Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewaholic Patterns: 1206 (Hollyburn Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 182 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Muggiesew
photo
About Muggiesewstar
Member since: 9/21/13
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 40
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/13 4:45 PM
Last Updated:11/16/13 2:02 AM
Project Photo:Sewaholic Patterns: 1206 by Muggiesew

Sewaholic Patterns: 1206 by Muggiesew  
Pattern Photo:Sewaholic Patterns 1206
Sewaholic Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.98 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Stretch Velvet  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Flared skirt in 3 lengths and respective amount of flare. I made version c but with buttons tabs.
Pattern Sizing:
0-16
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Very clear instructions and on 1 sheet paper
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Pockets are lovely. I like the back zip. Also there are 3 versions with diff amount of flare depending on length, will give 3 different looks.
Fabric Used:
Stretch velvet- it was the colour I wanted and although not first choice for this pattern, it was a dream to sew and feels lovely on. From Maculloch and Wallis in London.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None, unusually for me! Apart from doing an invisible zip.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes in a summery floaty material or possible a long version in very elegant material.
Conclusion:
It was a dream to sew, the beauty of this pattern is in it's simplicity. It's well drafted and with lovely instructions. For once I didn't modify anything so ft was straight forward.
I made the size according to my waist measurement and it was massive. I had to take each seam in. I'm very pleased with finished skirt (will be even better when I've found the right buttons for it!)

Buy this pattern for $15.98     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
Chic and pretty! Lovely colour too.
11/16/13 12:16 PM
Chempac said...
I live your version. Thanks for the sizing info. So elegant looking with your choice of fabric.
11/19/13 9:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 5335 coordinates
photo
Review by Linda G on 1/6/08
Read Review

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6900 Pattern
Burda 6900 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3745 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by shannie on 8/6/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Details
Price: $89.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maggie
Maggie

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us