Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sinbad & Sailor: SS13 (O'Keeffe Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 89 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:LizJaneB
photo
About LizJaneBstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/12/12
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/13 7:34 AM
Last Updated:10/28/13 7:39 AM
Project Photo:Sinbad & Sailor: SS13 by LizJaneB

Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by LizJaneB

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Crepe  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: The O'Keeffe skirt sits on the waist and has an asymmetric pleat detail on the front which incorporates a handy pocket. A softer take on the wrap skirt trend

Pattern Sizing: 8-16 UK sizing

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Absolutely.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very much so. I had no trouble whatsoever making this skirt.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I was a little nervous about the asymmetric pleats but as it turns out I fell completely in love with them!
The pleats also conceal a handy pocket.
The skirt closes with a side zipper which I just love as the fabric lies nicely without a zipper visually dissecting my back.
I love that its a little edgy without being weird. I wore it to work the day after I finished it and fell even more in love with it.
It's a PDF that comes with a copy shop print option. I love this, the pattern is very reasonably priced and I simply cut out the pieces and trace around them onto the fabric - so much easier than tissue paper, tracing and pinning.

Fabric Used: A polyester crepe. It's quite heavy and the pleats fall nicely. I think this needs something with drape that doesn't crease badly. Otherwise I can see those pleats looking untidy after you sit down for a while.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None. I simply used a contrast lining.
I ran a row of basting stitches along the waistband facing so I could slip stitch it down precisely.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes. Yes. I'm planning another in some precious wool crepe I've been saving for ages!

Conclusion: A real surprise packet. I really love this skirt and am positive that it will soon have a sister in the wardrobe!

More pictures and pattern details on my blog SewBusyLizzy

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sunnysewing said...
oooh! I love the asymmetric pleat! Looks fabulous
10/28/13 9:21 AM
Clareew said...
I love your skirt, the pocket is a fab hidden treasure.
10/28/13 12:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other No number Copy from rtw
photo
Review by Lou. on 1/10/07
Read Review

Pattern Runway Draped Knit Skirt Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Draped Knit Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2246 Misses'
photo
Review by JenniferMM on 8/27/11
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3897 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3897 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us