SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Make Bra> DL01 (MakeBra 3 piece foam lined bra)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Lingerie Challenge Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 481 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
Netherlands
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 137 people
patterns reviewed: 144
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/13 4:47 PM
Last Updated:10/29/13 5:07 PM


Make Bra: DL01 by Sigrid.  Make Bra: DL01 by Sigrid.  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, this is a boutique worthy bra! So gorgeous!
1/26/14 9:32 AM
ryan's mom said...
Gorgeous bra, Sigrid! I love the tip on use a fusible web type of product as I have been using basting spray before sewing. I think fusible web would be a better option. Also, loved the tip for molding the cup over some type of dome-shaped surface. Very helpful!
11/2/13 9:14 AM
clothingengineer said...
Gorgeous as usual Sigrid!
11/1/13 8:41 AM
treefrog said...
Beautiful bra, Sigrid! Thanks again for sharing your construction tips and tricks. I think this method would be perfect for making a sports bra. I'm amazed at how different the mesh looks with the different coloured underlays.
10/30/13 4:58 PM
Margaret said...
Very beautiful bra and thanks for all the details on working with the different layers.
10/30/13 11:15 AM
JDpenelope said...
Sigrid Thanks for the reply. Good to know you don't think the molding needs to add to your bustline. I woke up wondering if we have any round balls in the right size, to help mold the bra into the correct shape. You use some terms that are new to me: 1) vliesofix (bondaweb) and also 2) styropor ball but I get your drift. I will refer to your reviews of the Makebra when I get enough gumption to try it probably after making a few other attempts first with other patterns. The Makebra kits are NOT inexpensive!
10/30/13 8:09 AM
julie w said...
Beautiful a d thank you for your detailed construction steps
10/30/13 7:11 AM
annakeeton said...
Such a beautiful bra. Your skills with making them are amazing.
10/30/13 6:38 AM
Sigrid. said...
Thank you ladies for your kind comments. @JDpenelope: I agree with this. I'm a size 75F, which means I don't want more bustline than I have by nature, the molded bra's give support and feel well. The way I treated them with the vliesofix also makes the padding having less "give", adding to the support.
10/30/13 6:00 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your bra is gorgeous AND it fits! Great review, too. Someone's review, maybe one of yours, on this site led me to order a Makebra kit. I am not interested in padding, but a woman who fitted me a long time ago said that the molded bras don't need to add to your bustline; on the contrary, they merely provide better support. I wonder if you agree.
10/29/13 10:34 PM
Annette Wright said...
I can only hope to aspire to make a bra as lovely as yours someday. I reread your tutorial all the time. Thanks so much. This one is gorgeous.
10/29/13 10:18 PM
Sarsez said...
gorgeous bra and thank you so much for pasing on those helpful tips for working with padding. Much easy than wrestling with a tonne of pins!
10/29/13 9:20 PM
lacroise1 said...
That is really pretty! I will have to look into getting this pattern. Thanks for the great review
10/29/13 7:52 PM
Judy Kski said...
Thanks for the detailed review on a very beautiful bra.
10/29/13 6:35 PM
ArtAttack said...
Gorgeous, Sigrid! I will make a note to keep this review for future reference. I'd like to make this one again but need to narrow the bridge and see if I can perfect that step. Good luck in the contest! Beautiful entry!
10/29/13 6:18 PM
Quickie said...
Beautiful bra. I love those vibrant colours
10/29/13 5:53 PM
USMCMom said...
Wow, Sigrid! Beautiful bra, and such a wonderful, informative review. Thank you
10/29/13 5:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Burda 7482

photo
by: HRigg

Review
StyleArc Heidi Hooded Cardi

photo
by: Pollycotto...

Review
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

More Info