SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> LaFred> 110 (Maia Jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1953 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/05 6:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
deeque said...
I have made this jacket several times and I love it. I did lengthen the sleeves by 2inches to have an easier cuff roll. I made it out of men's suiting wool so it was a stiffer fabric.
2/3/06 0:29 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is so flattering and pretty!
5/11/05 11:08 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I love your jacket and love the fabric. I purchased the pattern right before jlg wrote her review. I have yet to make it so glad to see your write up of it and need to pull my pattern out and give it a try.
5/11/05 7:04 PM
Nancy Anne said...
What a versatile jacket! You did a beautiful job and I am sure you will enjoy it for years to come. Nancy Anne
5/11/05 7:58 AM
MarilynB said...
Great jacket. Great review. I especially like your comment that the designer cares that our projects turn out well.
5/11/05 7:22 AM
AnneM said...
Nice jacket that doesn't require too much fabric. I have a need for that; I have a short amount of a silk-wool blend that is crying out to be made into a skirt suit.
5/11/05 6:45 AM
Georgene said...
I love the bias cut collar in your fabric. Nice job!
5/11/05 6:38 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautifully done, Mickeyfan. I've shied away from LaFred patterns because of the drawings, but your review and Diane E's could make me take a another look. It makes such a difference to see a pattern made up and modeled by a real person.
5/11/05 5:25 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful job with your jacket. You look great in it.
5/11/05 5:18 AM
Nickle said...
Love your jacket- the style and fabric. Looks great on you.
5/11/05 3:57 AM
PVA said...
Wonderful results, thanks for this review! It really is a beautiful jacket & it looks like the fit is right on! Perfect with a camisole.
5/11/05 0:03 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very nice jacket. I really like your fabric choice.
5/10/05 9:55 PM
KarmenG said...
The shoulders look good and so do the sleeve caps.
5/10/05 9:25 PM
MickeyFan said...
Thank you everyone! Karmeng, I typically sew a 12 in Big4 (usually Vogue). According to my bust, that is exactly what I should have cut for this jacket. The jacket is snug across the shoulders with a close-fitting sleeve
5/10/05 7:57 PM
drsue said...
Such a nice jacket! I have the pattern but have been not inspired by it, but now I'll reconsider.
5/10/05 7:54 PM
KarmenG said...
Very nice review and a you made a fabulous looking jacket. Considering the pattern sketch and your experience with the fit, Fred must have intended this to be a jacket worn without much underneath. What size did you make and what is your usual size in the Big 4? I'd like to judge whether I'd go up a size when making it. This one has been on my list for quite sometime. I think Fred is meticulous with her instructions - good to hear you give them high grades; and that pattern pieces are marked accurately. I look forward to making this one up. Thanks again for all the detail - you always sew such nice looking garments.
5/10/05 7:44 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Gorgeous! Much better looking than the very stylized pattern illustration.
5/10/05 7:42 PM
Patti B said...
That is a lovely jacket. It's amazing what a difference a change in number of buttons makes.
5/10/05 7:38 PM
Jackie V said...
This jacket reminds me of a jacket that I had many years ago. It had the same seaming in the front and the pockets were the same. The only thing different was that the Jacket had a Tuxedo Collar. I happen to like the sleeves the way they are. You did a wonderful job of matching fabric to pattern.
5/10/05 7:27 PM
MaryBeth said...
Nicely informative review. I love that we're getting so many reviews of LaFred patterns. I've never been drawn to this jacket but I like yours. It looks less formal with fewer buttons and more comfy/casual.
5/10/05 7:24 PM
Tiner W said...
I love this jacket. Yours is so pretty. This pattern is definitely on my wish list!
5/10/05 6:29 PM
els said...
Gorgeous jacket.
5/10/05 6:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

New Look 6150

photo
by: 1SewSweet

Review
Simplicity 3626

photo
by: PostMuse

Review
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now