SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3739 (Coats)

2 more reviews
Viewed 340 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/13 4:57 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
OMG - am so glad to see you and believe it or not I thought about you today. I am in love with your jacket and the review is just in time as I am getting back to sewing and want to make a single layer top so must get this pattern. Good to see you and your sewing skills are wonderful as ever.
10/26/13 5:37 PM
RoseE said...
Turned out really nice in spite of your challanges with the pattern. Great review.
10/26/13 6:06 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Those BUTTONS :D
10/26/13 6:19 PM
atymonw said...
Love your review -- very helpful and fun to read, too!
10/26/13 6:29 PM
Dee2 said...
Great looking coat--I love the fabric & the buttons. Great idea to make tucks in sleeves!
10/26/13 6:35 PM
Christas said...
I love both versions, but I LOVE, LOVE that first one sooo much! The fabric just looks wonderful made up in the pattern. Thanks for the informative review. Excellent sewing...... as ALWAYS!!!
10/26/13 10:05 PM
Re Becca said...
Stunning! You fabric really looks stunning. You did a great job making this pattern work for you, thanks for sharing the details.
10/26/13 10:52 PM
wimmie said...
love both versions, and your review...I think I have this fabric. Like the red buttons. (great idea)
10/27/13 4:46 AM
becca a said...
Thanks for the detailed explanation of how you created a great jacket. I love the scarf detail and the color of the red jacket. Is there some way you can reshape the body and sleeves to salvage it?
10/27/13 8:19 AM
Danvillegirl said...
The Queen of Jackets is back!!!! Yeah!!! Great looking jacket and as always interesting button closure. Very helpful review.
10/27/13 8:52 AM
cleverkitty said...
Oh so sharp and stylish, excellent review as always :)
10/27/13 8:58 AM
canei said...
Very nice! Thanks for the review. I have this and can't wait to sew it up!
10/27/13 9:13 AM
redside said...
I love the second version--and your reviews are always a joy to read.
10/27/13 10:40 AM
ArtAttack said...
What a great jacket! Love the accent of the red buttons...great job!
10/27/13 10:49 AM
Barbara V said...
What super gorgeous wool knit fabric and coat. You have a way of creating these beauties with challenging patterns :-) The self lined solution to the rolled edges worked well and created an extra cozy coat. Are you sure you LOATHE the other one??? Personally, I like the look of it on you from your picture and vote that you should alter it in some way to make it acceptable and wearable. Or just wear it! Looks easy to grab and throw on.
10/27/13 11:22 AM
grey ann said...
Both look great. I love the red one's style and hope you tackle the alterations to make it fit. It will look terrific on you when you get the fit you want.
10/27/13 1:22 PM
Pj3g said...
Your review rocks! And so do your coats!
10/27/13 3:20 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! The fabric, the buttons, the, the fit, they all come together to make a beautiful jacket. I like your first version as well. Very informative review, as usual.
10/27/13 4:13 PM
Karendee said...
Love both versions also and reading about your progress is like a sewing lesson. Thanks for all the wonderful sewing and fitting details. You are one amazing sewist and do such careful work and techniques at great speed. I am truly Alan of the jacket queen!!
10/27/13 7:31 PM
KarlaB said...
I especially like your second version, the fabric, and it looks like a perfect fit. The buttons you chose add a lot of character, too. Because I'm so Matchy-Matchy (trying to get myself OUT of that rut), I wouldn't have thought to choose those buttons for that fabric, but wow! I think they are just perfect. Beautiful job! As always I very much enjoyed reading your review with all the nitty-gritty details.
10/27/13 10:45 PM
Woolygal said...
Good to hear from you again. Coat looks great.
10/28/13 9:35 AM
Margaret said...
Great-looking jackets, both of them! Even though you don't like the fit of the first one, I think the fabric is so bold that it steals the show anyway. Love those buttons on the second one!
10/30/13 3:04 PM
Mufffet said...
That is beautiful! Such lovely fabric and such a great style!
11/8/13 1:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-120

photo
by: Merche

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-121

photo
by: mochimo

Review
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now