SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5679 (Misses' Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 333 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/13 4:15 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dynamo said...
I like all three, and your hair looks fab too!
10/26/13 5:07 PM
carolynw said...
Like all three and as usual your reviews have fun stuff in them - commented on your jacket before I saw this review
10/26/13 5:42 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
You and Top 3 are GORgeous :D
10/26/13 6:22 PM
atymonw said...
Supercute! I love all of them, but especially that sweater knit. And you do have beautiful hair:)
10/26/13 6:25 PM
Annette1 said...
I cannot tell a lie, that's one of those clip-on ponytail things. It's SO EASY. I've had it FOREVER, and when I got it (on eBay, sight unseen for 30 bucks), I had NO IDEA how HARD it was to get one that actually matches your hair. And this one matched PERFECTLY, and I've had it ever since. THANKS SO MUCH!
10/26/13 6:32 PM
frame said...
Nice.
10/26/13 6:34 PM
Dee2 said...
Love all 3 tops--rib knit chevron is my fave & the necklace is perfect!
10/26/13 6:41 PM
Christas said...
Welp, let's just say that all of these tops (especially numero three) are terrific! I'll have to get this pattern, and it's ALL YOUR FAULT!!! :-)
10/27/13 1:03 AM
wimmie said...
all three are great, but number three is very pretty. love the necklace.
10/27/13 4:56 AM
cleverkitty said...
You got 3 great tops added to your wardrobe love them all!!!!
10/27/13 9:03 AM
Rebecca D said...
Echoing someone else - this is going on my list for the next sale and it's your fault. :) Perfect top for winter weekends, you and your post French dart out and about.
10/27/13 9:35 AM
Barbara V said...
I'm blaming you too!!! Will have to break my pattern buying moratorium. This is just a really great looking top and so nice with the many style options. You not only created three pretty tops, but worked through fitting issues to arrive at a TNT pattern that I bet you will use over and over.
10/27/13 11:03 AM
grey ann said...
1) I do love the hairdo on you! fake or not, looks so cute. 2) The red top - those seams/darts are 'design features.' Very nice save there. 3) The ribbed top is so nice, very flattering, love the jewelry. I also must add a FBA to every top, and have a tummy too. Did you like the 'french dart?' I am trying to decide if they are flattering on an apple shape.
10/27/13 1:30 PM
Annette1 said...
Hi, Grey Ann. Thanks for your nice comments. As for the French dart, I don't think I've ever done one before, but when I pinned in my drag lines, that's kind of what it ended up being. I actually do like it, because it kind of takes in the torso a little bit, too (I THINK) -- ha! It's not good for anything with a pattern to it, though, as it will probably throw that off (something like a plaid). I thought this was a real good tutorial on adding a dart, a regular dart. I can NEVER remember how to do it. I have to look EVERY SINGLE TIME. Anyway, this is the link: http://sew-la-fabric.blogspot.com/2010/04/full-bust-adjustment-aka-fba.html . And then Shams ALWAYS has great advice for making FBAs. These are a couple of her posts that I have bookmarked: http://communingwithfabric.blogspot.com/2012/04/fbas-in-knits-advice-for-uber-busty.html?showComment=1334527688483#c2682517730233860444 . That looks like a strange url! I hope it works. This is the other one: http://communingwithfabric.blogspot.com/2013/10/5-vintage-challenge-channeling-lucy.html .
10/27/13 4:55 PM
Karendee said...
Marked this review very helpful since it's so informative. There is nothing better than a review in PR where you actually learn something. You and Shams have wonderful info for those of us needing a FBA. Lovell the tops, jewelry, hairdo and makeup. You look quite lovely in all!
10/27/13 7:40 PM
marec said...
You look fantabulous! All 3 tops are cute, and #3 is fantastic.
10/27/13 10:26 PM
Margaret said...
Great tops! Looks like a very nice cowl and I'm glad you worked out the fit so well!
10/30/13 3:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8487

photo
by: sandramary

Review