Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 219 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:akyramoto
photo
About akyramoto
CA USA
Member since: 2/19/09
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:10/28/13 1:58 PM
Last Updated:10/28/13 2:04 PM
Project Photo:Jalie: 2908 by akyramoto

Pattern Photo:Jalie 2908
Jalie Pattern Info

More Info provided by akyramoto

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Women's stretch jeans
Pattern Sizing:
I went back to 11/X, the last pair I made (a size 9) looked great but the combo of the rough denim and tight fit makes them not fun to wear. I wanted comfy jeans, even if they were a bit looser. I did end up taking them in quite a bit through the entire length!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes!
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes, this is the my 3rd pair, I think I finally understand a fly zipper now....

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I wish the cut was a bit different through the 'bum' area....I'm not experienced enough to figure out where I could add ease to make it fit differently. Hard to explain..

Fabric Used:
stretch denim, not sure where i got this batch, as I buy it randomly! haha, but this is much nicer than the last batch I got. Nice dark wash and pretty soft. not sure of the weight, it is a good weight though.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added a double front! yay!

I used a fun pink and black flannel on the pockets.

My job can be really hard on jeans and I wanted to make them last longer. I also left an opening at the bottom where I can slid in some felt knee pads or the commercial foam ones (they make special ones that go into jeans). I also made these because to buy a similar pair would be $60 and they only came in rust or grey colored, not regular dark blue!

I also added a d ring on the right hand side for keys etc.


Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
YES! I love this patttern, each time I use it, it gets better.
Conclusion:
LOVE these, I feel like I'm getting better at fitting them. Before I put on the wasit band, I try them on inside out and pin them to the tightness i like. I only have so much room to work with, If i take them in too much I won't have any pockets! the wasitband and the zipper were always the hardest for me, now they are getting easier and easier, and Look better in the end product!

I used my serger on every seam I could on this pair. SO FUN!!!


back 3/4

front

D ring on side
back with darts




Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sacjeanie said...
I love the custom features you did with this pattern. These pants look like they will be very useful at work.
10/28/13 4:18 PM
Timmithea said...
great jeans! addicting, isn't it!
10/29/13 0:32 AM
JOshiro said...
Your enthusiasm is palpable! Looks like you added some great features. Congrats!
10/29/13 10:44 AM
SewLibra said...
Very nice and professional job on your jeans. The fit is great!
10/29/13 2:03 PM
JudyVDL said...
I love your jeans, they look like expensive RTW. Regarding the fit under the bum: I used to have a similar problem until I figured out a unorthodox method to re-draw the back crotch curve, which also eliminates the side seam pulling forward just above the crotch line. Your jeans will also be more comfortable. Rather than try to explain, I hunted around for a tutorial that shows what may help you. Good luck! http://blog.mariadenmark.com/?p=1536
12/25/13 1:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4272
photo
Review by JanetSun on 11/1/07
Read Review

Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5036
photo
Review by halleyscom... on 8/30/08
Read Review

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7181 Pattern
Burda 7181 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6819 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6819 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us