Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5525 (view C) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in 2013 Lined Jacket Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 338 times 61 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:French.Seam
photo
About French.Seamstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:10/31/13 9:11 AM
Last Updated:11/13/13 4:37 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 5525 by French.Seam

McCall's: 5525 by French.Seam  McCall's: 5525 by French.Seam  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 5525
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by French.Seam

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Waterproof Polyester  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Trench coat with design options

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It is so versatile.

Fabric Used:
It's Burberry: a polyester showerproof, with a rubberised coating on the stripes (horrible to sew, I kept skipping stitches. Next time I'd buy a Teflon foot, but didn't have time to get one, in time for the contest. I was sewing up to the last minute).

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- I added 2 invisible pockets inside, one has a keychain sewn in, and there's a further invisible pocket in the left sleeve. Perfect for dogwalking, when I only need to take a poop bag, a coin for coffee, and my key
- I didn't use the arm bands
- I put in 2 of the front panels instead of one

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? This is a winning pattern, highly recommended

Conclusion:

I don't like self-fabric belts, they are always thin & raggy looking. If I had extra time I would've made a proper interfaced belt with a buckle

I had a horrible time with the stitch-skipping, esp on the buttonholes which I had to go back over separately.

I made this jacket short for cycling, but I would really prefer it to be knee length, so I guess I'll be making another version in the near future

Update: I made the dog one to match ~ twee, but I don't care. I just appliqued some leftover fabric on top of her store-bought dog coat, taking care to line up the pattern just right





thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sacjeanie said...
What can I say, I love, love, love this jacket. Your choice of fabric, the beautiful lining and the extra special features make this an over the top success. Thanks for the great idea about the arm pocket for doggie bags.
10/31/13 9:33 AM
PattyE said...
So glad to hear you recommend this pattern as I have it and plan to make it. Your jacket is wonderful with many great features...love the fabric!
10/31/13 1:41 PM
Quickie said...
Great job and hard to sew that kind of fabric
10/31/13 1:58 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great jacket and I love the keychain idea! Good luck in the contest and thanks for participating!
10/31/13 3:25 PM
velosewer said...
You planned the detailing really well.
10/31/13 3:30 PM
madbadger said...
Love the jacket and hidden pockets!
10/31/13 9:13 PM
wexford said...
Fabulous jacket!
10/31/13 9:22 PM
cocosloft said...
Great jacket! Love the fabric and the extra details you added!
11/1/13 5:44 AM
BettyMike said...
Love your jacket!
11/1/13 8:37 AM
grays08 said...
I love how this looks with your fabric choice, fantastic!
11/1/13 10:39 AM
marec said...
This is so cool; love the features you included, and the fabric is TDF.
11/1/13 11:14 AM
QueenBeeOne said...
Very Nice!!! So Sorry you had a difficult time stitching the fabric....Next time try a Teflon foot. It may help the general stitching at least.
11/1/13 9:24 PM
petro said...
Love the jacket, the fabric, and your details. Sorry it was a pain to sew - skipped stitches, hate them!
11/4/13 4:18 AM
Margaret said...
Looks like a really nice useful jacket! Great job wrestling that fabric.
11/8/13 12:42 PM
Wianno Girl said...
You have a fabulous jacket despite the difficulties of the fabrics. What a terrific look that is so functional - super!!!
11/10/13 1:17 PM
amynxdx said...
looks great and I love the matching one for the dog!!!
11/13/13 11:20 AM
carolynw said...
A perfect match of fabric and pattern! You did a great job with difficult fabric. Thanks for reviewing and a good tip for me not to to buy this kind of fabric - don't have your patience
11/13/13 11:42 AM
USMCMom said...
Really love the style & fabric choice! And the inner pockets & key chain are inspired! Why don't RTW designers put inner pockets in women's wear? BTW, the pooch's matching coat is so cute? Do you mind sharing what pattern you used, if any?
11/13/13 3:24 PM
RMJ said...
Adorable dog!
11/13/13 6:41 PM
blue mooney said...
adorable!
11/16/13 8:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-122
photo
Review by Andrea670 on 7/12/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-135 Moto jacket
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 10/10/13
Read Review

Simplicity 3936 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 3936 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us