Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8854 (Misses' Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 196 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:feltont
photo
About feltont
MI USA
Member since: 9/24/09
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/13 8:11 PM
Last Updated:10/28/13 8:21 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8854 by feltont

Vogue Patterns: 8854 by feltont  Vogue Patterns: 8854 by feltont  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8854
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by feltont

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Fleece  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Loose-fitting, pullover tunic has collar or hood, shaped hemline, narrow hem and snap closing. Topstitching. Wrong side shows on hemline and hood.

Pattern Sizing: Xsm-Sml-Med. I made the medium in view B.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love that this is a simple tunic but stylish enough that no one will assume you bought it off the rack. It is easy to sew up and a great layering piece for cold weather. I do not like the hi-low hem for this, so I would not sew view C but would love to use the hood on one of the other views.

Fabric Used: I used a heavy fleece sweatshirt material purchased on clearance at Joann. I bought this fabric thinking my 12 year old would love the skull design but she promptly exclaimed that she would NEVER wear anything with skulls on it! Since it was such a thick and soft fleece, I decided to use it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made a swayback adjustment. I serged all of the seams because I love the clean edge of a serged seam. I used a coverstitch machine for the hems. I omitted the snaps because it would have been tedious to sew on snaps. Instead, I used a sew on Velcro tape. Also, I took an additional inch out of the side seams because I wanted it to be a bit more fitted.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will definitely sew this again. I have already picked at two other fabrics so I will likely make two more! I think I'll omit the button and use snaps for the next two. I may add the hood to one.

Conclusion: This is any easy pattern with a lot of style. I love the top and would recommend it wholeheartedly. I think the choice of fabric can result in very different looking garments. I used a fairly heavy fleece, so my tunic took on a more structured look and the collar was fairly stiff. I noticed that the top of the collar often touched the bottom of my face when I wore it (and I have a long neck). This wasn't a problem for me, but then I don't wear makeup and liked the idea of having my neck all cozy. If this would be an issue for you, I would suggest making the collar narrower. In a lighter weight fabric, this would not be an issue as the collar would likely collapse. If you wanted a less structured, softer look, this would be the way to go. Either way, I think it's a keeper.

Finished Garment
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
atymonw said...
Great job! This is on my list to sew this winter.
10/28/13 11:58 PM
Pj3g said...
It turned out really great! I didn't even realize it was skulls till I read it!
10/29/13 10:17 AM
marec said...
I really like all 3 versions!
12/2/13 10:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sew Simple 2011
photo
Review by CookMJ0531 on 12/9/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3637 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3637 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5890 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 5890 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Drafted from RTW self-drafted oven mitt
photo
Review by mistrydesi... on 12/13/06
Read Review

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us