Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6841 (Misses' Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 352 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Jeanette S
photo
Friend of PR
About Jeanette Sstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/17/07
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/13 10:31 AM
Last Updated:11/1/13 10:38 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6841 by Jeanette S

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6841
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Palmer/Pletsch pattern - Loose fitting pullover tops have draped front and back collar. pattern picture
Pattern Sizing:
XS-Medium in one envelope, large-XXL in another envelope.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes. I must add that the photo doesn't do it justice. When I saw this made up on Pati Palmer before it came out I was watching for the day when the pattern would come out. Click Here and go to page 21 for Pati's top It's so different and I love the SUPER drapey front. Mind you - this is my muslin. I want to get a more muted print for this top.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
OK...hold on tight...this is like nothing you've ever made! It seems like an alien from outer space at first. On page 5 and instruction #6 I read and re-read it because it sounds like you are sewing the neck together. I kept wondering how I was going to get my head into it if I sew it together. But I read ahead and it finally made sense so follow the instructions carefully. Do a muslin (test run) first. There are only TWO pieces to the pattern - woohoo! So it does go together quickly once you understand the instructions. This also has a mini burrito technique in it for the back collar (there is a facing for the back neck which folds down into a collar. Another note: When you sew the front (Another weird step) page 4 under view B, C step number 2 is the front and I just want to add that I sewed it higher for more modesty. It's quite low in the front.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the exagerrated drapey front. So much fun and different!
Fabric Used:
Rayon jersey large graphic print from Mood.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I sewed the front higher for modesty. No other alterations needed.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I can't wait to do it again. Once you know what you're doing this can go together in about 20 minutes or less.
Conclusion:
Try it out and please post.

Buy this pattern for $15.96  List Price: $19.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
How pretty and thanks so much for bringing this pattern up - saw it and never gave it a thought until now and definitely must get! Very helpful review
11/1/13 12:00 PM
Kemish said...
Great top. I like yours better than the Palmer/Pletsch girls.
11/1/13 4:28 PM
grays08 said...
How wonderful! I just got this one and am so excited to try it thanks to you! : ) Love your print, what a nice muslin!
11/1/13 5:04 PM
madbadger said...
I am sooo getting this pattern now! Excellent review - thanks for all the detail. Sometimes I feel like I'm the only one that had to read instructions 20 times to understand them!
11/1/13 5:45 PM
beauturbo said...
I just got that pattern, was going to make it up in a solid, but I like the way it looks so much more in your "Pucci-ish" print, I think I'm going to use one of those too.
11/1/13 6:39 PM
annie11 said...
Love your top! Can't wait to try this pattern now!
11/1/13 11:15 PM
Bobbi B said...
Love it. I already liked the pattern, I really love the fabric. Thanks for sharing.
11/2/13 8:46 AM
KarlaB said...
I love your top. And thank you for the link to the Palmer Plesch "booklet"! This is a good read!
11/2/13 1:37 PM
landstromd said...
You have made me curious and yet excited to try this pattern. thanks
11/7/13 11:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 8663 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by MNBarb on 12/17/11
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1317 Misses Dress
photo
Review by Carolyn.S on 5/13/13
Read Review

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7070 Pattern
Burda 7070 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us