Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6105 (Toddlers' Costumes) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 56 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Guelphgurl
photo
Friend of PR
About Guelphgurlstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 2/28/13
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/13 7:19 PM
Last Updated:11/1/13 8:01 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6105 by Guelphgurl

McCall's: 6105 by Guelphgurl  McCall's: 6105 by Guelphgurl  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6105
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Baby clothes    Toddlers    
Available for sale on PR: $11.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Faux Fur  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Toddlers' animal costumes with 5 views: skunk, lion, monkey, elephant, panda. I made View C, the monkey.

Pattern Sizing: Todders' sizes 1/2 to 4. I made size 1 for my 7.5 month old grandson, who weighs about 20 lbs. Each pattern envelope contains only one size so you have to know which size you need before you buy it (which is a bit tricky with babies and toddlers as they are growing rapidly!).

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Not really, but that's okay. Personally, I like my version better!

Were the instructions easy to follow? They were okay. Not fabulous but adequate. I think a beginner might find them a bit daunting as there are many small pattern pieces and many steps.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked all the details (ears, tummy, tail). No major dislikes other than the amount of hand sewing required.

Fabric Used: Brown low-pile faux fur for the body, hood and tail. Beige faux suede for the ears, tummy, mitts (which are not part of the McCall's pattern) and the soles of the feet.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made two main changes: (1) I omitted the ruff around the hood and (2) I added mitts from another pattern (Canadians always need mitts for their Halloween costumes!). I also shortened the tail a little (maybe 1.5 inches), lined the hood with the same fabric as the main outfit rather than a lining fabric as suggested, and enlarged the ears a bit (about .5 inches all around) as the original size seemed too small.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Well, one doesn't really need a lot of monkey costumes so I doubt I will be sewing it again. However, I would recommend it to other sewers looking for a cute costume for an older baby or toddler. I wouldn't recommend it to someone who just wants to whip up something quickly, though. This isn't a 2-hour costume!

Conclusion: I'm very happy with the how this turned out. My grandson's a bit young for trick or treating but we all enjoyed seeing him in his costume and we got some cute photos to share with friends and family!

Buy this pattern for $11.16  List Price: $13.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Very cute! I made the skunk view for my daughter from this pattern.
10/31/13 11:54 PM
sacjeanie said...
Very adorable costume and it looks comfortable and safe for your grandson.
11/1/13 8:54 AM
caper81 said...
Aw, that's so cute!:)
11/1/13 9:55 PM
KarlaB said...
So sweet and adorable!
11/2/13 2:28 PM
Pj3g said...
Your grandbaby looks adorable! Nice job!
11/4/13 3:37 PM
kajero said...
You did a beautiful job! The costume is wonderfully constructed. Of course - - - - Oh my gosh! I HAVE to make this regardless if it is used for a costume! My daughter (37 years old) had her first child, a boy, on 12/11/2013. He is my first grandchild. She has decorated the nursery in a monkey theme. I think it would be so much fun for my grandson to wear a monkey costume in the room. Even if it is a crazy idea! I hope mine turns out as cute and wonderful as yours!!!
2/15/14 1:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 8774 jeans
photo
Review by velosewer on 3/28/14
Read Review

Simplicity 1529 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1529 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8305 Pattern
Burda 8305 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5495 Misses' Top
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 8/16/10
Read Review

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light White
PerfectFuse Light White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us