Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2011-101 (Scoop-Necked Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 369 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:liliv
photo
About lilivstar
GREECE
Member since: 5/6/10
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/13 11:49 AM
Last Updated:11/10/13 1:35 PM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2011-101 by liliv

BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2011-101 by liliv  BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2011-101 by liliv  
Pattern Photo: BurdaStyle Magazine Pattern Info
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Fitted dress with deep scoop neck and gathered rectangle skirt. The arms are extended to create the effect of cap sleeves. The waist is slightly dropped. There are pattern pieces only for the bodice. The skirt is made from 2 gathered rectangles. I didn't make the gathered skirt but instead I used the one from model 107 from 11/2007.

Pattern Sizing:36-44, I made 36 grading to 38 to the waist.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? The bodice yes. You can see more photos here

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn' t read the instuctions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I just love the simplicity of this pattern, it's a very fast sewing!

Fabric Used: thin wool

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
1. I removed 2 cm from the bottom of the bodice pieces, so the dress is at my natural waist.
2. I skipped the back seam and put a regular zipper at the side
3. I didn't line line the dress. I finished the neckline with satin bias binding . To prevent the neckline from gaping, I made the bias binding very slightly shorter than the neckline, then eased the neckline to the binding.
4. I added 2 cm to the front neckline because it was too low.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I highly recommend it! It's one of my favorite burda models ever. the bodice is so easy to sew and to compine with different type of skirts.

Conclusion: I like it and I hope you like it too! Thanks for looking!!!
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Fabulous! Although I've come to expect nothing less from your beautiful creations!
11/1/13 12:03 PM
liliv said...
Oh ArtAttack, you are so kind!
11/1/13 12:14 PM
cleverkitty said...
Soooo pretty and even the back ground scenery looks dreamy a perfect romantic look :)
11/1/13 1:42 PM
grays08 said...
This is so beautiful - love, love, love that fabric! It looks so great on you. I agree, a favorite for sure.
11/1/13 1:52 PM
Barbara V said...
Really beautiful dress on you and lovely work with fitting and finishing. I always enjoy the background, your very photogenic shots and set-ups. Now I'm curious....can you tell us about your photographer??? If you've shared that before, I missed it. Thanks!
11/1/13 2:48 PM
HRigg said...
A very feminine dress and you look lovely. It seems a bit more autumnal where you are but still nice weather
11/1/13 4:27 PM
madbadger said...
Stunning dress! And the shoes are fabulous!
11/1/13 5:38 PM
dragon10 said...
Love your dress. The shape of the dress really suits you. No wonder it is a favourite pattern.
11/1/13 6:25 PM
WinterQueen said...
You always make such beautiful dresses! Another to add to your collection :) x
11/1/13 7:00 PM
mnitts said...
I agree one of my favourites of yours. Love it!
11/1/13 7:13 PM
Levone said...
Beautiful dress!
11/1/13 7:56 PM
PattyE said...
Really pretty!
11/2/13 0:14 AM
Baja Susana said...
Very pretty, I love the neckline.
11/2/13 1:04 AM
liliv said...
Thanks ladies for the kind comments! Barbara V I take the photos on my own and I'm very glad you like them!!
11/2/13 8:34 AM
Sue Parrott said...
You look stunning--as usual! Well done, I so love your beautiful dresses!
11/2/13 9:40 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Beautiful!!!
11/2/13 10:46 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Gorgeous as always!!
11/2/13 11:02 AM
Heatherrique said...
Breathtaking and gorgeous dress, Liliv! You look sensational!
11/2/13 2:13 PM
paolag said...
Very, very pretty! I love this pattern too, but my version did not look as good on me as it does on you.
11/2/13 4:28 PM
SewLibra said...
Another awesome garment from you! Love the bold black and white print and as always, the fit you achieve.
11/2/13 11:39 PM
Living Beauty said...
Your clothing is always impeccably executed, and the fit is flawless! You look beautiful!
11/3/13 1:51 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Gorgeous! I just love your photos!!!
11/3/13 9:38 AM
Rhoda K said...
Gorgeous dress! I also love your photos; you do a good job.
11/3/13 1:25 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress! So flattering on you and I love the fabric you chose.
11/3/13 8:27 PM
liliv said...
Thanks so much girls!
11/4/13 10:24 AM
marec said...
Lovely!!
11/4/13 7:10 PM
1SewSweet said...
Very nice dress on you!
11/6/13 5:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 8328
photo
Review by Natasha B on 8/18/08
Read Review

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6802
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 7/4/10
Read Review

Jalie 2921 Pattern
Jalie 2921 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us