Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5890 (Misses' /Misses' Petite Top and Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 243 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Louweezy23
photo
About Louweezy23star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/1/12
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/13 3:21 AM
Last Updated:11/3/13 3:40 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5890 by Louweezy23

Butterick: 5890 by Louweezy23  Butterick: 5890 by Louweezy23  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5890
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Misses Petite Top Fast and Easy
Pattern Sizing:
6 through to 22 . I made my usual size but cut out a smaller size for the shoulders
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow? I confess I didn't read them, just glanced at the pictures.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I was using a remnant so choice was limited. I made the shorter version C. My dislike with the pattern is the centre front seam, so unsightly, so I left it out. Also this top states a 22" zip. I have made this pattern twice, the other made it more fitted and I only have to lower the zip half way down to put it on. This top which is looser fitting, and I do not need to undo the zip at all. To me a waste. Obviously we are all different shapes but I have a large bust and would still manage with a zip half the length. I like the fact its quick and simple and you can dress it up or down. and I like the shaping.
Fabric Used: A remnant purple/white polyester, with a silky feel and shimmery.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I left out the centre seam, I also reshaped the sleeves making them more shallow, so they would look like the illustration, more like a cap sleeve. I also made the neckline an inch lower all around as I do not suit high round necks. Next time I will make an adjustment to the bust, even though the top isn't tight on me I need more depth over the bust to stop it rising up at the front.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? It such a quick easy top, and I am sure I will make another. Maybe a cotton fabric for a change.
Conclusion:
As I said before Quick and Easy, great for beginners, and a great wardrobe builder. I personally like the longer version on myself but it was a stash busting exercise, so great use for an offcut.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
atymonw said...
It does look good on you! Thank you for your helpful review. I have the pattern but haven't made it up yet.
11/3/13 9:03 AM
Mc Donna said...
I like that you omitted the center seam. Lovely top and thank you for your very helpful review.
11/3/13 9:29 AM
madbadger said...
Very cute top!
11/3/13 9:46 AM
RoseE said...
Love it!
11/3/13 5:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

StyleArc Jade Dress jade
photo
Review by momsurfing on 3/21/12
Read Review

Burda 9828 Pattern
Burda 9828 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1716
photo
Review by Willowwear... on 11/19/12
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us