Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Tootsie Knit Top (Tootsie Knit Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 374 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 185
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/13 6:48 PM
Last Updated:10/28/13 6:50 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:StyleArc: Tootsie Knit Top by clothingengineer

StyleArc: Tootsie Knit Top by clothingengineer  StyleArc: Tootsie Knit Top by clothingengineer  
Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by clothingengineer

Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: This top is all the rage at the moment. Make a statement by using a striped fabric. For a more understated but fashionable look sew it in plain or a mix it up colours for your own individual style.

The back length for size 8 was about 24".

This is the free Style Arc pattern for October 2013.

Pattern Sizing:4-30. I made an 8.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I thought the technical drawing was very correct as to proportions and the deepness of the V neckline.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn't look at the written ones too much, but the diagram was very helpful. As long as you lay out your pieces just as shown in the diagram you should have little trouble putting it together.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Likes: I think it helps flatter my smaller bust, and it goes well with the Leah Lounge pants I'm wearing with it in the photo. I like the deepness of the V - not too high and not so low that I would have issues with gaping. I thought the fit was good, not too tight, not too loose. The ease was perfect considering that lightweight, slightly drapey knits (like slinky) are recommended. I also like how they have the orientation on the pattern marked for use with stripes as well as solid fabrics.

Dislikes: Perhaps I misunderstood the instructions, but it looked like they wanted you to do a back neckline band instead of bind? Anyway IMO this is a sloppy finish. I bound the neckline, folding over the binding after stitching the shoulder seam, and it is IMO a much neater finish. You can scroll down to the bottom of my blog post (link in Conclusion) if you want to see some photos of how my back neck treatment looks.

Also, if you have a coverstitch/serger combo machine you're going to spend a lot of time switching back and forth!

Fabric Used:Rayon/lycra jersey (Fabric Mart)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
My fitting changes were:

  • Added 1/2" to each side seam at the hem

  • Shortened it about 3/4"

  • Lengthened the sleeves 1"

  • 3/8" broad back alteration

  • 3/8" narrow shoulder alteration

  • Added 3/8" to the front sleevecap


One thing you have to be careful of is that if you are adding/removing from the hip, make sure you apply the same changes to the tucks! I didn't and had to recut a couple of pieces because the tuck was too short.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would sew it again, but out of a solid and do the contrast topstitching (like shown in the "model" drawing). It is a fun top if you have a striped fabric.

Conclusion: My blog post can be viewed here.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lyndle said...
Looks very cute on you!
10/28/13 6:57 PM
Elona said...
What a striking top! Love the color choice.
10/28/13 7:08 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! I had a feeling we'd be seeing you make this up soon. I have this same fabric from FabricMart (one crazy-priced fabric!) and was actually planning to use it for this top pattern when my pattern arrives. I promise not to wear mine on the same day as you! ;)
10/28/13 7:22 PM
clothingengineer said...
michellep74 - I would insist on a photo and post it to my blog if I ever ran into you and you were wearing the same top out of the same fabric! :-D
10/28/13 7:25 PM
Dee2 said...
Great top--love the fabric & the fit!
10/28/13 8:27 PM
Lynmarie said...
Stunning top !!!
10/28/13 10:43 PM
imsewcrazy said...
I love this!!!!
10/28/13 11:10 PM
Lizzie11 said...
Wow - this is a fabulous top! You have done a great job!
10/29/13 5:25 AM
Re Becca said...
Love the stripes, very modern. The fit is great, your fitting is spot-on.
10/29/13 7:41 AM
grays08 said...
Oooh love the stripes, very clever with this design. I agree, much better to bind. Appreciate your notes also about having to switch machines/setup back and forth during sewing - that's the kind of stuff that I appreciate knowing. Thanks as always for your excellent reviews.
10/29/13 10:07 AM
Janie Viers said...
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT
10/29/13 10:51 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for posting the review on this top. I just received the pattern and appreciate being able to see it made on a live person! You did a super job and it looks just great on you. Also appreciate your tip on the back neck bind.
10/29/13 11:48 AM
Lanna said...
I saw this pattern, and new it would be a hit... You have done a great job. Very flattering.
10/29/13 11:57 AM
clotheshorse said...
Cute top! The colour looks great on you.
10/31/13 11:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

McCall's 6348
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 7/5/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6421
photo
Review by sewamazin on 4/20/11
Read Review

WhatNots
WhatNots

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2238 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 2238 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 16 )
Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 16 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us