Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6619 (Children's Aprons, Headpiece and Wand) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 61 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Steph huck
photo
About Steph huck
NC USA
Member since: 10/8/11
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/13 3:41 PM
Last Updated:10/29/13 3:43 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6619 by Steph huck

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6619
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by Steph huck

Pattern Rating:Mediocre Pattern
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $13.56 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Satin  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
CHILDREN'S APRONS, HEADPIECE AND WAND: Aprons have shoulder straps, self-lined bodice, waistband, pleated tie ends, and gathered skirt with overlays. Purchased trims. B: bustle. C: peplum. A and D: flower/leaf. C and D: applied ruffles. Note: instructions are given to create headpiece and wand.

Pattern Sizing:
Child S, M, L
I cut the small view D in an S/ 3-4. It was a lil big on her cause she wears a 3.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes there were but there was a lot of hemming and gathering.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I did not care for the hemming and the way the bottom ruffles were done. I felt like it could have been done easier with the amount of steps for this view. Toward the end a started making my own changes. Im not into hand sewing lots of trim. To attach the ruffles I did them upside down right sides together. Folded them down and machine stitched the gimp trim over the seam. It came out perfectly flat.
Fabric Used:
I used costume satin from Joanns. I hate costume satin!! There I said it. That fray check gives me a headache. :P I used gold gimp and yellow lace and sequin trim from eBay.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I would if I had to make a costume or some fun dress up clothes. I would use the other views instead. View D takes a lot of effort for a good outcome. My princess wanted to be Belle so I put it in. I do recommend the pattern but there are ways to make it faster and even better looking.

Conclusion:
Overall this pattern makes for a easy costume. I love that its apron style and makes for easy getting in and out of. Because its a lil big on her I have just enough time to add a hook and eye in the back top to help keep it up
Thanks for checking out my Review
Happy Sewing!!
Buy this pattern for $13.56  List Price: $16.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KensingtonCrab said...
What a cutie! I think she loves her new dress!
10/29/13 3:53 PM
carolynw said...
If she came by my door she could have all the candy and - if you wouldn't mind - also a huge hug. She is adorable
10/29/13 4:20 PM
Steph huck said...
Haha thanks ladies!!! Im sure she would LOVE that. Shes my lil Punkin head.
10/29/13 4:35 PM
USMCMom said...
oooh! Someone's all ready for Halloween! Costume and wearer are both adorable! Well done!
10/29/13 5:48 PM
Mufffet said...
Adorable....your family looks so nice! :) Looked at the blog. Lovely sewing stuff there!
10/30/13 11:06 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Too cute! Thanks for sharing your little one with us!
10/30/13 12:34 PM
Bonzai said...
Wow! Well done!
10/30/13 3:00 PM
Pj3g said...
She looks so adorable! What a cutie!
11/4/13 4:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Kwik Sew 3740 Tops
photo
Review by SueT on 7/29/12
Read Review

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tessuti Anita Ponti Pants
photo
Review by ajhewing on 6/2/13
Read Review

New Look 6305 Pattern
New Look 6305 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us