Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5917 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 391 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Doobee64
photo
About Doobee64star
Member since: 7/31/10
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 46
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/13 11:51 PM
Last Updated:11/2/13 11:59 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5917 by Doobee64

Butterick: 5917 by Doobee64  Butterick: 5917 by Doobee64  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5917
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Sateen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Dress has ruffles, semi-fitted, lined bodice and inset, raised waist and back zipper. A: self-lined sleeves. A and B: semi-fitted skirt and stitched hem. C: lined sleeves and narrow hem.

Pattern Sizing:
6-14; I made a 12ish bodice shaping to a 14 skirt in the sleeveless version

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, very easy and well written.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The neckline ruffle is the main feature of this dress, and is very flattering without being too girly-girly! And the raised waistline is very appealing as well.

Fabric Used:
A very bright Springtime cotton sateen. It sewed up beautifully and has just the right amount of give for this pattern. And a white cotton batiste from Japan for the lining.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Luckily I made a muslin of the bodice only, just to check on the fit. From this I ...
1. I inserted an invisible zipper, because this is my personal preference.
2. Lowered the centre front bodice piece to a more flattering level.
3. Took in the princess seams about 1.5 cm ~ the bodice seemed a little on the big side for me.
4. Added on about 2 cm to the bodice all-round as the line seemed to be too high for me. I think this seem really needs to be under the boobs, not 3/4 of the way through them!
5. I lined the entire dress ~ avoids the pantie/bra line showing!
But really, these where all minor adjustments based on personal preference, not pattern fault.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Definitely will be sewing this again. I love the look of the dresses made in a plainer fabric as I think it showcases the ruffles better than my busier fabric. Easily the ruffle could be replaced with pre-purchased lace, or creative sewers could use a fancy selvedge for this area.

Conclusion:
Great dress with simple but effective lines. More info at my blog...
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
madbadger said...
Very flattering! I want this pattern now!
11/3/13 0:09 AM
PattyE said...
Your fabric is sooo pretty!
11/3/13 0:12 AM
Cathyaw said...
Just beautiful...great pattern to fabric fit! Gotta get!
11/3/13 5:46 AM
Danmar said...
Pretty!
11/3/13 7:33 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty dress! This is a popular pattern and seems to be attractive with the use of various fabrics. Your fabric is very pretty.
11/3/13 8:12 AM
imsewcrazy said...
This dress is soooo pretty. I love this fabric! I like the design changes you made. I need to pick this pattern up. I see that it is really popular! Would love to see you in it. Where did you find this gorgeous fabric?
11/3/13 9:25 AM
WinterQueen said...
I have seen this dress loads on here (ive made it too) but this is the prettiest version I have seen so far! Beautiful x
11/3/13 10:15 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
So pretty and cheerful!
11/4/13 9:08 AM
charliegirl127 said...
Love your version. The fabric is so cheerful.
11/8/13 10:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8379
photo
Review by Dei on 10/5/08
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8380 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Wendy VanC on 7/15/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us