SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Mind Body and Sew> What You Love Tank (What You Love Tank)

3 more reviews
Viewed 313 times 
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MrsCharismastarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 129
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 55 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/13 1:16 PM
Last Updated:2/12/14 10:14 PM
Project Photo:Mind Body and Sew: What You Love Tank by MrsCharisma

Mind Body and Sew: What You Love Tank by MrsCharisma  Mind Body and Sew: What You Love Tank by MrsCharisma  
Pattern Photo: Mind Body and Sew Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Pattern Description:

"This tank is called the Perfect Tank for a reason. It is cute, comfortable, and lets you move freely, no matter what your favorite activity. It is fitted throughout for ease of motion. The hip-length design ensures that it won't ride up and reveal any embarrassing body areas during your yoga class or bike ride. The pattern is composed of only two pieces, and sews up very quickly and easily. It includes a 1/2" seam allowance."

Pattern Sizing:

XS-XL (US 0-16), I used M.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes and no The first one (peach/coral) was a test sew. The winter white was once I realized it makes an awesome racerback tank! So it's a bit different.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the racerback style. The cut and fit is perfect. I wish it included directions for cutting bands for the neck/arms instead of only turn and stitch.

It went together really fast on the serger - always a bonus!

Fabric Used:

4 way stretch activewear knit in coral and white.
2 way stretch ponte knit in winter white.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

On the cream version I added 2" to front and back pattern piece. I did this by putting the pattern piece 1" away from the fold. I also made it shorter.

I made neck and arm bands (10% shorter length) and because I didn't have quite enough fabric, I used a lighter weight ponte in the same color to make the band at the bottom.


Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes and Yes! I would advise to cut as is for a workout top, add a little more room to front and back for a "regular" tank (less negative ease).

Conclusion:

Great tank pattern.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
Your tanks look great. I would suggest changing the title of your review to indicate the pattern company this is from (put it under Other). I expect I'm not the only one who tends not to look at Self-Drafted reviews because I can't have the pattern myself!
11/2/13 5:35 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Oh. I wasn't sure how to do it. Thanks for the tip and the compliment!
11/2/13 6:45 PM
imsewcrazy said...
I love these tanks!!!
11/3/13 9:43 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you! :)
11/6/13 2:27 PM
Erin D said...
Thanks for the review. I am not familiar with this pattern company. It is so useful to have a great tank top pattern. I love both of your versions.
2/12/14 11:20 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks! I updated the review since she is now on PR. Great service too!
2/13/14 7:37 AM
PoldaPop said...
I love the back and neckline on this! I hadn't heard of this pattern company or this pattern, so thank you for posting this. Yours look fantastic!
2/13/14 11:34 AM
careymoonbeam said...
Oh very cool! I'm so glad I decided to take a look at this review. I'm really drawn to sewing activewear and am looking for good pieces. I went out and found the company's web site and purchased this pattern. Yours look so good, I'm inspired to try it. (Plus I love supporting a new indy pattern maker!)
2/14/14 0:18 AM
CissieW said...
Great top. I've got to have this pattern!
2/14/14 6:24 AM
Ineedaname said...
I love this pattern! I just ordered it too and have a couple of fabrics to make with it.
2/14/14 7:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Oliver + S Ruffled Halter

photo
by: Deepika

Review
Simplicity 3532

photo
by: lovenicky

Review
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now