Thanks for your nice comments. As for the French dart, I don't think I've ever done one before, but when I pinned in my drag lines, that's kind of what it ended up being. I actually do like it, because it kind of takes in the torso a little bit, too (I THINK) -- ha! It's not good for anything with a pattern to it, though, as it will probably throw that off (something like a plaid). I thought this was a real good tutorial on adding a dart, a regular dart. I can NEVER remember how to do it. I have to look EVERY SINGLE TIME. Anyway, this is the link: http://sew-la-fabric.blogspot.com/2010/04/full-bust-adjustment-aka-fba.html . And then Shams ALWAYS has great advice for making FBAs. These are a couple of her posts that I have bookmarked: http://communingwithfabric.blogspot.com/2012/04/fbas-in-knits-advice-for-uber-busty.html?showComment=1334527688483#c2682517730233860444 . That looks like a strange url! I hope it works. This is the other one: http://communingwithfabric.blogspot.com/2013/10/5-vintage-challenge-channeling-lucy.html .
10/27/13 4:55 PM
grey ann said...
1) I do love the hairdo on you! fake or not, looks so cute. 2) The red top - those seams/darts are 'design features.' Very nice save there. 3) The ribbed top is so nice, very flattering, love the jewelry. I also must add a FBA to every top, and have a tummy too. Did you like the 'french dart?' I am trying to decide if they are flattering on an apple shape.
10/27/13 1:30 PM
Barbara V said...
I'm blaming you too!!! Will have to break my pattern buying moratorium. This is just a really great looking top and so nice with the many style options. You not only created three pretty tops, but worked through fitting issues to arrive at a TNT pattern that I bet you will use over and over.
10/27/13 11:03 AM
Rebecca D said...
Echoing someone else - this is going on my list for the next sale and it's your fault. :) Perfect top for winter weekends, you and your post French dart out and about.
10/27/13 9:35 AM
cleverkitty said...
You got 3 great tops added to your wardrobe love them all!!!!
10/27/13 9:03 AM
wimmie said...
all three are great, but number three is very pretty. love the necklace.
10/27/13 4:56 AM
Christas said...
Welp, let's just say that all of these tops (especially numero three) are terrific! I'll have to get this pattern, and it's ALL YOUR FAULT!!! :-)
10/27/13 1:03 AM
Dee2 said...
Love all 3 tops--rib knit chevron is my fave & the necklace is perfect!
10/26/13 6:41 PM
frame said...
Nice.
10/26/13 6:34 PM
Annette1 said...
I cannot tell a lie, that's one of those clip-on ponytail things. It's SO EASY. I've had it FOREVER, and when I got it (on eBay, sight unseen for 30 bucks), I had NO IDEA how HARD it was to get one that actually matches your hair. And this one matched PERFECTLY, and I've had it ever since. THANKS SO MUCH!
10/26/13 6:32 PM
atymonw said...
Supercute! I love all of them, but especially that sweater knit. And you do have beautiful hair:)
10/26/13 6:25 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
You and Top 3 are GORgeous :D
10/26/13 6:22 PM
carolynw said...
Like all three and as usual your reviews have fun stuff in them - commented on your jacket before I saw this review
10/26/13 5:42 PM
Dynamo said...
I like all three, and your hair looks fab too!
10/26/13 5:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

More Info
Self Drafted Pattern 187297-1016

photo
by: Aroura

Review