Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5917 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 458 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 195
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 182
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/13 9:38 AM
Last Updated:11/2/13 9:45 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 
Project Photo:Butterick: 5917 by Danvillegirl

Butterick: 5917 by Danvillegirl  Butterick: 5917 by Danvillegirl  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5917
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
  • Tip: Press as you go
  • Tip: Read the Directions First
  • Tip: Record what you sew
  • Current Tags What is a Tag:
    Fabric:Rayon  [See other projects in this fabric]
    Related Links  
    Click on to add a link
    Pattern Description: Dress has ruffles, semi fitted, lined bodice with sleeve variations

    Pattern Sizing:It is multi-size. I used 14 to 16.

    Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? It is similar to pattern drawings. I used the longer sleeve version but eliminated the ruffles.

    Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions are easy to follow and after having made this previously I did not rely on them as much as the first time around.

    What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the pattern when I first saw it released on Butterick website. I first saw it made on "Goodbye Valentino" blog post during the summer and decided that I needed to try this pattern. My first version was made out of vintage sheet that I won from a blogger's giveaway.
    First Version
    I liked how it fits and that you have darts to work with in the skirt portion to improve the fit through the waist area. The only dislike is that the pattern only calls for the bodice to be lined and depending on fabric I would prefer to line the skirt portion as well. I also think they should recommend an invisible zipper instead of a center regular zipper.

    Fabric Used:
    I used a rayon wool blend from Fabric Mart. That choice was not available in the fabric used so selected rayon. The wool gives the fabric more body. The lining was rayon as well, all from my fabric stash.

    Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made several which are pretty standard for me. I made a FBA of 1.5 inches and moved the resulting dart into the gathered portion of the bust area. With second version I lengthened the bodice at the gathers tapering to nothing at the front edge as I wanted to make sure the bodice fell under the "girls" better. I also added 5/8 of an inch at the hip area using a technique I learned from one of the Craftsy classes. I have some hip fluff in the back between center and side back and I wanted to make sure fabric fell over the area smoothly. I shortened by two inches at the hip line as I have a shorter distance from waist to hip and is becoming more of an alteration I make. I also made 3/8 inch horizontal tuck in front and back bodice to raise the underarm area. I also made a forward shoulder adjustment by 5/8 inch and 1/2 inch sway back adjustment.

    I also lined the skirt portion of this dress with the second version. It makes the wrinkles less when wearing IMHO and just feels better to me.

    Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?I highly recommend this pattern. I have seen several pretty versions here on Pattern Review as well as on several blogs. I think this pattern can flatter many sizes and shapes. I may sew it again. I now have two versions-one for summer and one for fall/winter. I have many other projects to make and will give this one a rest.

    Conclusion:
    Great pattern, instructions easy to follow. Easy to sew for numerous sewing levels. More photos below, fabric is dark navy so details are not showing up so well.
    Second Version

    Back Version

    Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
     
    thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
    Merchants on PR
    Budo Bear Designs
    Asian Designs
    Web site
    Patterns from the Past
    vintage sewing patterns
    Deals!
    Elliott Berman Textiles
    Fabrics for Greater Ideas
    Deals!
    << Previous      Next >>
    22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
    Christas said...
    What a pretty LBD! It looks wonderful on you and could not fit any more perfectly. I love the other version made with the vintage sheet, too! Nice sewing!
    11/2/13 9:50 AM
    knitmachinequeen said...
    OMG! I have this in my stash and it's moving up on the list.
    11/2/13 10:16 AM
    ArtAttack said...
    Beautiful dress and it fits like a glove...really nice job!
    11/2/13 10:46 AM
    JudyMac said...
    Beautiful! It is perfectly fitted, too.
    11/2/13 10:46 AM
    WinterQueen said...
    I made this dress too. Yours is lovely :) x
    11/2/13 12:00 PM
    Opals Passions said...
    Perfect LBD!
    11/2/13 12:00 PM
    Melwyk said...
    I love this dress more every time I see someone making it and looking so great in it! I really like this version with the sleeve, it really does make this pattern able to cross seasons.
    11/2/13 12:05 PM
    marec said...
    Absolutely lovely on you
    11/2/13 12:06 PM
    Heatherrique said...
    Wow! Two lovely dresses! What a sleek looking LBD on you.
    11/2/13 12:55 PM
    HRigg said...
    Lovely dress. Yes, certainly worth making another version.
    11/2/13 4:57 PM
    imsewcrazy said...
    Beautiful! And so flattering on you!!
    11/2/13 7:52 PM
    Barbara V said...
    Beautiful LBD! It looks so pretty on you.
    11/2/13 8:16 PM
    grays08 said...
    Absolutely wonderful! Great job with your changes as the fit is fantastic. : )
    11/2/13 9:31 PM
    SewLibra said...
    This LBD looks great on you! Nice workmanship on the detail and fit.
    11/3/13 0:09 AM
    Annette1 said...
    Now THAT'S a little black dress! Your alterations produced a masterpiece. :o) AND you have great legs, to go with your dress!
    11/3/13 0:27 AM
    Lveeckgosden said...
    Really pretty on you!
    11/3/13 0:42 AM
    waltzqueen said...
    This dress suits you very well - you look terrific in it! It looks like a high end store-bought dress too.
    11/3/13 3:20 PM
    Sheseams said...
    wow I just bought this pattern and black linen fabric to make it with, then I saw your review! Needless to say I will be making it for this weekend Thanks!
    11/3/13 9:15 PM
    Jstarr4250 said...
    I love both of your versions. Such a great pattern! I must do one with sleeves....
    11/4/13 9:10 AM
    egreen42 said...
    OMG! this dress is gorgeous on you, the fit is perfect I look at this pattern but now I must get have it thanks for this review.
    12/2/13 10:03 AM
    sewin said...
    Love this dress on you. I bought a madras to make this pattern with but now see that I might need a little black dress out of it. Yours fits so well and looks great.
    2/18/14 1:34 PM
    JMarie1962 said...
    This looks fabulous on you! We have a similar build so I was happy to see this dress on a real model in my size! SOLD! I need to make this dress now - I'm convinced :) Thanks for a great review
    4/6/14 11:53 PM
    Login
    Online Sewing Classes
    Bust Adjustments
    Fee: $39.99
    (Regular $39.99)
    Bust Adjustments

    Online Sewing Classes
    Break your Serger Out of the Box
    Fee: $29.00
    (Regular $49.00)
    Break your Serger Out of the Box

    StyleArc Anita Peasant Blouse
    photo
    Review by jannw on 5/8/12
    Read Review

    McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
    McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

    Details
    Price: $15.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    New Look 6179 Pattern
    New Look 6179 Pattern

    Details
    Price: $4.49
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Australian Smocking & Embroidery Magazine 74-2006-emilee Emilee
    photo
    Review by solosmocke... on 3/2/11
    Read Review

    You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
    You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

    Details
    Price: $8.50
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
    Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

    Details
    Price: $7.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
    Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

    Details
    Price: $12.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
    You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

    Details
    Price: $19.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag


    Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us