SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Make Bra> DL01 (MakeBra 3 piece foam lined bra)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Lingerie Challenge Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 403 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 147
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 134 people
patterns reviewed: 142
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/13 4:47 PM
Last Updated:10/29/13 5:07 PM


Make Bra: DL01 by Sigrid.  Make Bra: DL01 by Sigrid.  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
USMCMom said...
Wow, Sigrid! Beautiful bra, and such a wonderful, informative review. Thank you
10/29/13 5:45 PM
Quickie said...
Beautiful bra. I love those vibrant colours
10/29/13 5:53 PM
ArtAttack said...
Gorgeous, Sigrid! I will make a note to keep this review for future reference. I'd like to make this one again but need to narrow the bridge and see if I can perfect that step. Good luck in the contest! Beautiful entry!
10/29/13 6:18 PM
Judy Kski said...
Thanks for the detailed review on a very beautiful bra.
10/29/13 6:35 PM
lacroise1 said...
That is really pretty! I will have to look into getting this pattern. Thanks for the great review
10/29/13 7:52 PM
Sarsez said...
gorgeous bra and thank you so much for pasing on those helpful tips for working with padding. Much easy than wrestling with a tonne of pins!
10/29/13 9:20 PM
Annette Wright said...
I can only hope to aspire to make a bra as lovely as yours someday. I reread your tutorial all the time. Thanks so much. This one is gorgeous.
10/29/13 10:18 PM
JDpenelope said...
Your bra is gorgeous AND it fits! Great review, too. Someone's review, maybe one of yours, on this site led me to order a Makebra kit. I am not interested in padding, but a woman who fitted me a long time ago said that the molded bras don't need to add to your bustline; on the contrary, they merely provide better support. I wonder if you agree.
10/29/13 10:34 PM
Sigrid. said...
Thank you ladies for your kind comments. @JDpenelope: I agree with this. I'm a size 75F, which means I don't want more bustline than I have by nature, the molded bra's give support and feel well. The way I treated them with the vliesofix also makes the padding having less "give", adding to the support.
10/30/13 6:00 AM
annakeeton said...
Such a beautiful bra. Your skills with making them are amazing.
10/30/13 6:38 AM
julie w said...
Beautiful a d thank you for your detailed construction steps
10/30/13 7:11 AM
JDpenelope said...
Sigrid Thanks for the reply. Good to know you don't think the molding needs to add to your bustline. I woke up wondering if we have any round balls in the right size, to help mold the bra into the correct shape. You use some terms that are new to me: 1) vliesofix (bondaweb) and also 2) styropor ball but I get your drift. I will refer to your reviews of the Makebra when I get enough gumption to try it probably after making a few other attempts first with other patterns. The Makebra kits are NOT inexpensive!
10/30/13 8:09 AM
Margaret said...
Very beautiful bra and thanks for all the details on working with the different layers.
10/30/13 11:15 AM
treefrog said...
Beautiful bra, Sigrid! Thanks again for sharing your construction tips and tricks. I think this method would be perfect for making a sports bra. I'm amazed at how different the mesh looks with the different coloured underlays.
10/30/13 4:58 PM
clothingengineer said...
Gorgeous as usual Sigrid!
11/1/13 8:41 AM
ryan's mom said...
Gorgeous bra, Sigrid! I love the tip on use a fusible web type of product as I have been using basting spray before sewing. I think fusible web would be a better option. Also, loved the tip for molding the cup over some type of dome-shaped surface. Very helpful!
11/2/13 9:14 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, this is a boutique worthy bra! So gorgeous!
1/26/14 9:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 7600

photo
by: cocosloft

Review
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Nina cardigan

photo
by: Sigrid.

Review