Online Sewing Class: The Contemporary Couture Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3739 (Coats)

2 more reviews
Viewed 379 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews: 154 (patterns: 150)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 206 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/13 4:57 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Boho Banjo art to wear


pdf sewing patterns
Web site

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said... (11/8/13 1:04 PM) Reply
That is beautiful! Such lovely fabric and such a great style!
Margaret said... (10/30/13 3:04 PM) Reply
Great-looking jackets, both of them! Even though you don't like the fit of the first one, I think the fabric is so bold that it steals the show anyway. Love those buttons on the second one!
Woolygal said... (10/28/13 9:35 AM) Reply
Good to hear from you again. Coat looks great.
KarlaB said... (10/27/13 10:45 PM) Reply
I especially like your second version, the fabric, and it looks like a perfect fit. The buttons you chose add a lot of character, too. Because I'm so Matchy-Matchy (trying to get myself OUT of that rut), I wouldn't have thought to choose those buttons for that fabric, but wow! I think they are just perfect. Beautiful job! As always I very much enjoyed reading your review with all the nitty-gritty details.
Karendee said... (10/27/13 7:31 PM) Reply
Love both versions also and reading about your progress is like a sewing lesson. Thanks for all the wonderful sewing and fitting details. You are one amazing sewist and do such careful work and techniques at great speed. I am truly Alan of the jacket queen!!
SewWil said... (10/27/13 4:13 PM) Reply
Wow! The fabric, the buttons, the, the fit, they all come together to make a beautiful jacket. I like your first version as well. Very informative review, as usual.
Pj3g said... (10/27/13 3:20 PM) Reply
Your review rocks! And so do your coats!
grey ann said... (10/27/13 1:22 PM) Reply
Both look great. I love the red one's style and hope you tackle the alterations to make it fit. It will look terrific on you when you get the fit you want.
Barbara V said... (10/27/13 11:22 AM) Reply
What super gorgeous wool knit fabric and coat. You have a way of creating these beauties with challenging patterns :-) The self lined solution to the rolled edges worked well and created an extra cozy coat. Are you sure you LOATHE the other one??? Personally, I like the look of it on you from your picture and vote that you should alter it in some way to make it acceptable and wearable. Or just wear it! Looks easy to grab and throw on.
ArtAttack said... (10/27/13 10:49 AM) Reply
What a great jacket! Love the accent of the red buttons...great job!
redside said... (10/27/13 10:40 AM) Reply
I love the second version--and your reviews are always a joy to read.
canei said... (10/27/13 9:13 AM) Reply
Very nice! Thanks for the review. I have this and can't wait to sew it up!
cleverkitty said... (10/27/13 8:58 AM) Reply
Oh so sharp and stylish, excellent review as always :)
Danvillegirl said... (10/27/13 8:52 AM) Reply
The Queen of Jackets is back!!!! Yeah!!! Great looking jacket and as always interesting button closure. Very helpful review.
becca a said... (10/27/13 8:19 AM) Reply
Thanks for the detailed explanation of how you created a great jacket. I love the scarf detail and the color of the red jacket. Is there some way you can reshape the body and sleeves to salvage it?
wimmie said... (10/27/13 4:46 AM) Reply
love both versions, and your review...I think I have this fabric. Like the red buttons. (great idea)
Re Becca said... (10/26/13 10:52 PM) Reply
Stunning! You fabric really looks stunning. You did a great job making this pattern work for you, thanks for sharing the details.
Christas said... (10/26/13 10:05 PM) Reply
I love both versions, but I LOVE, LOVE that first one sooo much! The fabric just looks wonderful made up in the pattern. Thanks for the informative review. Excellent sewing...... as ALWAYS!!!
Dee2 said... (10/26/13 6:35 PM) Reply
Great looking coat--I love the fabric & the buttons. Great idea to make tucks in sleeves!
atymonw said... (10/26/13 6:29 PM) Reply
Love your review -- very helpful and fun to read, too!
Rhonda in Montreal said... (10/26/13 6:19 PM) Reply
Those BUTTONS :D
RoseE said... (10/26/13 6:06 PM) Reply
Turned out really nice in spite of your challanges with the pattern. Great review.
carolynw said... (10/26/13 5:37 PM) Reply
OMG - am so glad to see you and believe it or not I thought about you today. I am in love with your jacket and the review is just in time as I am getting back to sewing and want to make a single layer top so must get this pattern. Good to see you and your sewing skills are wonderful as ever.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2013-12

photo
by: olgarosita

Review
Butterick 5760

photo
by: DCDeigns07...

Review
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Pattern Details