Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
MariaDenmark: 401 (Audrey Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 409 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Muggiesew
photo
About Muggiesewstar
Member since: 9/21/13
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 39
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/13 5:04 PM
Last Updated:10/31/13 4:53 PM
Project Photo:MariaDenmark: 401 by Muggiesew

Pattern Photo:MariaDenmark 401
MariaDenmark Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $9.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Acrylic Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Knit dress from downloadable multisized pattern.
It's a bit of a pain printing out the pages and sticking them all together but the instructions were very clear and it has been very accurately drafted ( last pattern I downloaded had mismatched lines) this was excellent. It has no seam allowances, you add your own. Not a problem with knit fabrics not sure I would trust my measuring for woven fabric.
I made medium but would probably make small next time. I added 1cm to width of back as I usually do but could have got away without doing so. Knit fabrics are very forgiving!
Finished dress looks exactly like picture and instructions were very clear. Although I did alter the order a bit. It's easier to add the sleeve cuff before sewing the sleeve seam and next time I would stretch the cuff as I sew it to give a closer finish. You can see it gaping a bit on the photo.
It's a 2 hour sew. I used my overlocker for all the seams and then used twin needle on sewing machine for neck facing and hem.
It's dead easy to make and easy to wear. I have fabric to make the next one and will just make smaller size and tweet the cuffs.
I'm very pleased with it, easy to sew, looks good and cheap for an indie pattern too.
Skirt looks less full on me than pattern suggests , probably because it's a bit big on me and it is quite thick material.
Buy this pattern for $9.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Very nice dress! I like the fabric choice too!
10/30/13 5:37 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Love this...especially the shape of the neckline. Thanks for reviewing.
10/31/13 7:07 AM
Karine said...
Love the dress. The fabric you chose is perfect for this pattern and I especially like the contrast neck band and cuffs. The skirt on your dress appears to be less full than the pattern illustration would suggest.
10/31/13 2:04 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress! I've never sewn a pattern from this company, but really like the style of your dress a lot!
10/31/13 7:49 PM
Deepika said...
I am just about to make this too. Love the neckline and the contrast fabric you used for it. Thanks for reviewing.
11/1/13 8:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Kwik Sew 2849
photo
Review by JKimes on 12/14/10
Read Review

Simplicity 3878 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 3878 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6296 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )
New Look 6296 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6668
photo
Review by beanchor on 5/19/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us