Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 9631 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 68 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Jemajyng
photo
About Jemajyngstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 12/26/12
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/13 1:01 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 
Project Photo:Simplicity: 9631 by Jemajyng

Simplicity: 9631 by Jemajyng  Simplicity: 9631 by Jemajyng  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 9631
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Challis  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Misses' semi-fitted and slightly flared dress, has a V-neckline, a centre front seam with bust and back darts, is back zippered, sleeveless or short sleeved with neck flounce and hemline variations.
I made view B, the dress with a flounce collar and short back overlapped sleeves. I sewed it with a straight hemline as seen on views C,D and F.

Pattern Sizing:
KK(8-10-12-14), UU(16-18-20-22)
I used size 8 and 10, instead of my usual 12, because the pattern is drawn large.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, the dresses look like what I expected and wanted.
I replaced the shaped hem by a straight one.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, they were easy to understand as usual.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the short two-piece/overlapped sleeves and the flounce collar finished in a narrow hem.
I have nothing to dislike about this pattern.

Fabric Used:
Rayon Challis.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Comparing to the original pattern measurements, the dresses are 4" longer at hemline and have a stitched 5/8" narrow hem.
Both dresses have back tie ends and were sewn in size 10 with the side seams being 8, from the underarms to the waist.
The V-neck was raised by 5/8" and the waist shortened by 1" at the shorten/lengthen lines (Petite adjustment).
Tie trim was added to the front neck of Dress #2.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others
I plan on using this pattern again. I enjoyed making my dresses and I would like to try the other views.
I would recommend this pattern and I would suggest anyone interested to sew it, to go down a size.

Conclusion:
I am very happy with the results.
More pictures
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Pretty dress! Both versions look so nice!
11/1/13 4:06 PM
Baja Susana said...
More pretty dresses. Very nicely made.
11/2/13 1:12 AM
Nicole Bacon said...
Lovely dresses!
11/2/13 2:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Kwik Sew 2530 Men Shirts
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/13/11
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by CJgal on 8/28/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us