Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6828 (Children's/Boys'/Girls' Coats) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 86 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Ragamama
photo
Friend of PR
About Ragamama
CA USA
Member since: 5/19/10
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/13 8:58 PM
Last Updated:11/2/13 9:31 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6828 by Ragamama

McCall's: 6828 by Ragamama  McCall's: 6828 by Ragamama  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6828
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $12.76 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Fleece  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Children's Boys Girls Coats

Pattern Sizing:
2-3-4-5

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Aside from my turning it into a MLP Rainbow Dash coat I think it did

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, however I did find myself kinda guessing when it came to the front panel and finishing off the hood.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I liked how easy it was to put together... esp because I thought it would be horribly complicated. I didn't like how big it turned out, next time I'll make it a size or two smaller.

Fabric Used:
Fleece

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made this as a Halloween costume for 5yo to be a My Little Pony. I created the mane and tail by freehanding a design and made the ears smaller and the placement was different (they needed to be tacked down better since one kept flopping over). The tail was added after the fact and was placed a little higher. Also, I had to cinch together and tack down both sides of the hood so it wouldn't keep falling off and I used snaps instead of buttons.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I would sew it again. I think it's super cute and would love to make the fox version for everyday wear.

Conclusion:
Lined coats aren't that scary afterall!

Buy this pattern for $12.76  List Price: $15.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Raye Ann said...
super cute! great job
11/2/13 11:34 PM
Baja Susana said...
Adorable,
11/3/13 8:38 AM
Pj3g said...
Really cute! Wonderful job!
11/4/13 2:56 PM
mandyneko said...
Very cute pony costume! Love it!
1/8/14 1:34 PM
olybinewski said...
This is so awesome!
2/25/14 5:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8656
photo
Review by maedchen on 6/5/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1778 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1778 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-1
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 7/21/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us